Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:17 AM
bloodhelmet bloodhelmet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2
Default PT LE 7.3 on Windows XP will not open.

I know. My software is prehistoric but it's what I've got and I can't afford better right now. Also, I searched for this and couldn't find a similar topic so hopefully I'm not wasting time/space.


I was running PT LE 7.3 on Windows XP (service pack 2) and all was working.
I upgraded Internet Explorer (from some pre-tab version to IE 8).
I am aware of no other changes to my computer.
Now, when I open PT (by icon, start menu, etc.), the mouse turns to the hour glass for a few seconds before returning to its normal state.
Nothing further happens.
Task Manager shows ProTools.exe running in Processes but not Applications and waiting an extended amount of time does not result in ProTools opening.
I have attempted to re-install ProTools, but when the program moves to the "Installing" progress-bar, it gets 90% complete and then does not progress (no error message, no system freeze, the progress bar doesn't close--it just sits indefinitely).
I have tried updating Windows (service pack 3 now) and running anti-virus software. I have also tried opening, restarting, reinstalling, and virus checking in a variety of different orders to no avail.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:51 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: PT LE 7.3 on Windows XP will not open.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodhelmet View Post
I was running PT LE 7.3 on Windows XP (service pack 2) and all was working.
You really should be running SP3.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodhelmet View Post
I upgraded Internet Explorer (from some pre-tab version to IE 8).
That's all you need to cause problems. This is a well known issue.

Read this Knowledge Base article.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2010, 12:19 PM
bloodhelmet bloodhelmet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT LE 7.3 on Windows XP will not open.

Thanks! Got it running now!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Windows PT session on Mac? sb_stefan Pro Tools 10 2 04-05-2013 01:31 PM
Will PT sessions from Windows open on a Mac? Table Syrup Records Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 12-07-2007 10:56 PM
windows won't let me open my PT sessions!!! Jmschule 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-06-2004 04:15 PM
Not being able to open up any 'Help' windows intel515 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-25-2004 12:01 PM
multiple windows open jamie General Discussion 2 11-07-1999 04:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com