Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2002, 02:54 PM
bounce88 bounce88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 66
Default Removing Vocals

There's this dude who's got a stereo L and R Master of a hip hop song and he wants me to make him a radio edit by removing certain naughty words. Does anyone know how to do this when all you have is a stereo master and you don't want to hurt the rest of the mix?

Thanks,

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2002, 03:19 PM
Mr T Mr T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: Removing Vocals

Take a 1 KHz signal and use it to hide all of those naughty words!! MTV uses this with great success...
If all you have is a stereo mix, forget it and just tell the dude to watch his language next time...
The only way to do this would be to locate instrumental sections that are exactly the same as the sections with naughty words and replace them. Considering the fact that most rappers tend to speak unceasingly from the very beginning to the very end of their songs, this shouldn't work.
__________________
Some music?... http://tmweb.free.fr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2002, 03:24 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,330
Default Re: Removing Vocals

Best thing I can think of right now:
Try to find regions of beat without vocals and paste them in over the naughty bits. Shouldnt be too difficult with rap music, if the guy doesnt rap continously from beginning to end, that is.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2002, 03:24 PM
SoundWrangler SoundWrangler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 373
Default Re: Removing Vocals

Or do what some people do, select the naughty word, apply AudioSuite menu's Reverse function. If only occasional word (& not 2 or 3 very 8 bars) this may not be too annoying...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2002, 03:29 PM
Mr T Mr T is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: Removing Vocals

Wow Ben, seems like we were writing at the very same moment... but I came first ;-)
__________________
Some music?... http://tmweb.free.fr
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2002, 04:44 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,330
Default Re: Removing Vocals

Yup!
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2002, 04:55 PM
bounce88 bounce88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 66
Default Re: Removing Vocals

Thanks for all th input guys. I tried the reverse thing and he didn't like it. I keep telling him if he'd just get the orignal Pro Tools 5.0 session he did from the other studio it would be no problem. And yes, raps all the time. In fact, I don't think he stops rapping until 4 minutes after the beat cuts out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2002, 08:14 PM
ajazzie ajazzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 739
Default Re: Removing Vocals

Here is a possible fix if the mix isnt stereo, I remember a mob on the net called Analog X, they developed a plug \stand alone thing called a vocal remover. I am not ******** you, I remember hearing about it. How good it is I dont know but I even think I downloaded it for curiosity, yet never used it. Its probably ordinary to say the least but who knows?
Let me know if you find or cant find it and I will have a search through my digital crap.
AJ
__________________
A Gentleman is one who can play the bagpipes, yet chooses not to.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-10-2002, 11:03 PM
Munxcub Munxcub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 481
Default Re: Removing Vocals

i've tried that and it doesnt work. i wouldnt waste your time unless you're really that desperate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing vocals AussieAxeman Tips & Tricks 7 11-17-2013 05:27 PM
removing vocals of a track passionvocals94 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 12-31-2011 12:33 AM
Removing vocals karlc Tips & Tricks 5 12-09-2007 12:18 PM
Removing vocals mixerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-07-2005 10:49 AM
removing vocals user25 Post - Surround - Video 4 09-23-2002 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com