Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #611  
Old 01-24-2008, 05:50 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Ok I\'m taking the Plunge and I\'m Building a Quad Check Specs

Quote:
Quote:
My Quad Build
Processor- Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model HH80562PH0568M – OEM $255.00

Motherboard- ASUS P5K LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard – Retail $126.99

Memory- CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400 – Retail $49.00

Video Card-ASUS EN7300GT SILENT/HTD/256M GeForce 7300GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card – Retail $56.99

Hard Drives- Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3160815A 160GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - OEM (System Drive) $52.99
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250310AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0 GB/s Hard Drive – OEM (Audio Drive) $65.99

CD/DVD Burners SAMSUNG 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model SH-S203N – OEM $33.99 I own a second CD/DVD Burner by Lite-On

Computer Cases- Antec NSK6580 Black/ Silver 0.8mm cold-rolled steel construction ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 430W Power Supply – Retail $109.95

OS Software- Microsoft Windows XP Home With SP2B 1 Pack – OEM $89.99

Let me know if this will be a solid PC? Should I upgrade something or add anything? Sunburst chime in please. Also I will be using this with a MBox 2 Pro.
looks good!! my only suggestion would be go for the faster ram, DDR2 1066, if your budget allows. there are definite performance gains with the faster ram. you could also check to see if the next generation of seagates, 7200.11, are available. again if your budget allows. i just read a review on them in CPU mag and they definitely gave them a thumbs up. i can't remember what the technical changes from 7200.10 were but you might want check those out too. but the build specs look good!!! happy building!!

EDIT: also you might want to look back at page one in this thread to see who else might be using your mobo with a firewire device. we know the AGERE FW on some of the ASUS P5K works with the DIGI FW devices but i'm toally sure of the VIA FW chipset on your mobo. at worst you'd have to get a compatible/approved DIGI FW card.

sunburst, what's the verdict on the VIA chipset????
I meant to reply to this before I went to bed last night and got sidetracked

Mykhal is correct about the DDR2 1066. Picking up some with the correct timing of 5-5-5-15 will give you a fairly significant boost over the DDR2 800. I would go all SATA on the hard drives. makes things Much easier to set up.

Their have been several reports that the VIA 6308 FW controller chip on the P5K won't play nice with the 002, 003 and MBox2 Pro, If you have a Firewire interface than you will need a Digi approved FireWire card.

I would ditch the DDR2 800 and the IDE drive however if your on a budget and moneys tight neither of them is a deal breaker as far as the build goes.

Other than that things look good
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #612  
Old 01-24-2008, 05:54 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Thanks to all, especially sunburst79, for documenting the best ProTools specs out there. Below are my test results for my new system. They highlight the performance hit of 7.4 over 7.3.

Cro 235 Dverbs On a Q6600 - ASUS P5K, 2GB Corsair DDR2 800MHz, GeForce 7200GS 256MB DDR2, 2 x 320GB SATA2, LG Lightscribe SCSI DVD burner, Mbox2 PTLE 7.3

Cro 236 Dverbs On a Q6600 - ASUS P5K, 2GB Corsair DDR2 800MHz, GeForce 7200GS 256MB DDR2, 2 x 320GB SATA2, LG Lightscribe SCSI DVD burner, Mbox2 PTLE 7.3.1

Cro 220 Dverbs On a Q6600 - ASUS P5K, 2GB Corsair DDR2 800MHz, GeForce 7200GS 256MB DDR2, 2 x 320GB SATA2, LG Lightscribe SCSI DVD burner, Mbox2 PTLE 7.4

Cro
Very Good!

Thank you for taking the time to do that!

I wish I had started keeping track of the Dverb hit way back so that we were getting a fairly firm number percentage wise down, Its enough for me to just keep up with the hardware questions these days.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #613  
Old 01-24-2008, 07:52 AM
Pro Tools LE Pro Tools LE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 104
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3160815AS 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM Price:$52.99
To replace the IDE Hard Drive.

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5 - Retail Price:$109.00
To replace the DDR2 800.

NN-400012-S8: 1394 3-port PCI
3-port 1394 (FireWire) PCI adapter. RoHS compliant $49.99

All I need now is a Flat Panel Monitors!! Also will I be able to upgrade to a dual screen setup with that board?

So sunburst do I look ready to rock n roll now.
__________________
Support Independent Artists!! You can start by visiting www.myspace.com/2gonline
Reply With Quote
  #614  
Old 01-24-2008, 11:34 AM
Teolin Teolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 200
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
Well with no experience in computer building, I was just looking at the P5K manaul. The USB header near the CPU was presented first on the page so I went for that one. Turns out it can make a difference. The computer tech unplugged it and on restart, the Hardware wizard was looking for a network driver!
Thats good to know as I was unaware of it

I wasn't trying to critisize your computer skills or anything BTW (Hey at least you took the time to read the manual ).

The P5K Deluxe WiFi models like mine use a USB based Wireless network adapter that has a single row of 4 or 5 Prongs but its over by the output panel plate and the 1st PCI expansion slot. It wasn't that connector was it? It looks like 1/2 of a USB header.

I'll have to download the P5K manual and have a look.

Yeah, the problem was caused by using the connection near the 1st PCI and the output panel--USB 11 & 12 in the diagram. When switching to those in the bottom right corner (USB 7,8 - 9,10) the network card began working.

BTW the onboard firewire is working fine so far. Haven't done a lot other than setup the system and the Dverb test so far though.

