Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-06-2020, 01:29 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 314
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Thanks Jeff! And thanks uptheoctave. Itís all coming together in my head now!

Iím a Dante newbie Iím afraid. Great that DVS and a Dante PCIe card can live happily to together. But Iím now wondering if I need both DVS for Mac audio and a Dante PCIe card for Logic? Can I share the PCIe card with both Mac system audio and Logic simultaneously... Is this dependent on the Core Audio driver for the PCIe card?

Iím guessing running DVS with 30 to 40 channels at 4ms is quite CPU intensive?

@uptheoctave
Your screen grab of Dadman is interesting. Iím planning wiring today and wondering if I actually need my hardware patchbay! With the amount and flexibility of I/O on the MTRX Studio and routing flexibility of Dadman Iím thinking I can probably do it all in the box.
I have kept my patchbays- I have 4x96 way Audio Accessories patcbays and they are mostly full.
I would rather ditch them if I could but I can't.

Here is why.
Currently if I want to chain 3 analogue devices (say a Pre to Distressor to one side of a Massive Passive) I simply connect them with patch cables and connect them to an MTRX input.

Preamp -> Distressor -> Massive Passive -> MTRX AD

If I want to do it with Dadman/Dante then I will have multiple ADA stages:

Preamp -> Analogue to Digital-> Digital to Analogue
Distressor -> Analogue to Digital-> Digital to Analogue
Massive Passive -> MTRX AD

That is four more conversions than using the patchbay.

I don't like patchbays- they are mostly a pain in the ass but they are handy.
I am considering a CB Electronics X-Patch 64 but I am not sure it has enough channels for me.
__________________
James Richmond
http://www.uptheoctave.com
Audio Production Reviews and Technique

Latest article for Pro Tools Expert:
"DAD Monitor Operating Module review"

https://bit.ly/30HGqPv
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-06-2020, 11:48 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Yes indeed. It looks like this. Sources at the top include a few DVS feeds in my example.


And the dock augments the touch controls on the iPad with a physical dedicated Control Room encoder with push mute, etc.


Jeff
Thanks again Jeff. That looks reassuringly similar to the S6 monitor page!
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-06-2020, 11:57 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uptheoctave View Post
I have kept my patchbays- I have 4x96 way Audio Accessories patcbays and they are mostly full.
I would rather ditch them if I could but I can't.

Here is why.
Currently if I want to chain 3 analogue devices (say a Pre to Distressor to one side of a Massive Passive) I simply connect them with patch cables and connect them to an MTRX input.

Preamp -> Distressor -> Massive Passive -> MTRX AD

If I want to do it with Dadman/Dante then I will have multiple ADA stages:

Preamp -> Analogue to Digital-> Digital to Analogue
Distressor -> Analogue to Digital-> Digital to Analogue
Massive Passive -> MTRX AD

That is four more conversions than using the patchbay.

I don't like patchbays- they are mostly a pain in the ass but they are handy.
I am considering a CB Electronics X-Patch 64 but I am not sure it has enough channels for me.
That makes sense and Iíd do the same if I still had analogue outboard. Iím completely back in the box now apart hardware synths and drum machines and those I can easily re-patch at the mic pre inputs.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-06-2020, 11:59 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
Ditch the patchbays!

You can make anything analog tap into the Dante network.


https://www.amazon.com/Audinate-Dant...9413421&sr=8-3
Yes it definitely looks like I can ditch the patchbays.

I see Audinate have a whole range of those little interfaces. Handy.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-07-2020, 12:17 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Sorry guys another question.

I’m wondering if I need a new Ethernet switch? I currently have a basic unmanaged switch. One of these:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-Eth...2s9dHJ1ZQ&th=1

I see Focusrite recommend a managed switch for Dante and I will be using the following devices

1. MTRX Studio
2. Focusrite PCIe Dante card (almost certainly!)
3. DVS via a TB to Ethernet adapter
4. Avid S3
5. Avid Dock
6. iPad for Avid Control (hardwired with Lightning to Ethernet adapter.)
7. Wired internet connection.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-07-2020, 01:01 AM
ntp-jl's Avatar
ntp-jl ntp-jl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 44
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Sorry guys another question.

Iím wondering if I need a new Ethernet switch? I currently have a basic unmanaged switch. One of these:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-Eth...2s9dHJ1ZQ&th=1

I see Focusrite recommend a managed switch for Dante and I will be using the following devices

1. MTRX Studio
2. Focusrite PCIe Dante card (almost certainly!)
3. DVS via a TB to Ethernet adapter
4. Avid S3
5. Avid Dock
6. iPad for Avid Control (hardwired with Lightning to Ethernet adapter.)
7. Wired internet connection.
The GS308 uses EEE (Energy Efficient Ethernet) which is a no-go for Dante, and since the switch is unmanaged you can not disable EEE.

So you should definitely go for another switch. Since you already use 7 out of the 8 available ports you might want to consider getting a bigger switch (e.g. 16 ports), particularly if you plan to add some Dante devices later on.

In your search for a new switch, you might also want to consider a switch with PoE (Power over Ethernet). PoE is required if you want to use the AVIO adapters, Dante headphone amps, etc. It is also useful if you want to add a DAD MOM remote control to your MTRX Studio ;-). Be aware that some PoE switches provide PoE on all ports whereas others only provide it on a limited number of ports.
__________________
Jan Lykke
Business Development Manager
DAD - Digital Audio Denmark
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-07-2020, 01:36 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 314
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Sorry guys another question.

