Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2003, 08:55 PM
I hate avril I hate avril is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 33
Default how to get more mic pres on 001?

Would it be possible to get 8 mic pres on at the same time with the 001? Say I wanted to record drums using 8 tracks at once? Or is it pretty much stuck with the 2 mic pres already on the 001?
__________________
Sex is like pizza...even if it's not that good..it's still pretty good
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:03 PM
MagicCamera MagicCamera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 83
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

hmmm, only route I can think of would be to use a mixer with Mic Pre inserts and run it to the 001 that way.

I use a mixer for my PT6 system. It just seemed logical.
__________________
FREE! Just send $10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:06 PM
I hate avril I hate avril is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 33
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

If the mixer with mic pres is the best way to go, what kind of mixers with desent mic pres are there?
__________________
Sex is like pizza...even if it's not that good..it's still pretty good
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:28 PM
defroststar defroststar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 8
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

Or you could buy 4 mic preamps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:30 PM
Spyder Spyder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 27
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

If you have about a grand to spend, focusrite makes a model in their platinum series called the Octopre. It has 8 channels of class A pres and built in compressor/limiter, Phantom power, line switch pad. Great DAW front end. 1 single rack space. I have it for my 001 and have no complaints.
__________________
Ben Savage
HG Productions
www.hg-productions.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:36 PM
I hate avril I hate avril is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 33
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

How would you go about plugging an 8 channel mic pre into the 001? And would each mic record on its own seperate track?
__________________
Sex is like pizza...even if it's not that good..it's still pretty good
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:51 PM
MagicCamera MagicCamera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 83
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

if the Mic Pre has 8 i/o then it would be XLR to pre amp and 1/4" to 001's available inputs.

You'd most likely need a device like the Focusrite or a 16 channel mixer like a Mackie or similar.

Depends on your budget. If it is for a one time use only you could rent one from a Music Equipment Renter type company.
__________________
FREE! Just send $10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:56 PM
MagicCamera MagicCamera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 83
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

fyi

Microphoning drum kits is no small feat, I would consult with someone that knows how to do it effectively and the best type of mics to use, to gain the clarity of each part of the drum kit with minimal bleed from other parts of drum kit.
__________________
FREE! Just send $10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:58 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

You have several choices.
1. Analog mic pre's. You can plug up to 6 mic pres into the 3-8 inputs of the 001. These inputs are line in +4db, and will accept line outs of most any preamp, either stand alone, or from a console with direct outs. Avalon, HHB, DBX are just a few of the manufacturers. Serach the internet and this forum for more info.

Combine this with the 2 mic pres on inupts 1/2 and you have 8 mic inputs.

2. A Lightpipe 8 channel mic pre. This uses not only mic preamps but A-D converters as well, bypassing the 001's converters, which it is known are not so great. Focusrite, Presonus and others make such units for around $1200. (Again search this forum and the internet for more info.) They connect to the lightpipe connections of the 001.(see the manual for more info,)

You can combine these lightpipe units with Solution#1 for 16 inputs.

3. You can also add two more mic pres and A-D converters using the SPDIF(again see manual for more info) connections of the 001. THis now brings your total mic peamps to 18, the max for the 001.

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2003, 09:58 PM
I hate avril I hate avril is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali
Posts: 33
Default Re: how to get more mic pres on 001?

so since the 001 seems to only have 2 mic pres and 2 Ins, 4 mics are the maximum usage at once right?
__________________
Sex is like pizza...even if it's not that good..it's still pretty good
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni Pres/Converters vs. Other Pres/Converters Infiltrator Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 01-15-2012 10:28 PM
What's better... BLA 002R Mod Pres or DigiMax FS Pres via Lightpipe? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-04-2010 07:39 PM
Digi max fs pres vs. 003 pres. KevinAllen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 01-26-2010 05:18 PM
budget tube pres vs. 002R's pres davetron5000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-12-2003 05:04 AM
001 pres or Mackie pres??? QuikDraw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-04-2002 12:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com