Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2000, 04:09 PM
smack smack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Sweden
Posts: 172
Default Vintagefarms vs mixfarm, how big diff ?

Can anybody tell me how big the difference are between the two. I mean the real diff.
not the one in the ad´s.

Smack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2000, 05:33 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Vintagefarms vs mixfarm, how big diff ?

It's a big difference in some ways, small in others.

For example, I can run 3 lexiverbs on the "A" chips on a Mix farm, but 4 on a vintage farm. Amp Farm takes up a whole chip as well, regardless of which farm card.

However, the Waves C1 and Q10 seem pretty much limitless on a mix farm, while they run out pretty fast on a vintage.

Basically, if you only use processor instensive effects, the cards are about equal, but if you use basic effects (compressor, EQ, mixer), there is a big difference.

Keep in mind as well that there a number of plugins that either only work on a Mix farm (C4, SuperTap), or have their capabilities increased when run on a Mix farm (Bruno/Reso). Also, certain compressors and EQs (Renaissance variety, from Waves) only run on A chips, even though they are seemingly "basic" effects.

You have to be a bit more thoughtful with how you allocate the DSP, but if done right, the Mix farm provides a HUGE increase. I was tentative to sell my DSP farm for a second mix farm, but it was well worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2000, 02:46 AM
smack smack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Sweden
Posts: 172
Default Re: Vintagefarms vs mixfarm, how big diff ?

Thanks for answering UNO,

Smack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2x Mixfarm/1x D24/1x DSP farm in G4 MDD; can I.... coosticks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-27-2006 05:55 PM
are diff mic lines diff quality? natbot General Discussion 1 11-13-2005 10:47 AM
mixfarm only studionews Tips & Tricks 1 03-13-2004 04:58 PM
D-24 + mixfarm only 43 voices?? jfkstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 08-27-2002 04:17 PM
MIXFARM and D24 tai Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-06-2000 08:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com