Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2008, 04:48 PM
focusonsound focusonsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 52
Default No waveform during recording audio

Hello everybody,

since a few days, my Pro Tools LE 7.4cs3 shows no waveform during recording audio anymore. After recording, the waveforms are shown but not during recording. I'm not in QuickPunch, Loop or Destructive record mode!!! I've tried it with a new session and also with older ones but the problem still appears...

I hope someone can help me...

Greets from Germany,

Daniel
__________________
www.focusonsound.de
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2008, 09:01 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,851
Default Re: No waveform during recording audio

I don't think this is a glitch or a problem. It may be slow graphics but I did not notice any change between my older single core system with 64MB video and my new dual core with 256MB video card. I have never felt the need to instantly see the waveform. If I am watching the screen I am not listening so I tend to ignore the screen other than seeing the tracks turn pink so I know they are recording. Just my 2 cents after 3 years of protools.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2008, 09:30 AM
bradwarren bradwarren is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hamilton, MT USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: No waveform during recording audio

I have noticed this same issue recently. It was working fine and then for no reason I can think of , it just ceased drawing the waveforms during record- they do show afterwards during playback though. I'm just wondering what happened? I don't think I did anything to cause this, it just quit drawing them. I use a MacBook 2.2 core duo, 1gb ram PT 7.4.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:30 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: No waveform during recording audio

The waveform draws during record are one of the last things to get updated. The only reason why they wouldn't show is that you do not have enough CPU resources left to draw them.

Did anything change on your system between when they were working and now, especially something that may take up CPU cycles? Did you disable all background processes? Are you at a higher track count than usual or using a different drive?

You might try trashing prefs and see if that helps, otherwise optimizing CPU usage is probably the only thing that will bring them back.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not getting waveform when recording crizdee macOS 5 10-28-2013 06:56 PM
Waveform is showing but im not recording audio yoyome 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-08-2011 08:14 PM
recording audio waveform is delayed in graphic edit view zoing123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-18-2008 08:15 AM
Can't see waveform during recording! Joemamma Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 05-21-2007 02:57 PM
audio-waveform view during recording sonuslab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-20-2006 06:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com