Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2010, 06:56 AM
teacherman teacherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 409
Default Are Firmware Updates backwards Compatible?

Are Firmware Updates backwards compatible?

I've just updated from PT 7.3.1 to PT 8.0.1. Now, both my Sync I/O and D-Control are flagged for a Firmware update when I launch PT 8 in Leopard.

I have been just ignoring the Firmware Update notice because I'm not sure what will happen when I have to go back and open PT 7.3.1 in Tiger.

Your thoughts,
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2010, 09:49 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,622
Default Re: Are Firmware Updates backwards Compatible?

Yes, they're backwards compatible in most cases - at worst you would be prompted to install the firmware version for the version of Pro Tools that you're using when you go to an older version. In most situations it's best to update to the latest version and skip the update when going to an older version if you really don't want to have to do the firmware 'downgrade'.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firmware Updates lost fader pack. Firmware or personality? Oakdale Post ICON & C|24 0 03-23-2013 12:37 AM
Is firmware backwards compatible? guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-26-2007 08:52 AM
7.0 Backwards Compatible?? Nathanael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-07-2005 01:06 PM
SCC BACKWARDS COMPATIBLE nathan jenkins Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 08-07-2001 05:19 PM
5.1.1 backwards compatible? AdamFrick Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-29-2001 09:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com