Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #191  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:07 PM
ValkRider ValkRider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vermont
Posts: 213
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

Hello Folks,

I have been reading this forum for a while. I have read all the posts in this particular topic and many many others. I have a few questions in regard to my building my DuoCore System.
I have built many computers, just not for music recording or following Digidesigns specs.
I will be building a new computer strictly for recording.

I have never recorded a thing in my life and am total newbie. I am leaning toward either the Digi002R or the M-box2Pro, haven't decided which yet.

Question 1. Despite what Digidesign recommends, has anyone had any success at all with running raid in any configuration with PTLE and the DuoCore Procs? Just curious. I won't try if there have not been guaranteed successes.

Question 2. Do I need to buy the specific PCI Fire wire cards as recommnded by DigiDesign or can I use the on board Fire Wire one of these motherboard, Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (P965)or the Asus PB5-Deluxe,that I am going to purchase?

Question 3. Is it still mandatory to turn off the Network adapters in the bios to prevent issues or is that a thing of the past?

Question 4. When installing Windows XP Pro which IDE drivers are being used? The ones off of the Mother Board Manufacturers CD or just the default Windows XP ones? I will be using SATA drives in any case. 1-system boot drive and 2-hard drives for software and work files.

I thank you in advance for any help you can give me. This system will probably be over kill for me in all areas, and the learning curve will be steep. I play guitar, some keyboards, Banjo and do vocals. My kids are buying me reference monitors for gifts and I will most likely mic my amps when doing electrics.
Thanks again for the help.
Lou D.
__________________
"So it goes", Kilgore Trout
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:26 PM
will the moor will the moor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 724
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

Quote:
I've added another 8 aux channels(40 DVERBS) and recording ok
im upto 200 DVERS 24bit 96K 256buffer on a seriously Over Clocked E4300 @3069MHZ- Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (P965) There's even a bit of headroom still ~78% cpu used!
hook us up with a screen shot? That is just insane!
__________________
http://soundofthatday.com
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:28 PM
jemd jemd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

mykhal..

CPU Intel Core 2 Duo E4300
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 bios version F9 <- important!
Memory G.Skill F2-6400CL4D-2GBPK 2GB Kit (2x1GB), PC2-6400 (800mhz), 4-4-4-12 1

The mobo was not cheap ( about 200 US or maybe a bit more)

Neither was the memory!( about the same).

I have also got the leanest version of xp running ( think xplite but using nlite for a custom install of windows). To give you an idea, when I load windows I have about ~100meg of ram used. This is crucial for good performance.

The onboard Texis instruments 1394 is another important factor as it plays nice with all M-AUDIO and DIGI boxes.

I have also disabled anything I'm not using in the BIOS( onboard audio, unused raid sata).

Also the Samsung sata drives handle the io loads with ease and sata2 is pretty light on for cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:19 PM
Matt P Matt P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 725
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

jemd,

As much as I want to believe your results,
I think you may be running into a problem that puzzled us on the Quad thread last summer.
It was how one system that used M-powered was getting 460 Dverbs! While the rest got around 140.
The owner of the system final found the problem.

this is a Quote from 3JDamon post when he solved the problem.
Quote:


Time Dilation attributed to D-Verb
#1020622 - 07/05/06 12:13 PM

I've done new tests with everything re-installed from scratch, and I'm still getting that time dilation effect that allows for 400+ D-Verbs. Here's an interesting pair of screenshots:

32 audoio tracks + 1 empty aux, 73% CPU

32 audio tracks + 1 full aux, **51% CPU**

But there's time dilation even with just the 32 audio tracks full. It's when I start adding aux's that it really acts up.

I chose Waves Trueverb as an alternate plug, since it's been around a while and hopefully enough quad'ers have access to it for comparison, and it's only marginally more CPU-intensive than D-Verb so we can still get big enough counts to be precise. Much to my delight, I encountered no time dilation with Trueverb.

