Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-08-2009, 01:59 PM

Default > PT 8 Beat Detective

I often wrestle with Elastic time for quick drum tightening of a multi-region drum take and still go for Beat Detective often. I am not a total pro with beat detective, probably only done a couple hundred songs and find it does act up sometimes, but only if I mis-select or miss a step or setting. I use both Normal and Collective modes depending on what I am up against. . . however it does not work for me in PT 8 in any mode. The same session in PT 7.4 worked like a charm, while in PT8 it is moving the audio to the completely wrong spots leaving huge gaps. I tried the exact same steps/settings that I usually use, and that just worked in PT7.4, and still no luck.

Is it buggy, or am I missing something?

Any pointers to great information on how to get Elastic time to jump thru hoops editing drums with ease/speed? Separate thought.
Old 03-08-2009, 04:35 PM

Default Re: > PT 8 Beat Detective

The new waveform resolution in PT8 is a higher bit depth, I think it's 16 bit as opposed to 8 bit now, this may take some getting used to - also we also have new waveform views now, RMS and Peak - if you havent already done this try setting the waveform views to Peak in the View tab and you may find it easier to edit that way, though if that doesnt work try resizing the waveform on that track to suit your needs by using the cntl + alt + left and right bracet keys.

Lastly there is also the outlined view too, this can be turned on or off, which for some means tighter editing.

Hope that leads to help.

Baris
Old 03-08-2009, 09:40 PM

Baris