Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2012, 09:00 AM
jrichview jrichview is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 37
Default Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Wow am I tired of reboots. I've literally spent most of my day yesterday and today as well as hours of the previous two evenings trying to get PT10 installed and working 100%.

I'm still missing plugins.

This page lists what plugins are supposedly bundled with PT10. I
don't see any of the AIR plugins. The only Verb plugin I can select is DVerb.

I'm about to go through the above page like a checklist and find every plugin that is missing.

Yes, I have installed the 10.0.1 update as well as the virtual instruments installer. I have installed all of the factory plugins listed on this page.

I usually hate writing installers but I'm considering asking Avid to hire me to rewrite their installations.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2012, 09:07 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,850
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Can't speak for PT10, but sometimes, earlier installers have mistakenly stuck some plugins into the DAE/Plugins(unused) folder. Dragging the files into the Plugins folder solved that(so its worth a look anyway).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2012, 09:18 AM
jrichview jrichview is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 37
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Can't speak for PT10, but sometimes, earlier installers have mistakenly stuck some plugins into the DAE/Plugins(unused) folder. Dragging the files into the Plugins folder solved that(so its worth a look anyway).
Thanks, good suggestion. Unfortunately, I tried that.

It generated an error saying I had more than one mixer (either stereo or surround) plugin. I found both a regular and a dithered plugin for stereo and for surround. I wasn't sure what to do, so as a guess I moved the dithered plugins back to unused and pro tools loads again.

Still missing a lot of plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2012, 11:07 AM
jrichview jrichview is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 37
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Looking for AIR plugins I find folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Digidesign\AIR which is next to, not under the Plugins folder. DLL files, not DPM or RSR files.

Still searching for info on how to get those enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2012, 11:26 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

There's 2 folders to look in unused plugins. Go to application support. There's an Avid and A Digidesign. I think the AIR are in the Digidesign one. Look in unused.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2012, 05:55 PM
jrichview jrichview is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 37
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Thanks for your reply.

The AVID unused plugins folder is empty.

There's something deeper wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2012, 06:22 AM
ruxandra ruxandra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 9
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Hi

I get the same except for finding the D-verb plug-in http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ighlight=click

In case I get any solution, I'll let you know. Please keep me posted as well if vice versa.

Best of luck,

Ruxandra.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2012, 06:38 AM
jrichview jrichview is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 37
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Tonight I will probably uninstall the heck out of everything (AGAIN), then delete all related folders and manually go through the registry deleting any Digidesign or AVID related entries, then try reinstall.

If THAT fails I'm going to drop back 5 and punt.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2012, 09:01 AM
ruxandra ruxandra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 9
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Hi,

I've managed to fix it. Check it out http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...96#post1908696

Best of Luck and Hope it works out for you as well!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2012, 10:24 AM
jrichview jrichview is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 37
Default Re: Days trying to install, but still Missing Plugins?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruxandra View Post
Hi,

I've managed to fix it. Check it out http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...96#post1908696

Best of Luck and Hope it works out for you as well!!
Sandra,
REALLY appreciate you sharing the info. So, you had to install Pro Tools before installing the driver for your hardware interface? If so that's strange because the instructions that came with the 11R said to install driver before installing anything else. And installing specifically in that order allowed your plug-ins to show up?

In my case I already had PT8 and Digi 003 Rack Plus, but the drivers disk had updated drivers for that as well. So, I installed both drivers before PT10.

I'll have to try this, tho probably won't have time til later this week.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Days of Night: Dark Days nominated for two sound awards Eric L Post - Surround - Video 2 01-21-2011 07:03 PM
Audio from past two days of recording missing... ideas? keevhren Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 09-15-2010 04:48 AM
DV Toolkit 2.0 install, missing plugins... Adman44 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-01-2010 02:29 PM
Help please. Post PT 8 Install all plugins from past sessions are missing! Buster1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-20-2008 04:29 PM
Plugins missing in drop down list, but in plugins folder ?? mixingmadness 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-12-2007 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com