I’m wondering if I need a new Ethernet switch? I currently have a basic unmanaged switch. One of these:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/NETGEAR-Eth...2s9dHJ1ZQ&th=1

I see Focusrite recommend a managed switch for Dante and I will be using the following devices

1. MTRX Studio
2. Focusrite PCIe Dante card (almost certainly!)
3. DVS via a TB to Ethernet adapter
4. Avid S3
5. Avid Dock
6. iPad for Avid Control (hardwired with Lightning to Ethernet adapter.)
7. Wired internet connection.
Hi Dave,

Ideally you want something fanless if it is going into the control room.
Managed switches with POE usually have fans in order to keep the device cool.

One exception that I know about is the Cisco SG350-10P but I currently do not have one- I am planning on getting one soon as I now need more ports and POE.
Dante has a way of growing pretty quickly. :)
You will need a rack space above and below as it, unsurprisingly, runs quite hot.

Currently I have a pair of D-Link DGS-1500-28P's which are excellent.

My advice is to get a switch with two to three times the number of ports you currently require.
If you want to run redundancy then you either need two switches or you need to create a VLAN for the secondary network.

On point 6.
Why not put a wifi capable device in the studio (I use an Apple AirPort Extreme) in order to give yourself the ability to use the iPad wirelessly?
I find myself frequently taking the iPad off the dock to go into the live rooms.
__________________
James Richmond
http://www.uptheoctave.com
Audio Production Reviews and Technique

Latest article for Pro Tools Expert:
"DAD Monitor Operating Module review"

https://bit.ly/30HGqPv

Last edited by uptheoctave; 09-07-2020 at 01:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-07-2020, 02:27 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntp-jl View Post
The GS308 uses EEE (Energy Efficient Ethernet) which is a no-go for Dante, and since the switch is unmanaged you can not disable EEE.

So you should definitely go for another switch. Since you already use 7 out of the 8 available ports you might want to consider getting a bigger switch (e.g. 16 ports), particularly if you plan to add some Dante devices later on.

In your search for a new switch, you might also want to consider a switch with PoE (Power over Ethernet). PoE is required if you want to use the AVIO adapters, Dante headphone amps, etc. It is also useful if you want to add a DAD MOM remote control to your MTRX Studio ;-). Be aware that some PoE switches provide PoE on all ports whereas others only provide it on a limited number of ports.
Thanks for the info and advice Jan. Very useful.
I clearly need a new switch!! 😉
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-07-2020, 02:40 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uptheoctave View Post
Hi Dave,

Ideally you want something fanless if it is going into the control room.
Managed switches with POE usually have fans in order to keep the device cool.

One exception that I know about is the Cisco SG350-10P but I currently do not have one- I am planning on getting one soon as I now need more ports and POE.
Dante has a way of growing pretty quickly. :)
You will need a rack space above and below as it, unsurprisingly, runs quite hot.

Currently I have a pair of D-Link DGS-1500-28P's which are excellent.

My advice is to get a switch with two to three times the number of ports you currently require.
If you want to run redundancy then you either need two switches or you need to create a VLAN for the secondary network.

On point 6.
Why not put a wifi capable device in the studio (I use an Apple AirPort Extreme) in order to give yourself the ability to use the iPad wirelessly?
I find myself frequently taking the iPad off the dock to go into the live rooms.
Thanks again James. Very helpful.

I clearly need a new switch and definitely want fanless. Interesting you mention the Cisco because thatís one Focusrite recommend here:
https://focusritepro.zendesk.com/hc/...se-for-Dante-]

Will defiantly at least double the number of ports!

Iím wondering about getting wireless set up in my room because itís a WiFi blackhole. I do have a spare Airport somewhere.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-07-2020, 02:53 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 314
Default Re: MTRX Studio Incoming. Some questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Thanks again James. Very helpful.

I clearly need a new switch and definitely want fanless. Interesting you mention the Cisco because thatís one Focusrite recommend here:
https://focusritepro.zendesk.com/hc/...se-for-Dante-]

Will defiantly at least double the number of ports!

Iím wondering about getting wireless set up in my room because itís a WiFi blackhole. I do have a spare Airport somewhere.
Airports are good because they do not have to create their own subnet.
My studio network topology is pretty simple.

I have an internet router in the main house and an ethernet cable to the studio that plugs into the Airport.
The main studio switch plugs into that and then the second switch (I am not using redundancy) is on the other side of the studio and connects to the main switch via a single ethernet cable.

The Airport picks up its IP address from the router but the switches are set to fixed IP addresses outside the DHCP range ( which is x.x.x.20-x.x.x.255).
The reason for this is I don't have to go hunting for their IP addresses to do switch configuration.
My main studio computer (Mac Pro) is also fixed IP, as is the NAS.

I've set up QoS on the switches and disabled EEE.
That is it really- took me no time at all to set up- a couple of hours at most.
__________________
James Richmond
http://www.uptheoctave.com
Audio Production Reviews and Technique

Latest article for Pro Tools Expert:
"DAD Monitor Operating Module review"

https://bit.ly/30HGqPv
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio questions theazone Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 08-19-2020 03:15 PM
MTRX Studio with HD I/O nedd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 08-17-2020 07:38 AM
MTRX Studio and MOM Awesomeness DonRWatters Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 2 07-19-2020 08:42 PM
MTRX Studio - No AES?! Ryan Young Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 02-23-2020 02:13 PM
MTRX Studio i/o Cheesehead Post - Surround - Video 6 01-31-2020 09:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com