Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2009, 07:41 AM
jefflennan jefflennan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Importing/converting cakewalk files into PT Le8

I'm not sure how to convert/import my cakewalk song from my pc to my mac. i was able to import the cakewalk tracks(not mixed down) as "wavefiles" into PT8, but they are all out of time and scrambled. Does the file type need to be changed from wave to SD2, or do i have to do something with "Timestamp" in cakewalk or PT in order for them to be in time with the timeline?
I'm also trying to see how to use elastic stretch on this old cakewalk song and i'm not sure if i have to put all the tracks into PT with a stereo mix down, or import all the tracks individually and then stretch them.
Thanks to all who have been helping me, I'm very grateful!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2009, 12:13 PM
notrude55 notrude55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 109
Default Re: Importing/converting cakewalk files into PT Le8

consolidate the tracks in cakewalk then import the consolidated audiofiles to protools
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2009, 02:22 PM
jefflennan jefflennan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Re: Importing/converting cakewalk files into PT Le8

what do you mean by consolidate, do you mean mix down or bundle the files?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2009, 04:58 PM
Digitopian Digitopian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Longwood Florida
Posts: 194
Default Re: Importing/converting cakewalk files into PT Le8

highlight all the regions within a track, go to the edit menu and click consolidate, oh wait that's in protools, lol! basically he's saying to make each track one continuous take(region). Oh and Make all of these consolidated tracks start at the exact same point so that you wont have to line them up once they are imported. hope that helps!
__________________
Mac Pro Quad-core 2.6, 5 gig ocz ram,1Tb hd internal, OSX 10.5.7, 2 internal Audio HD,lacie 500 gig external fw 800 drive
Digi 003 rack, PT le 9.0.1, Mac Book Pro 2.4ghz I5, 4 gig ram, PT 9.0.2, Apogee duet
Waves gold, and ssl plugins /Reason4 /miroslav philharmonik /stylus rmx /Melodyne /T-racks3 deluxe / Strike /Massey compressor, DTM /Sound Toys /blah blah etc.
UA610 pre's / Chameleon Labs 7602mkII pre's / Chameleon labs 7802 stereo opto tube compressor/ Mackie hr824 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2009, 07:08 AM
jefflennan jefflennan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Re: Importing/converting cakewalk files into PT Le8

So it would be similar to Redering each track so there is no empty space or seperate regions, just one long continuous region, Right?
Problem is, i cannot find the function that would do this in Cakewalk but i'll keep lookin. Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2009, 08:09 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Importing/converting cakewalk files into PT Le8

Quote:
Originally Posted by jefflennan View Post
So it would be similar to Redering each track so there is no empty space or seperate regions, just one long continuous region, Right?
Problem is, i cannot find the function that would do this in Cakewalk but i'll keep lookin. Thanks again
Yes, that's the idea.. Can't help you with the Cakewalk function, but if you can't get that working, then recording the output of 1 track to a new track should have the same effect... Much more of a PITA that way...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:04 PM
jefflennan jefflennan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Re: Installing PT8 upgrade "folder"

I'm trying to install PT8 for windows onto my pc. I downloaded the windows version PT8 upgrade from digidesign and now have the folder in my c drive. Problem is, i cannot install it! If i open the folder, it does not have any kind of install program. It has to be all there, because in properties it says it's about 3 gigs. I also tried installing PT8 with PT7.4 installed and unistalled and it still did not work. I was told after not to have PT7.4 installed or it could cause major errors. i don't seem to have any problems as a result, but i just want to installl PT8. Any help would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:15 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Installing PT8 upgrade "folder"

Quote:
Originally Posted by jefflennan View Post
I'm trying to install PT8 for windows onto my pc. I downloaded the windows version PT8 upgrade from digidesign and now have the folder in my c drive. Problem is, i cannot install it! If i open the folder, it does not have any kind of install program. It has to be all there, because in properties it says it's about 3 gigs. I also tried installing PT8 with PT7.4 installed and unistalled and it still did not work. I was told after not to have PT7.4 installed or it could cause major errors. i don't seem to have any problems as a result, but i just want to installl PT8. Any help would be great!
You should probably post a new thread in the PTLE for windoze forum..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing a cakewalk file into PT7.4?? aus scott 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-22-2009 06:10 PM
Importing Cakewalk Bundles to LE davetron5000 Tips & Tricks 2 10-12-2003 10:36 AM
Can PTF import PC Cakewalk Midi files ? Nicholas Turner Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 04-17-2003 01:44 AM
Importing OMF from Cakewalk Sonar gleeb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-02-2003 11:08 AM
Need help on converting midi files from Cakewalk mfym 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-30-2000 12:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com