Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1111  
Old 05-23-2008, 01:36 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
you should have a disc with your ASUS mobo with all the drivers needed

yea but typically stuff is out of date and such and want to install extra crap along with it, try to keep it slimmed to just the basic needed drivers.
i understand. well what i did on my build was get it up and runnin' then i went into DEVICE MGR, looked for the devices that had '?' besides them and installed the drivers from the cd that came with the mobo. this keeps it to a minimum and does NOT install all drivers nor utilities from the mobo cd then if you want to update or change anythin' you can do so but at least you're up and runnin'. and typically, unless there is a fix that i need, i do NOT install the latest and greatest of anythin'!!! again, unless there is a fix i need
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #1112  
Old 05-23-2008, 03:56 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
understand. well what i did on my build was get it up and runnin' then i went into DEVICE MGR, looked for the devices that had '?' besides them and installed the drivers from the cd that came with the mobo. this keeps it to a minimum and does NOT install all drivers nor utilities from the mobo cd then if you want to update or change anythin' you can do so but at least you're up and runnin'. and typically, unless there is a fix that i need, i do NOT install the latest and greatest of anythin'!!! again, unless there is a fix i need
cool, that is prety much what i did xcept i got the device drivers off the web. just was not sure if there was anything different i needed to get. so far so good
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #1113  
Old 05-23-2008, 07:56 PM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,296
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Any real difference between the P5K and the P5K Pro?? Newegg has the Pro model for an extra 2 bucks.

kip
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM El Capitan | 2011 MacBook Pro 2.0GHz 4-Core i7 8GB RAM El Capitan | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2018 | Studio One 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #1114  
Old 05-24-2008, 05:47 PM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,296
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

thanks for the suggestion... i placed my NewEgg order!

Q6600
Asus P5K
4GB (2 x 2GB) G.Skill Ram


Can't wait to see the difference. I did the D-Verb test for kicks with my current Athlon X2 939 3600+, and I got a whopping 46 D-Verbs!! lol.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM El Capitan | 2011 MacBook Pro 2.0GHz 4-Core i7 8GB RAM El Capitan | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2018 | Studio One 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #1115  
Old 05-24-2008, 08:59 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
understand. well what i did on my build was get it up and runnin' then i went into DEVICE MGR, looked for the devices that had '?' besides them and installed the drivers from the cd that came with the mobo. this keeps it to a minimum and does NOT install all drivers nor utilities from the mobo cd then if you want to update or change anythin' you can do so but at least you're up and runnin'. and typically, unless there is a fix that i need, i do NOT install the latest and greatest of anythin'!!! again, unless there is a fix i need
cool, that is prety much what i did xcept i got the device drivers off the web. just was not sure if there was anything different i needed to get. so far so good
I like to update/Install the drivers from the device manager, that normally keeps the bloatware to a minimum since it only installs the drivers in most cases. I would hit nVidia or ATI for the latest reference drivers for your video card. Then ASUS for the latest LAN, Chipset, Soundcard drivers etc. You will usually need to install the LAN driver thats on the disk in order to get the LAN port working- or at least I did. You will also need to run the Intel Chipset INF utility from the CD menu as I recall. The rest of the drivers can be updated via the device manager method.

You did good or at least you did it the way I would recommend.

I never had any problems with the included drivers or any updated ones for that matter.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #1116  
Old 05-25-2008, 07:01 PM
zuma zuma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Hi all,

Has anyone built a system with an ASUS P5K/EPU? Looks like it has some cool power saving features, but after reading the first 30 or so pages of this thread I'm scared to buy anything other than a standard P5K for fear of it not being compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #1117  
Old 05-25-2008, 08:29 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Hi all,

Has anyone built a system with an ASUS P5K/EPU? Looks like it has some cool power saving features, but after reading the first 30 or so pages of this thread I'm scared to buy anything other than a standard P5K for fear of it not being compatible.
I think I would avoid it since its new and unknown (with Pro Tools) and once you disabled Speed Step all of the motherboards power saving features are kind of moot. Stick with something thats working and plant a tree if you would like to do something nice for the environment. Turning out the lights when you leave the room would probably save more energy in the long run.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #1118  
Old 05-25-2008, 08:55 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Quote:
Hi all,

Has anyone built a system with an ASUS P5K/EPU? Looks like it has some cool power saving features, but after reading the first 30 or so pages of this thread I'm scared to buy anything other than a standard P5K for fear of it not being compatible.
I think I would avoid it since its new and unknown (with Pro Tools) and once you disabled Speed Step all of the motherboards power saving features are kind of moot. Stick with something thats working and plant a tree if you would like to do something nice for the environment. Turning out the lights when you leave the room would probably save more energy in the long run.
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #1119  
Old 05-26-2008, 02:06 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

i am getting this error when i try to run my "safely remove hardware" i get this error.


an exception occurred while tring to run "shell32.dll,Control_RundLLhotplug.dll"

i have went through all the drivers including the inf, and everything listed i should have installed driver wise and not sure, never seen this before. i did find an app online to disconnect usb devices only and works fine. also in my computer when i right click on a drive and try to eject it will not do anything. not sure what could be causing this>???
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #1120  
Old 05-26-2008, 03:06 PM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

PT will "take control" over any removable media while its running. Either quit PT and eject the drives, or in PT go to window/workspace and right click the drive then choose unmount.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Builds - Specs and Results mykhal c Windows 6783 10-03-2019 06:08 AM
Intel Quad Core vs. i-series solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-23-2010 05:16 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
are these specs ok? (low budget 2 core) korkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-22-2008 02:44 AM
8 Core Mac Pro, Leopard and Windows results pasanta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-13-2008 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com