Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:35 PM
joeymusicguy joeymusicguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: indiana
Posts: 73
Default elastic audio - corrective work flow

i use elastic audio to manually pocket vocals

i go through each region (usually one per line) and delete all analysis markers
then i switch to warp view and add warp makers at the beginning of sylables where i see fit

then i move the warp markers to grid (super pocketing of vocals)

what i do next is up in the air, im not super sure of the most efficient method yet...

should i keep pocketing and then at the end xform the whole thing? this is sort of scary because there might be a line or two or even ten that you'll want to change and its a a bit of a pain to keep doing this over and over. especially when disabling elastic audio on the track commits every region in the track, not just select regions

if i don't do it that way, whats the best way to make the x-form commitment? it seems like you'd have to switch to x-form mode, wait for render, then switch off elastic audio and hit commit, then switch back to real-time to keep working on other regions on the track

another idea i had was to make an x-form track, its empty, and you just cut / paste the take from the real-time elastic audio track to the x-form elastic audio track. this way, your edits are instant, and you can make changes quickly and when you're satisfied, you can easily commit to x-form in a couple of key strokes... the annoying thing is that even after this you still have to copy and paste to a regular audio track because copying and pasting back into elastic audio track will keep the elastic audio information online. (i am wanting to make completely committed audio)

and im not sure how i feel about consolidate regions. the manual doesn't really tell you whats happening in terms of elastic audio data... like if it re-renders the audio or what...

hopefully someone understands what im talking about here and can offer some advice or their experience...

im on pro tools hd! thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2010, 10:03 AM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: elastic audio - corrective work flow

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeymusicguy View Post
i use elastic audio to manually pocket vocals

i go through each region (usually one per line) and delete all analysis markers
then i switch to warp view and add warp makers at the beginning of sylables where i see fit

then i move the warp markers to grid (super pocketing of vocals)

what i do next is up in the air, im not super sure of the most efficient method yet...

should i keep pocketing and then at the end xform the whole thing? this is sort of scary because there might be a line or two or even ten that you'll want to change and its a a bit of a pain to keep doing this over and over. especially when disabling elastic audio on the track commits every region in the track, not just select regions

if i don't do it that way, whats the best way to make the x-form commitment? it seems like you'd have to switch to x-form mode, wait for render, then switch off elastic audio and hit commit, then switch back to real-time to keep working on other regions on the track

another idea i had was to make an x-form track, its empty, and you just cut / paste the take from the real-time elastic audio track to the x-form elastic audio track. this way, your edits are instant, and you can make changes quickly and when you're satisfied, you can easily commit to x-form in a couple of key strokes... the annoying thing is that even after this you still have to copy and paste to a regular audio track because copying and pasting back into elastic audio track will keep the elastic audio information online. (i am wanting to make completely committed audio)

and im not sure how i feel about consolidate regions. the manual doesn't really tell you whats happening in terms of elastic audio data... like if it re-renders the audio or what...

hopefully someone understands what im talking about here and can offer some advice or their experience...

im on pro tools hd! thanks!
My experience with elastic audio is that first, I always make a comp track just in case something goes wrong. As far as x-form, I'm not sure what that is but I have not been on my system for a while or needed elastic audio. Consolidating is fine. Just have that extra untouched track in a lower playlist in case you don't like the results.

Good luck,
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elastic Audio won't work? try this 77pro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-03-2014 06:21 PM
Help Elastic Audio will not work properly OnTrak macOS 2 04-18-2012 08:06 AM
Why won't elastic audio work in PT8..? jtrainer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-26-2011 07:12 PM
Elastic Audio work flow question kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-29-2009 06:57 AM
Cannot get Elastic Audio to Work on Mac Pro PT 7.4 Khaarmeyer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-22-2007 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com