Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2018, 08:02 AM
Glazik Glazik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 99
Default PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

Hello,

It seems that my PT 2018.4 Ultimate suffers from some bugs.

First one : if I record with the playlists lanes opened (Playlist view in tracks view), when I stop, PT plays the session at the location I recorded for several seconds before I am able to stop it. If PT is in Waveform view, no issue. Not very handy.

Second one : If PT is in full screen mode when closing a session, PT crashes.

PT 2018.4 Ultimate, MacOS High Sierra, MacBook Pro late 2016.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2018, 09:56 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

2018.4 is my least favourite release thus far.. i get random hangs when inserting a plugin (and no rhyme or reason as to why or which plugin).. force shut down...

Never had that before...

Strange glitches, likewise..

I was happy on 2018.3.. Learned that valuable lesson today, if it ain't broke...

Will obviously upgrade to the next version cause it has to be better, but then after that will not touch it unless it's a MAJOR feature release, like elastic pitch/melodyne, or folder tracks major.

!!

Did 2018.3 work well for you on the SAME machine and OS version? Yours is having more issues than mine, so i suggest a rollback. Easy enough on mac.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2018, 10:51 AM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,264
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

Same here, as soon as I installed 2018.4 all my sessions started producing clicks and noises. CPU as usual. I've been freezing a lot of tracks to be able to continue.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2018, 10:55 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

FWIW, no real difference between 2018.4 and .3 for me in terms of stability or performance. (Not using any VIs though). (Win 10 Pro, RME Babyface)
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-16-2018, 11:48 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,271
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

I've just come back to the studio after having dinner to find that Pro Tools has crashed without anyone having touched it for an hour. Goodness knows what that's all about....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2018, 02:52 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 790
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
I've just come back to the studio after having dinner to find that Pro Tools has crashed without anyone having touched it for an hour. Goodness knows what that's all about....
This will solve your issue - http://jon.stovell.info/software/keep-drive-spinning/
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2018, 02:58 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,271
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
Ah! Blimey. Always new things to learn. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2018, 05:13 AM
fatjon22 fatjon22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Retford UK
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

Thanks Trent. That has been bugging the hell out of me for a month since I installed a new NAS. Every time I go for a coffee the damn thing has disappeared when I return. Now I just need to figure out auto-mount so it's there when I boot up. I always forget to go and click it before starting PT and then have the brief heart attack moment when all my projects are missing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-17-2018, 08:09 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,062
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

Easy way to auto mount is just throw a drive volume on the NAS into your login items.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-17-2018, 09:13 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ?

Here's one for someone to try - drag and drop a WAV from the desktop (this is in Windows 10 Pro) directly onto a track while PT is vaguely busy (playing back should to the trick). For me, this seems to make that track go left only. Workaround - close the project then re-open.

I've had various drag and drop issues with PT over the years, but this particular variant is a new one on me. If others can replicate it, I'll submit a ticket.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 GUI offset by tabs error Mike Ritchie Pro Tools 2018 2 04-10-2018 03:49 PM
A couple bugs I'm seeing in 2018.3 DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 2018 0 03-30-2018 01:25 PM
Upgrading from 2018.1 to 2018.3 with Application Manager lm183902 Pro Tools 2018 2 03-19-2018 04:41 PM
11.1.2 on Mountain Lion bugs bugs bugs. command+f, elastic audio, discoloration farmfresh Pro Tools 11 21 05-01-2014 07:21 PM
Vista Ultimate 64 (the ultimate dissapointment) Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 04:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com