Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2007, 07:48 PM
knifegoeson knifegoeson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default windows does not see Mbox mini - pls help

Hello,

I'm on a Duo Core desktop with the following specs:
ASUS PVD1-X motherboard
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz
3Gb RAM

I've just installed everything, I'm able to run Pro Tools, the program sees my Mini, but Windows itself does not! When I go into Sounds & Audio Devices, audio input and ouput are greyed out with no option for me to choose the Mini, although the MIDI playback is set to it. The Mini itself has its USB light on, and since Pro Tools can open it is clearly detected by the computer in some way. I just uninstalled my M-audio driver (i was using Audiophile 2496 which had no problems at all).

I'm kind of baffled. I'm new to the world of Mboxes so any help would be greatly appreciated. Let me know if I can provide any more information that might be significant.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2007, 09:49 PM
knifegoeson knifegoeson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: windows does not see Mbox mini - pls help

update: i tried installing PT and MINI on my Toshiba laptop (P4 3.33ghz/ 1.5Gb RAM) and the same problem came up, except now Sounds and Audio Devices detects the Mini as an output but not an input.

Any help at all would be much, much appreciated. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2007, 09:57 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: windows does not see Mbox mini - pls help

In the first instance, it sounds like you may have un-checked the wavedriver option on installation. It's checked by default on install, and the only way for it to not get installed is wither to un-check it, or if something went wrong with the install and it was corrupted in some way.

In the second instance, eveything is correct; The Wavedriver is playback only.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:47 AM
knifegoeson knifegoeson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: windows does not see Mbox mini - pls help

hi there, thanks.

so let me get this straight....can i use the mbox like i use every other audio interface - for both input and output??? is there some other driver for it other than the wavedriver?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:44 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: windows does not see Mbox mini - pls help

Quote:
so let me get this straight....can i use the mbox like i use every other audio interface - for both input and output???
No. You can only use the mbox for input and output with Pro Tools, and programs that use the ASIO driver (Cubase, Sonar, Adobe Audition, etc).
Quote:
is there some other driver for it other than the wavedriver?
Other than the Pro Tools driver and the ASIO driver (already mentioned), no.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 Mini not working on PT 8.0.4 Windows 7 x64 mantismu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-28-2010 07:47 AM
Mbox 2 Mini and Windows 7? hornard14 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-13-2010 11:38 AM
mbox 2 mini on windows pc marc2627 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-01-2010 11:49 AM
mbox 2 mini on windows pc marc2627 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-24-2010 11:22 AM
Mbox mini @ Windows 7 sonicapg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-10-2010 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com