Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-09-2018, 10:24 PM
Fourtsian Fourtsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 50
Default Re: ProTools 2018 on MacBook i7 quad core 2017?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sounds_good View Post
I've had no problems running Pro Tools 2018 on my MacBook Pro 2016 with touch bar. I utilize the Thunderbolt 3 dock from OWC to connect to my interface, 3 hard drives and 2 monitors.
Could you tell me how the cpu can handle audio tracks and plugins?
My Mac mini is pretty fast. It's very quiet. So, if I buy a new MacBook Pro it has to be way faster than my mini.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-09-2018, 10:25 PM
Fourtsian Fourtsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 50
Default Re: ProTools 2018 on MacBook i7 quad core 2017?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
It's a mid-2012 i7 Quad 2.7 with 16GB RAM.
Thank you for the information. It's a little old, but It's good to know it works well.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-10-2018, 02:43 AM
manfromspace manfromspace is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: LA
Posts: 40
Default Re: ProTools 2018 on MacBook i7 quad core 2017?

Running 2018.3 on a 2017 MBP 15" i7 3.1ghz with RP560. External monitor and MBP open (using both monitors).

I've had some monster sessions on it and the cpu meter barely cracks 20%. For smaller (20 - 30 tracks) with Waves / UAD / Massey plugs it's like 5% CPU.

Ditched the external drive too as this drive is almost like having ram for a HD. Crazy stable...

(although I couldn't get 2018.4 to start without crashing fyi)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-10-2018, 05:37 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: ProTools 2018 on MacBook i7 quad core 2017?

just be a tad patient i feel with macbook pro..

Six core and 32Gb ram is coming.

16GB is just not enough anymore, not when OS itself is so hungry.

Not if you want to use good sample based VI's.

your mac mini is actually not gonna perform that much worse...

maybe 25%.. So it's a lot of plugin count yes i suppose, but I mean don't expect some HUGE difference.

I have gone from 2.2ghz i7 macbook pro 2011, 7200rpm, sandy bridge like your mac mini, to haswell 2.8ghz 2015 built, apple 1TB flash SSD, and the difference is not that huge.. There's a difference, but mostly i am happy cause it's no where near as noisy.. plugin in count and VI polyphony is like 15% more, max.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-10-2018, 07:28 PM
Fourtsian Fourtsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 50
Default Re: ProTools 2018 on MacBook i7 quad core 2017?

Thank you two for the replay. Very helpful. Thank TNM. That's what I was thinking. OK. Maybe I'll wait.

Good to hear that the fan noise isn't so much problem.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:40 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,800
Default Re: ProTools 2018 on MacBook i7 quad core 2017?

Just to comment on the fan for my 2017 MacBook Pro 15", It hardly comes on when I'm running Protools 2018.4. It is more likely to turn on when I am watching a video or playing a game (generally anytime the GPU is pushed hard). For other times, it does not turn on.

As for track counts, my experience is that usually the limiting factor is not so much the processor but the hard drive throughput. With the internal SSD being so fast on the current MacBook Pro, your should be in pretty good shape. Otherwise using an external Thunderbolt3 drive or even USB3 drive, you should get some pretty good track counts. Sorry I don't have any benchmarks but you can find some in other threads on this forum.

You will always find something bigger, faster, more powerful if you wait. Once you get there, something else better will be coming too. Focus on getting the tools that you need to make music today. As of today, Apple has not indicated that 6-core or 32 GB RAM is ready to be released soon, but they usually don't comment on unannounced products.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.14.6 running Protools 2019.6.0
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-29-2018, 08:58 PM
gjohung gjohung is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 361
Default Re: ProTools 2018 on MacBook i7 quad core 2017?

I have a 13 inch MBP i5 256G. 2017 no touch bar. I didn't want to use this for ProTools. But I am looking at the possibility. I run ProTools 10 & 11 on a 2011 iMac 27 inch. My interface is M-Audio Profire 2626.

My concern.
1) Disk Space. Is 256G enough to run ProTools with basic plug ins.
2) iLok is still USB 2.0 - 2017 MBP has USB C. Can I use my current iLOk with USB-C adaptor.
3) If Disk space is an issue. Can I install only basic ProTools on MBP but run plug-ins and audio data from external SSD.

I know I will not be able to use M-Audio PF 2626 - supposedly Avid stopped supporting the latest OSX. I have seen some hacks on YouTube. I do not mind using the internal OSX audio to do mixing - may be not the actual recording. I was looking at Universal Audio's Arrow that runs on USB-C.

Any insight will be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Apple: MBP 2.53 - 4G RAM HDD 500G, iMac 27 inch 1TB
ProFire 2626, MBox Micro, PTMP 8, NIs, Strike, POD Farm, Logic 9, EJ Strat, 52 Tele RI, MB Mk 3, PRS CE22, Epi Casino, PBass, Variax, L6XTL, M13, DRRI, BM iGuitar, GR-33, KeyStation 88, Axiom 49
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Core vs Quad Core new Macbook Pro ramonetl General Discussion 20 11-04-2016 06:05 PM
Macbook Air 2014 (1.4ghz Dual-core Intel core i5 Vs. Mid 2010 MBP i7 Quad-Core and PT TheGoodhusbands Virtual Instruments 2 09-11-2015 11:49 AM
MACBOOK PRO 15 Quad Core I7 2.2g 12bbb Pro Tools 11 13 01-03-2014 07:16 PM
macbook pro vs mac pro quad core bassgenius macOS 4 01-24-2011 12:05 AM
MacBook Pro vs Quad Core danielboek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-22-2010 12:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com