Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-16-2019, 07:31 AM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 279
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnoil View Post
I was asking because I thought the new Mac Pros will ship with Catalina and they would not run on anything earlier than Catalina? I don't have any reasons to want Catalina, bit I do want and will buy a new Mac Pro...finally, my cheese grater is very old now and chugs along very slowly but still does. I have 2 HDX cards but one use one (the other car dis in a box) because I don't have enough PCIe slots
Yes, I understood, was just trying to know opinions about what the new OS could bring in terms of performance or features for audio work.
We also had to buy a new iMAC Pro in the beginning of the year(there was no sign of MAC Pro launch then) and had to stick with Mojave pre-installed and was not a very pleasant experience, so I understand you.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-01-2019, 08:17 AM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,218
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It is pretty much a given you need Catalina for the new Mac Pro, otherwise they would have shipped them already
Actually, in the Apple site it says that the new Mac Pro ships with Mohave. I was also thinking it was Catalina but seems that Mohave will be the initial OS.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-01-2019, 09:31 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,063
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by garnoil View Post
Actually, in the Apple site it says that the new Mac Pro ships with Mohave. I was also thinking it was Catalina but seems that Mohave will be the initial OS.
There have been zero situations where Apple has shipped hardware with an old macOS.

Catalina comes out this month. The new Mac Pros are still not scheduled to ship (or order.) You can do that math. They will update the website because websites can be easily updated.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-01-2019, 09:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,933
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
There have been zero situations where Apple has shipped hardware with an old macOS.
Of course *if* indeed Apple has promised to ship them with Mojave and they don't I smell a lawsuit. Just don't know how valid the so called promise would be when Mojave is their current operating system. Historically, the day Catalina comes out means new hardware will ship with it installed and won't work with earlier OS.

I remember back in Jaguar times (2002!) some hardware were released just the same time with Panther and they shipped with a special version of Jaguar that was only available on the factory install. If you needed to reinstall the operating system on those, you needed to install Panther. I guess they could do the same here, but who would want that if the point would be relying on Mojave for some years to come?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-01-2019, 11:01 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,063
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Of course *if* indeed Apple has promised to ship them with Mojave and they don't I smell a lawsuit.
They are not even up for order.
There are no T&C of sale to agree to until they actual put them up for sale.
I could make a video of a blue frog that talks and say I'll be selling it soon and never put it up for sale. But until there's a party with some kind of standing of injury (like a customer who places an order), there are no grounds for lawsuits.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-01-2019, 11:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,933
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

There you go, proves my point. Catalina shipping first, it is a given new hardware ships with it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-01-2019, 01:29 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,322
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

The market for the new Mac Pro is video, a market they almost completely lost thanks to the trashcan and FCX. Shipping it with only Catalina would be a colossal mistake because it would be incompatible with literally decades of existing video projects.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-01-2019, 01:37 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,933
Default Re: Catalina update for Pro-Tools?

We'll see. If they release Catalina first and ship Mac Pro later as Mojave compatible, that would be notorious.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Rack+, will it work with OSX 10.5 (Catalina)? sdm777@me.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-29-2019 04:36 PM
System 5 with OS X Catalina japple System 5 1 09-08-2019 08:13 AM
"Catalina" & Macs Supported... LightWing macOS 1 06-07-2019 07:49 AM
Catalina Ryan Young Pro Tools 2019 6 06-06-2019 10:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com