My TrueVerb count was 123 with a full assortment of plugs installed, so I'm betting I could do 125 trimmed, but I'll wait until other quad's are posted for comparison. (note: 1st plug of each track is mono/stereo, rest are stereo)

123 TrueVerb Screenshot (including clock I watched to make sure it wasn't cheating...)

Something I haven't specified about these tests is that even if you can't fill 32 tracks with plugs, there should still be 32 audio tracks recording, so once you've hit the CPU limit, you should then add the remaining empty audio tracks to task the rest of the system adequately.

So the question remains, what's up with D-Verb on my rig? Good thing I don't actually use it...



Also If you look at this
Quote:
The CORE 2 DUO Dverb results

BigBubbaj = 136 Dverbs at 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ABIT AW9d-MAX (975X)

RecordingGuy = 110 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6400 - ECS PX1 Extreme (P965)

Gonzo99 = 117 Dverbs 24 48 1024, 150 Dverbs when overclocked to 3 GHz on a E6400 - Asus P5B (P965)

Tjkili = 136 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Mcpram = 120 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Khatru = 121 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (975X)

jemd = 160 Dverbs 24 48-96 256 on a seriously Over Clocked E4300 - Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (P965)

Does it not seem strange that you are the only one that can record at 96k at 256 and get 200 Dverbs when everyone else is at 48k at 1024 to get around 120?
And your doing all this extra preformance with just 600MHZ overclock to an E6600?

Also since a MAC PRO with Dual Xeon 2.66GHZ (Woodcrests) only got 190 DVerbs.

Like I said I would love to believe this is the magic bullet but ......

I figure that your system clocked as you have it would get around 150 Dverbs at 24 48 1024.
Which is still quite awesome.

Matt
__________________
"To Record Music Is All That Really Matter's!"
"When Not Dealing with the Darkside!"
Yoda (HOBO MASTER)"I'm Back from the NORTH POLE!"

Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 02-20-2007, 02:35 AM
jemd jemd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

Looks like I'm seeing this dilation effect bigtime Mat.... so Ive done some more testing!



I dropped the extra returns and the cpu shot backup to 98% ( where it was when I was initially testing
@ around 150deverbs.. and.. DAE error 8( .. repeat about 10 times and..

ok so I get 108 Dverbs 24bit 96k 256 buffer! A big backdown 8( but inline with a 2x c2d macpro getting 190!

I switched to standard 24 bit 48k 1024 buffer and added 128 dverbs I then started adding them until the cpu meter kept creeping up.. Then I tried to record and had to back down a couple more! Anyway by the end of it i got

141 DVERBS 24bit 48k 1024 buffer
108 DVERBS 24bit 96k 256 buffer

Good call Matt.. if something is too good to be true.. it usually isn't

Sorry to anyone who got too excited.. I'm just happy I can run BFD, LIVE( via - rewire) and 3 guitar rigs @ 128 buffer 96k 24bit with loads of headroom - Awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:47 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

jemd

141 Dverbs from a single socket system with a 175.00 processor is still stunning. Thats right around the initial Quads and it still fabulous. I believe its still the Core 2 Duo record.

Your pushing the envelope bud.

We all benefit.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:59 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

Quote:
Quote:
The CORE 2 DUO Dverb results

BigBubbaj = 136 Dverbs at 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ABIT AW9d-MAX (975X)

RecordingGuy = 110 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6400 - ECS PX1 Extreme (P965)

Gonzo99 = 117 Dverbs 24 48 1024, 150 Dverbs when overclocked to 3 GHz on a E6400 - Asus P5B (P965)

Tjkili = 136 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Mcpram = 120 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Khatru = 121 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (975X)

jemd = 141 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a seriously Over Clocked E4300 - Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (P965)


List update, jemd is still in the lead. Any one with a E6600 care to try a over clock and see where it gets them?