So is PT setup to appear proportionally accurate in widescreen mode. Things look a little "stretched" on the horizontal plane on my widescreen.
__________________
Pro Tools 12.4
HDN, PCIe, Omni & Digi 192

ASUS Sabertooth, Intel i7 3820 3.6Ghz
32 GB 1600Mhz Corsair RAM
SSD 500GB Samsung
WIN 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #615  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:19 PM
NickH NickH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Henley-On-Thames, UK
Posts: 600
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
So is PT setup to appear proportionally accurate in widescreen mode. Things look a little "stretched" on the horizontal plane on my widescreen.
It sounds like you have the resolution set wrong for your monitor, it should be something like 1400 x 900 or similar proportions, not 1024 x 768 or 1280 x 1024..

Cheers



N
__________________
“It’s because you touch yourself at night... ”
System Specs
Reply With Quote
  #616  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:09 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
So is PT setup to appear proportionally accurate in widescreen mode. Things look a little "stretched" on the horizontal plane on my widescreen.
It sounds like you have the resolution set wrong for your monitor, it should be something like 1400 x 900 or similar proportions, not 1024 x 768 or 1280 x 1024..

Cheers



N
hmmm... i run my 32" LCD/TV at 1024 x 768 with no weird stretched effect off the VGA port. if you are usin' the same type of monitor then also make sure you are not in panoramic mode, s/b 16:9. panoramic will definitely present a stretched effect
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #617  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:38 PM
NickH NickH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Henley-On-Thames, UK
Posts: 600
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
hmmm... i run my 32" LCD/TV at 1024 x 768 with no weird stretched effect off the VGA port. if you are usin' the same type of monitor then also make sure you are not in panoramic mode, s/b 16:9. panoramic will definitely present a stretched effect
Mykhal c,

1024 x 768 is 4:3 Aspect Ratio & is NOT widescreen

1400 x 900 is a 16:9 Aspect Ratio which IS widescreen

If your monitor is widescreen is should be run with a 16:9 aspect ratio, if it is normal it should be run with 4:3..

Hope this clarifies..

Cheers



N
__________________
“It’s because you touch yourself at night... ”
System Specs
Reply With Quote
  #618  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:45 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3160815AS 160GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM Price:$52.99
To replace the IDE Hard Drive.

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-8500C5 - Retail Price:$109.00
To replace the DDR2 800.

NN-400012-S8: 1394 3-port PCI
3-port 1394 (FireWire) PCI adapter. RoHS compliant $49.99

All I need now is a Flat Panel Monitors!! Also will I be able to upgrade to a dual screen setup with that board?

So sunburst do I look ready to rock n roll now.
Links are always good so we can check exactly what your looking at but everything looks good to me.

Pretty much any modern video card is going to have 2 outputs, usually a VGA and a DVI. normally a DVI to VGA adapter is included so you home free there as long as your monitors are VGA. If you have a pair of DVI monitors you should definitely be looking at a video card with 2 DVI outputs. Chances are if you have the newer DVI monitors you will know it because its a fairly important feature.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #619  
Old 01-24-2008, 03:53 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Well with no experience in computer building, I was just looking at the P5K manaul. The USB header near the CPU was presented first on the page so I went for that one. Turns out it can make a difference. The computer tech unplugged it and on restart, the Hardware wizard was looking for a network driver!
Thats good to know as I was unaware of it

I wasn't trying to critisize your computer skills or anything BTW (Hey at least you took the time to read the manual ).

The P5K Deluxe WiFi models like mine use a USB based Wireless network adapter that has a single row of 4 or 5 Prongs but its over by the output panel plate and the 1st PCI expansion slot. It wasn't that connector was it? It looks like 1/2 of a USB header.

I'll have to download the P5K manual and have a look.

Yeah, the problem was caused by using the connection near the 1st PCI and the output panel--USB 11 & 12 in the diagram. When switching to those in the bottom right corner (USB 7,8 - 9,10) the network card began working.

BTW the onboard firewire is working fine so far. Haven't done a lot other than setup the system and the Dverb test so far though.

So is PT setup to appear proportionally accurate in widescreen mode. Things look a little "stretched" on the horizontal plane on my widescreen.
When I get back home I will have to crack open the DAW and look at the Wireless connections again. Keep me updated on the firewire. You should have the VIA 6308 correct? the 6307 was working just fine. I cant help with the monitor I have a old pair of 17's running at 1280x1024 if I recall correctly.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #620  
Old 01-24-2008, 04:10 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
hmmm... i run my 32" LCD/TV at 1024 x 768 with no weird stretched effect off the VGA port. if you are usin' the same type of monitor then also make sure you are not in panoramic mode, s/b 16:9. panoramic will definitely present a stretched effect
Mykhal c,

1024 x 768 is 4:3 Aspect Ratio & is NOT widescreen

1400 x 900 is a 16:9 Aspect Ratio which IS widescreen

If your monitor is widescreen is should be run with a 16:9 aspect ratio, if it is normal it should be run with 4:3..

Hope this clarifies..

Cheers



N
NickH, i'll have to check those settings out when i get to the studio. just checkin' my 19" on my P4 here in the apt 1400 x 900 is not an option, 1600 x 900 is tho. anyway, i'll check it out. thanks
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Builds - Specs and Results mykhal c Windows 6783 10-03-2019 06:08 AM
Intel Quad Core vs. i-series solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-23-2010 05:16 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
are these specs ok? (low budget 2 core) korkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-22-2008 02:44 AM
8 Core Mac Pro, Leopard and Windows results pasanta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-13-2008 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com