Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2007, 10:11 PM
SofaKing SofaKing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 3
Default Chopped waveforms

I just finished tracking a four-piece band and ran into a problem I could use some help with.

On one of the overhead drum tracks, most of the upper half of the waveform is suppressed. It has too much distortion to be useful as-is. All of the other drum tracks are ok. When I look at the drum overhead waveforms, here's what I see: chopped wave

It doesn't look clipped to me. The above-the-line part of the sound waves just aren’t reaching anything close to full amplitude. For these two tracks I used the same mics, the same cables, and the same preamps.

OK, I should have caught this problem upfront. I'll learn from that. But I'm not absolutely certain there was a problem capturing the inbound signal for this track in the first place. Is there any hope for this track or am I hosed? Any ideas on what could have caused this?

I was using an 002R connected to an iBook G4 (10.4.9 and PTLE 7.1) and a La Cie external hard drive. I've done all of the General Troubleshooting stuff except reinstall. The drummer has the mike and cable so I can't check that easily.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2007, 11:15 AM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: Chopped waveforms

Wow, wierd. First, does the track actually sound BAD? You mentioned distortion... are you inferring this from its appearance or can you actually hear the distortion. If you can hear ugliness, how does it sound? Clicky? Dirty? Fuzzy? Whiny?

I ask because it's conceivable that PT has mis-drawn the waveform, and there's nothing wrong sonically.
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2007, 03:22 PM
SofaKing SofaKing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Chopped waveforms

Yes, the track sounds bad. It's more of a fuzzy distortion. As if the signal was too hot for the preamp or the converters, though I'm pretty certain there wasn't any clipping on input.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2007, 06:48 PM
Repo Repo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: FBI Survalence van
Posts: 44
Default Re: Chopped waveforms

Its not chopped you have a DC offset http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DC_offset. Best advise is rerecord the track or somhow figure out ho your going to get a stereo feel out of the other overhead. i.e EQ differently or something. Thank sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2007, 11:42 PM
SofaKing SofaKing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Chopped waveforms

Thanks, Repo. There's another good article on the subject at Harmony Central. It suggests that that the DC offset may result from an inaccurate A/D converter. But I can't replicate the problem on my system.

The DC offset plug-in doesn't help, nor does a hi-pass filter. Re-tracking isn't an option so I'll have to deal with what I've got. If anyone knows of anything I can do to prevent this from happening down the road, I'm all ears. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buss window is getting chopped off. broken81 Windows 5 11-03-2011 03:44 AM
edit the entire file after it's been chopped will the moor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-19-2005 12:11 PM
chopped and screwed dat Tips & Tricks 3 07-02-2005 03:18 AM
Playing chopped loops thru a MIDI keyboard - Help! alkaline 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-19-2004 04:24 PM
Chopped audio playback UTS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-08-2002 06:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com