Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:22 PM
DAWgEAR's Avatar
DAWgEAR DAWgEAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California, USA
Posts: 325
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by emiliojazz View Post
Demodigi: please note that this topic is for users who want to TURN OFF COMPLETELY input monitoring and want to use an external mixing console for monitoring.
Low latency monitoring isn't a solution for those users, and Automute tries to accomplish this.
Low latency monitoring isn't the same as NO monitoring at all.

EDIT: low latency monitoring disables all sends assigned to record-armed tracks. So for example if I want to add some reverb to my voice "while" recording (and I can, 'cause reverb is not so prone to latency problems as the dry signal) I can't, cause low latency monitoring will disable all sends setup on the recording track.
So, using an external console for monitoring still have some advantages, but unfortunately all versions of Protools until now haven't take this into account...

Regards,
Emiliano
Pardon my lack of experience, but, based on my experimentation, the Low Latency Monitoring mentioned by demodigi and described on pages 455-456 of the version 10.3 Pro Tools Reference Guide appears to be the same as no input monitoring (of course subject to the restriction that it only applies to Outputs 1 and 2) in the sense that the input signal never enters the software for monitoring purposes and can be routed exclusively by the hardware mixer (console or audio interface hardware) without having to deal with any monitoring coming from within the software. Or am I missing something?

I am recently coming to PT 10 from many years with Cubase and REAPER, and this functionality appears to be identical to what those DAWs offer as an option to monitor the input signal completely outside of the software. [For example, Cubase offers software monitoring, ASIO Direct Monitoring, and no monitoring and PT 10's "Low Latency Monitoring" appears to be the same as Cubase's "no monitoring".]

Wasn't the previous problem that the input signal was being monitored through the software in addition to being monitored externally through the hardware and that there was no way to bypass the software monitoring short of using the mute button (which created problems for punching in and listening to recorded material)? The Low Latency Monitoring appears to have addressed this. Or am I mistaken?

Further, no monitoring would not allow for the addition of reverb in the DAW, right? So again, Low Latency Monitoring is no different from no monitoring (again subject to the restriction to Outputs 1 and 2).

Once more, I am relatively new to PT, so please educate me if I am way off base.
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native 2018.12 | HD Omni | iMac Pro: 10-Core 3.0 GHZ - 64 GB - 2 TB - Vega 56 | Sonnet Echo Express SE II for PT HD Native PCIe and UAD 2 Quad PCIe cards | Pro Tools Dock
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:39 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,864
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

LLM still uses a path that includes the converters (Avid Hardware) and their inherent delay (latency). Using Monitor Off, and replacing it with console monitoring does not use converters in the signal path.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-09-2013, 08:54 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 693
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

Pro Tools is half way there with this:

When Low Latency Monitoring is enabled, Pro Tools disables software monitoring for re- cord-enabled tracks routed to Outputs 1–2 only. This lets you use the built-in mixer function on your Core Audio or ASIO hardware for record monitoring with Outputs 1 and 2 on your Core Audio or ASIO audio interface.

But a real and complete NO MONITORING will be very useful, even for HDX users that prefer to use their analogue desks for monitoring using off bus signal.

Did you know that SSL Matrix and SSL Duality have the auto-mute option to get around this Pro Tools inability? :)
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
Macbook Pro i7,
Reaper DAW,
Softube Console 1,
Presonus Faderport,
Two racks of analogue outboard.
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-14-2014, 05:23 PM
Dave Modisette's Avatar
Dave Modisette Dave Modisette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 102
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

How long does it take to get a response from the author of AutoMute? The nag screen is really doing it's job. I'm ready to register, donate or whatever it takes.
__________________
Dave Modisette
www.gatortraks.com
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-10-2015, 03:13 AM
mastmind mastmind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: brookline, nh
Posts: 1
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

I have been using automute for a while now, I really need to disable the pop-up, I have emailed and left a message on the youtube page, is this app supported anymore? - I willl pay for it :)
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 01-10-2015, 11:13 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,939
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

A few years back, when I really needed no-latency monitoring directly from my analogue gear, I used to just deselect "Link rec and play faders" in PT prefs, and set the track's fader to -inf db when rec-enabled. That way the fader jumps up and down as you flip the rec button. Worked for me.

Just thought I'd share.

Edit: And to have reverb while recording you just set the reverb send to pre-fader.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-24-2019, 02:17 PM
GoodandEvil GoodandEvil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Woodstock NY
Posts: 15
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
A few years back, when I really needed no-latency monitoring directly from my analogue gear, I used to just deselect "Link rec and play faders" in PT prefs, and set the track's fader to -inf db when rec-enabled. That way the fader jumps up and down as you flip the rec button. Worked for me.

Just thought I'd share.

Edit: And to have reverb while recording you just set the reverb send to pre-fader.
This is great, Ben, so simple. Thanks for that idea. It doesn't work for punching in though. Maybe there's some clever workaround for that too.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-25-2019, 01:52 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,939
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodandEvil View Post
This is great, Ben, so simple. Thanks for that idea. It doesn't work for punching in though. Maybe there's some clever workaround for that too.
That's nice. Someone finding my tip useful, even four years on in time. Thanks for letting me know.
Unfortunately, I don't really have a solution to the punch-in problem.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-25-2019, 05:35 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,074
Default Re: Input Monitoring OFF is here!!!

Auto Input?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input monitoring Sunshy Pro Tools 11 3 08-16-2013 10:00 PM
Input monitoring ROBB007 macOS 7 04-08-2013 05:07 PM
Input Monitoring ROBB007 macOS 6 02-16-2013 11:20 PM
Auto input/input only monitoring failing in PTLE 8.0.4 miketeachesclass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-11-2012 08:48 AM
Auto Input monitoring / Input only monitoring - Alt+K AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-09-2010 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com