Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-19-2018, 02:25 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolz View Post
Hi, I'm in a similar situation.

Same CPU spikes, and I'm now back on Yosemite with 12.8.1, and it's solid and powerful, no spikes.. feels professional.

My findings, that they broke something in 12.8.2

Two months ago, I put a support ticket in for 2018.4, and Avid replicated the CPU spikes.
Something definitely changed with lower buffer sizes especially.. 12.4 and yosemite ran much better over here.. No weird cpu spikes though to be honest, not with sierra and 2018.4, it's just bad performance at 32 or 64 buffer but at 128 all is settled, it outperforms the other daws for me actually.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-19-2018, 04:45 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 612
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Best practice is to stay at least 1 OS behind. I just recently updated to Sierra on my home Ultimate rig, despite having standard running on High Sierra at work without issue. It's not usually until half way through the OS cycle for complete audio compatibility (if by then). I was on Mavericks for a long time until I had to upgrade to accommodate Waves and NI installers. I spent a while on Yosemite and updated to Sierra in the last month or so. If my systems go down I don't get paid. You are much better off upgrading your DAW software than the OS. Given all the issues with High Sierra I will likely be on Sierra for a good while. Likely until I will need to upgrade machines.


God help us all when Intel processors are replaced with Apple proprietary chips. Especially Hackintosh users. They're gonna be f&#@ed.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-20-2018, 05:30 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by CygnusX-1Bk2 View Post
Best practice is to stay at least 1 OS behind. I just recently updated to Sierra on my home Ultimate rig, despite having standard running on High Sierra at work without issue. It's not usually until half way through the OS cycle for complete audio compatibility (if by then). I was on Mavericks for a long time until I had to upgrade to accommodate Waves and NI installers. I spent a while on Yosemite and updated to Sierra in the last month or so. If my systems go down I don't get paid. You are much better off upgrading your DAW software than the OS. Given all the issues with High Sierra I will likely be on Sierra for a good while. Likely until I will need to upgrade machines.


God help us all when Intel processors are replaced with Apple proprietary chips. Especially Hackintosh users. They're gonna be f&#@ed.
you are correct, hence why, in my case for example, i waited before high sierra.

But in this case, it was actually a *mistake*, cause now I can't get the version that works properly with PT (and other daws, avid are indeed right, it affects cubase and some other apps as well, not just PT).

So I will go one further and give this advice to *EVERYONE* on osx.

The DAY the new OS comes out, download it from the app store and back up the installer. Official release revision point o.

That way, if you wait a year, and say, mojave 10.14.6 has issues with pro tools, but mojave 10.14.4 works.. you can format your machine (never do an upgrade, do a clean install), install 10.14.0 (for example), then just use the combo update for the best compatible PT OS version. The combos for every incremental update are always available.

You can go one further, if you have enough back up space, and download the full installer from the app store every time the OS is updated, so you can do a clean install all in one go with the best version.

if i had done this with High sierra, i would have had exactly what I needed to run Pro Tools with the proper compatible high sierra version. Now i'm screwed.

Lesson learned.

I think I need to start a topic cause this has gone way off the OP's (sorry again for that) to speak to anyone who owns an imac pro and if they ever needed to downgrade themselves.. I managed to find a 10.13.2 full installer, so I just hope that works on the imac pro.. if it does, i can go ahead and order one.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-20-2018, 05:40 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

We all know a new OS means potential for new issues. Just use a spare drive/partition to test the new one when it comes out. No harm done.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 • Presonus Faderport 8 • MOTU 896 • iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-20-2018, 10:45 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,833
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Or one better even .. just email Apple and they will send you a link to whatever OS version you want free of charge. That way you dont need a bunch of half azzed OS versions that craps up the computer and only have one version.

PS - TNM / If tou start a new topic make sure you PM a moderator to separate all the posts that has been in this thread which aren't on topic please.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-20-2018, 12:13 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Or one better even .. just email Apple and they will send you a link to whatever OS version you want free of charge. That way you dont need a bunch of half azzed OS versions that craps up the computer and only have one version.

PS - TNM / If tou start a new topic make sure you PM a moderator to separate all the posts that has been in this thread which aren't on topic please.
no problem, thank you.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-22-2018, 12:06 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,778
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Getting back on topic, I've been using PT 2018.4 Ultimate with OS 10.13.6 without any CPU-related issues. Of course that's not to suggest success in every case, but it's indicative that there's hope for Mojave, and that a fix for the larger pool of 2018.x users could be close and not so hopeless. I'm considering testing the latest Mojave beta on a second rig to judge its potential.

Has there been any murmuring of a new release of PT?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-22-2018, 05:49 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
Getting back on topic, I've been using PT 2018.4 Ultimate with OS 10.13.6 without any CPU-related issues. Of course that's not to suggest success in every case, but it's indicative that there's hope for Mojave, and that a fix for the larger pool of 2018.x users could be close and not so hopeless. I'm considering testing the latest Mojave beta on a second rig to judge its potential.

Has there been any murmuring of a new release of PT?
That does sound good. Hopeful at least.

Avid told me that 10.13.4 through .6 have the problems, and they have been unable to fix it.. So i have to ask, what buffer size and interface are you using Eric? And what sort of mac?

There's definitely murmur of a new release, 2018.7, but there won't be any low buffer fixes in it.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-23-2018, 04:53 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

So i've been on the phone to apple all morning, sales told me the apple stores should keep previous versions of HS...

Um...

Tech support closest apple store said they do NOT, and it is impossible to put 10.13.3 on an imac pro that comes with 10.13.6

They dont keep any sub updates, not even the original 10.13.0

If i had a compatible computer and i wanted say 10.11 or 10.12, then that they could do, but not previous versions of the OS it ships with.

That's direct from apple guys, I can not order an imac pro with 10.13.2, or 10.13.3

It was like talking to a child, was so frustrating.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-23-2018, 05:23 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,529
Default Re: ProTools 2018.4 Ultimate and MacOs Mojave

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
So i've been on the phone to apple all morning, sales told me the apple stores should keep previous versions of HS...

Um...

Tech support closest apple store said they do NOT, and it is impossible to put 10.13.3 on an imac pro that comes with 10.13.6

They dont keep any sub updates, not even the original 10.13.0

If i had a compatible computer and i wanted say 10.11 or 10.12, then that they could do, but not previous versions of the OS it ships with.

That's direct from apple guys, I can not order an imac pro with 10.13.2, or 10.13.3

It was like talking to a child, was so frustrating.
Do I understand that you have the iMac Pro now? If so it's your own fault for not checking this out beforehand. Don't blame Apple for your woes.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
macOS 10.13.6 with 2018.4 SigFriedChicken macOS 8 07-26-2018 02:39 AM
PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ? Glazik Pro Tools 2018 26 07-10-2018 11:56 PM
Protools Ultimate 2018 quits unexpectedly cristtiah Pro Tools 2018 3 06-26-2018 02:25 PM
macOS 10.14 Mojave and “cheese grater” Mac Pros jsbach Pro Tools 2018 37 06-17-2018 01:50 AM
S6 M10 v3.5 works with PT ultimate 2018.4 ? vudoo Pro Tools | S6 3 05-30-2018 03:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com