Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2010, 10:27 AM
johnnmk johnnmk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Default Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Hi, just wondering if Avid has updated the standalone core audio driver / manager along with the PT 9 release? I'd be excited to work on some standalone Reason today!!

Thanks in advance for any information (or even a straight up NO UPDATE YET would be appreciated, Avid Admin or community elders)!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2010, 03:04 AM
Eiko Eiko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

I'd be delighted to see a fixed CA-manager/driver that doesn't lose connection to the hardware every now and then!
I bought a 003R a while ago, and like many others, I do get this problem frequently.
So basically I can't recommend Digi to anybody at all, since the system isn't stable.
Had I known that PT9 will come out, I would have kept my money for another audio interface. There are other good ones out there...

A system this expensive should work right out of the box, no trashing of prefs, no rebooting, no switching on and off etc.

Ah well, it's widely known, so let me end my rant right here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2010, 11:26 AM
johnnmk johnnmk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Has AVID updated the standalone driver along with the release of PT9? Since I don't use Pro Tools, but I do use the Digidesign interface, I'd like to update to a new driver that allows me to use standalone Logic 9 and Reason. Any word on when I can do this? (Well, Logic works fine with the old driver, but I can't get Reason to work on its own!)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2010, 07:10 AM
johnnmk johnnmk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Any updates on the standalone core audio manager/driver?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2010, 10:19 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

All the driver installers for Pro Tools 9 work as 'stand alone':

http://www.avid.com/drivers
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:31 PM
johnnmk johnnmk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Thanks for the reply. Will the updated driver allow my 002r communicate properly with "standalone" Reason and Logic 9?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2010, 02:25 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnmk View Post
Thanks for the reply. Will the updated driver allow my 002r communicate properly with "standalone" Reason and Logic 9?
Yes.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2010, 11:03 AM
Sunzate Sunzate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 345
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnmk View Post
Thanks for the reply. Will the updated driver allow my 002r communicate properly with "standalone" Reason and Logic 9?
More specifically, is the new core audio driver proven to be more reliable than the one included with PT8? Will those who are experiencing problems using 3rd party software with avid hardware find improvements with PT9 and associated core audio drivers?

thanks,
Adam
__________________
Adam White, composer.producer.engineer
www.studiocat.ca
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-2010, 02:23 AM
Eiko Eiko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
All the driver installers for Pro Tools 9 work as 'stand alone':
So in order to resolve this problem, I have to upgrade to PT9?
No way, Digi!!! I've spent good moey in 003R ad PT8 which doesn't work properly. I'd expect Digi to find a solution other than tell us to upgrade to PT9...
Had I kown PT9 is on the way, I would have bout a different interface! I have PT for compatibility reasons, using Logic most of the time.

What I want is a proper CA driver for PT8!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2011, 04:24 AM
Eiko Eiko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Germany
Posts: 115
Default Re: Standalone Core Audio Manager?

Hello Digi,
I would greatly appreciate an answer to my question: Do you really want me to upgrade to PT9 just to get a working CA driver?
That can't be your intention really.
PTLE8 doesn't work stable as it should, so please do give us a proper CA- Manager that doesn't require us to spend yet more money on a software, that we shouldn't need. I've bought a 003 together with PTLE8, so I expect it to work! Whats the point in spending lots of money for PT, if it works much worse than everything else?
One would assume that a dedicated hardware unit, that's built by the same people, who made the software, should work flawlessly, better than anything else.

I don't NEED ProTools, I bought it, because previously I had good experience with it, as well as for compatibility reasons.

If you really insist on me buying an upgrade, I will sell my PT rig instead and get something else! There are other good audio interfaces out there too, and Logic is quite a nice piece of software!

Another PT user gone...
At this point I simply cannot recommend Digi/Avid to anyone. If I get asked, what I'd suggest he'd get, I tell them to stay clear of Avid/Digi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Standalone Digi Core Audio Manager 8.0.3 Peter Roberts macOS 1 10-03-2011 12:30 PM
PT 8/Core Audio Manager audiobob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 06-26-2009 02:30 PM
Core Audio Manager noisepatrol Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-23-2009 01:02 PM
Is there a standalone core audio driver for new imported_tupelohoosier 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-13-2006 02:25 PM
Core Audio manager... HW is use. Seeee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-08-2005 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com