__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 02-20-2007, 07:30 PM
gonzo99 gonzo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
The CORE 2 DUO Dverb results

BigBubbaj = 136 Dverbs at 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ABIT AW9d-MAX (975X)

RecordingGuy = 110 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6400 - ECS PX1 Extreme (P965)

Gonzo99 = 117 Dverbs 24 48 1024, 150 Dverbs when overclocked to 3 GHz on a E6400 - Asus P5B (P965)

Tjkili = 136 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Mcpram = 120 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Khatru = 121 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (975X)

jemd = 141 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a seriously Over Clocked E4300 - Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (P965)


List update, jemd is still in the lead. Any one with a E6600 care to try a over clock and see where it gets them?


150>141?
__________________
gonzo

HANSON'S RAZOR:
Never attribute to evil that which can be adequately explained by stupidity.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 02-21-2007, 07:23 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
The CORE 2 DUO Dverb results

BigBubbaj = 136 Dverbs at 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ABIT AW9d-MAX (975X)

RecordingGuy = 110 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6400 - ECS PX1 Extreme (P965)

Gonzo99 = 117 Dverbs 24 48 1024, 150 Dverbs when overclocked to 3 GHz on a E6400 - Asus P5B (P965)

Tjkili = 136 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Mcpram = 120 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5B (P965)

Khatru = 121 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a E6600 - ASUS P5W DH Deluxe (975X)

jemd = 141 Dverbs 24 48 1024 on a seriously Over Clocked E4300 - Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (P965)


List update, jemd is still in the lead. Any one with a E6600 care to try a over clock and see where it gets them?


150>141?
Ha! Asleep at the switch

My Bad! Sorry Gonzo99 When I first put the list together I was looking for the best platform/chipset combo at stock clock speeds, I completely forgot you were over clocked!

Whats your actual clock speed? and voltages compared to jemd?

We know the E6400's will ramp up the performance - what about the E6600's?
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 02-21-2007, 08:12 AM
gonzo99 gonzo99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 188
Default Re: Intel Core2Duo ... anyone got one working yet?

Quote:

Ha! Asleep at the switch

My Bad! Sorry Gonzo99 When I first put the list together I was looking for the best platform/chipset combo at stock clock speeds, I completely forgot you were over clocked!

Whats your actual clock speed? and voltages compared to jemd?

We know the E6400's will ramp up the performance - what about the E6600's?
Hehe! Heya sunburst79, I know the feeling only too well.

I would be interested to know what jemd gets unclocked. As you can see from my results I only got 117 Dverbs without OC-ing. Doesn't seem so good for my CPU (E6600 as noted in my original post). I wonder how much the MB has to do with this? Stock speed for the E6600 is 2.4GHz. With my MB (ASUS P5B) it doesn't seem so impressive a combo. However, ASUS are all about overclocking

I have done a totally stable FSB OC (with no voltage increase from stock voltage, no changes to RAM timings) to take it to 3.0GHz. OC was tested with 2 instances of prime95 set to run on one core each. Didn't crack a sweat once I sorted out a decent CPU cooler. In fact heat was the only issue - no errors. Unlike the old P4's the stock cooling for the new CPU's seems to be pretty crap. I'm sure I could OC this chip further, but I would rather have a modest OC which requires little stuffing around. And my CPU will last a lot longer this way.

150 Dverbs at less than half the price of a Quadzilla is good enuff for me
__________________
gonzo

HANSON'S RAZOR:
Never attribute to evil that which can be adequately explained by stupidity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core2duo? buschfsu Pro Tools 11 12 04-20-2013 11:28 PM
Working between G5 Mac PPC & Mac Intel csel Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 02-12-2009 01:50 PM
Plugins not working on PT 7.1.1 intel mac fus007 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-10-2007 11:16 AM
OMF Not working Intel... Matt82au 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-19-2006 04:20 PM
2 PROCESSORS WORKING (INTEL)????? Bugly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 06-29-2006 12:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com