Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2012, 08:28 PM
illution illution is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 14
Default Headphone output problem on macbook pro BOOTCAMP windows XP Protools 10

Hello helpful friends. I hope I am not posting in the wrong section.
I just bought a Macbook pro. I installed Windows 7 64 bit on bootcamp partition.
I installed pro tools 10. I just noticed that when trying to listen and play back anything while using headphones which are plugged into the Macbook's native headphone jack while I am using protools 10, no sound will play through the headphones. I will still hear sound playing back through the laptop speakers, but no luck with the headphones.
I have also tried to play with the control panel sound settings, but it seems like I can not have any luck.
I do however seem to have success with using the headphones in other applications such as reason and cubase, just not with Pro Tools.
I know some of you might want to tell me to just use pro tools on the mac partition, but there are some plugins and applications that I would like to use on the windows side of things.

If you have any advice or suggestions, please let me know. Thanks!
__________________
SYSTEM 1
O.S.: Windows 7 Ultimate
Audio Interface: Focusrite Liquid 56 stacked via ADAT with Octopre Dynamic MKII
Pro Tools: 10
Processor: Intel i7-3770K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z77-D3H
Ram: 16GB
Graphics: Sapphire HD 7850
System 2
Macbook Pro, OSX 10.7.4, Intel i7 2.2 Ghz Quad Core, 4GB RAM, PT 10.2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2012, 03:23 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Headphone output problem on macbook pro BOOTCAMP windows XP Protools 10

Hey,

I just need a little clarification... You said "I dont hear anything from the headphones but the speakers are still working"

So you are saying that you can play pro tools without the headphones plugged in and the laptop speakers work fine... but when you plug into the headphones the laptop speakers still play and nothing is in your headphones?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2012, 01:03 AM
illution illution is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 14
Default Re: Headphone output problem on macbook pro BOOTCAMP windows XP Protools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonthurley View Post
Hey,

I just need a little clarification... You said "I dont hear anything from the headphones but the speakers are still working"

So you are saying that you can play pro tools without the headphones plugged in and the laptop speakers work fine... but when you plug into the headphones the laptop speakers still play and nothing is in your headphones?
Yes sir, that is precisely what I mean. Any ideas on this issue? I mean, bootcamp is great, but this seems to be the only issue I have had yet.
__________________
SYSTEM 1
O.S.: Windows 7 Ultimate
Audio Interface: Focusrite Liquid 56 stacked via ADAT with Octopre Dynamic MKII
Pro Tools: 10
Processor: Intel i7-3770K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z77-D3H
Ram: 16GB
Graphics: Sapphire HD 7850
System 2
Macbook Pro, OSX 10.7.4, Intel i7 2.2 Ghz Quad Core, 4GB RAM, PT 10.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2012, 06:17 PM
snych snych is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1
Unhappy Re: Headphone output problem on macbook pro BOOTCAMP windows XP Protools 10

Hey dude, i have exactly the same problem... any luck?!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2013, 12:38 PM
illution illution is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 14
Default Re: Headphone output problem on macbook pro BOOTCAMP windows XP Protools 10

bump? Anyone?
__________________
SYSTEM 1
O.S.: Windows 7 Ultimate
Audio Interface: Focusrite Liquid 56 stacked via ADAT with Octopre Dynamic MKII
Pro Tools: 10
Processor: Intel i7-3770K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z77-D3H
Ram: 16GB
Graphics: Sapphire HD 7850
System 2
Macbook Pro, OSX 10.7.4, Intel i7 2.2 Ghz Quad Core, 4GB RAM, PT 10.2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2016, 12:59 PM
arbyyy arbyyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: uk
Posts: 1
Default Re: Headphone output problem on macbook pro BOOTCAMP windows XP Protools 10

this seems to work, though earlier it seemed to only work once and need re doing with a restart if you pull your headphones out. Like I said, it is just working like normal this time though.

1) plug your headphones into the normal socket hole. 2) Open sound from control panel. (I just start typing sound on Cortana or when I've opened the start menu up) 3) Right click on the 'headphones' tab thing 4)click on 'set as default device'

You will then hear from your headphones or speakers (I use it for both).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAE error -6087 on my MacBook bootcamp windows xp snagasaki 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 10-28-2009 05:24 PM
Running Protools 6.9 on MacBook Pro using Bootcamp CARNIVALMUSIC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-01-2008 04:21 PM
Installing Protools HD on bootcamp Windows XP peter99 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 01-28-2008 06:56 AM
ProTools + Macbook (intel-mac) + WinXp (bootcamp)? ssound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-23-2006 02:29 PM
Macbook headphone output rabs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-16-2006 07:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com