Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2017, 05:31 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 111
Default Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

So I got kind of thrown into this at the studio I am working out of.

Owner upgraded computer to a new Mac Pro (trashcan) and bought PT12 HD along with the PT Native HD Thunderbolt unit

His prior setup was with PT 8 HD, 3 HD pcie cards, 1 SYNC clock, and 3 192 A/D-D/A converters (old blue and silver)

What I am trying to do is hook up the old converters and SYNC clock to this thunderbolt. The old 192's use the bigger DigiLink connector and the HD Native Thunderbolt uses the mini DigiLink connector. He purchased a female DigiLink to male mini DigiLink cable as well.

I installed PT12 HD (works fine) but the HD Native Thunderbolt isnt even getting a light on the LED indicator. Stuff I've read says its supposed to be red, green, or purple depending on what its indicating but I cannot get a light to come on at all.

How I have it hooked up is the HD Native Thunderbolt is connected to the Mac via the provided thunderbolt cable, two of the 192's are connected to each other through the "expansion" port and the primary is going to the adapter (female DigiLink to male mini DigiLink) and then to the HD Native Thunderbolt and the third converter is going into the 2nd port on the HD Native Thunderbolt with the same adapter. The SYNC unit is connected to the Native HD Thunderbolt through the 5 pin cable that was being used prior (previously connected to the HD pcie card). And the SYNC unit is also looped to all 3 192's.

Inside PT12 HD I have no option for additional playback devices either only the internal aggregate one.

I would appreciate any help on this as I am new to HD setups. All my experience prior is with non HD setups and I'm not convinced these older 192's or SYNC unit will work with this new setup. But I would love it if it could be.

If anyone needs pictures or further explanation please let me know
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2017, 05:55 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,600
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

some info: hope some of this helps and maybe new to look at ..

1) DigiLink Mini Ports
HD Native Thunderbolt includes two DigiLink Mini ports for connecting to Avid HD audio inter- faces. Each port provides up to 32 channels of audio input and output.

2) HD Native Thunderbolt supports up to 4 Avid HD audio interfaces for up to 64 simultaneous chan- nels of audio input and output.

3) page 12 here shows the signal flow of the Digilink and Loop Sync cables

http://akmedia.digidesign.com/suppor...uide_77570.pdf
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2017, 06:11 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

What playback engine do you have selected? What are all the options showing in the playback engine pull down?

In Pro Tools HD 12.6 or later you need a DigiLink license asset on a connected iLok for DigiLink interfaces to work. Is that on an attached iLok?

If you suspect an interface box is not working then unplug as many other interface boxes and the sync box and then with the simplest possible hardware setup run the DigiTest utility... what does that report? Always try reseating and swapping DigiLink cables.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2017, 02:55 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 111
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
What playback engine do you have selected? What are all the options showing in the playback engine pull down?

In Pro Tools HD 12.6 or later you need a DigiLink license asset on a connected iLok for DigiLink interfaces to work. Is that on an attached iLok?

If you suspect an interface box is not working then unplug as many other interface boxes and the sync box and then with the simplest possible hardware setup run the DigiTest utility... what does that report? Always try reseating and swapping DigiLink cables.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hey thanks for the reply. So I went home that day after not figuring it out came back the next day and had done NOTHING different and it all works lol

However I do have an issue now where my SYNC I/O is not showing up as a word clock option. I have all of the cables hooked up correctly but the only options it shows are my two 192's....

will attach picture showing options
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	53627617168__1E39827B-FAF3-401C-BB31-A494A03F9A74-2.JPG
Views:	0
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	9665  
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2017, 04:09 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 111
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

In addition I ran the DigiTest for SYNC HD and it fails every time saying that it cannot find the device in the HD Native Thunderbolt..
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2017, 04:36 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,600
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvly5t View Post
In addition I ran the DigiTest for SYNC HD and it fails every time saying that it cannot find the device in the HD Native Thunderbolt..
power up sequence maybe ???
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2017, 06:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

What external source are you needing to clock from that you need a Synch HD box? If you don't need it ignore it.

Is the Sync HD known to work anywhere?

Is the Sync HD connected to the HDN Thunderbolt box? Try a different sycn connect cable. Connected correctly in loop order (as first and last)? is it configured as the Clock Source?

Start by Testing with one DigiLink interface and the Sync HD.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2017, 07:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,119
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

Indeed^^^ If you don't NEED the Sync IO, just remove it. I'm with Darryl on starting simple and for me, that would be a single 192, directly to a MiniDigilink on the HDT box. Once that setup is configured and working, add a second 192(off the Expansion port of the first 192). With Loop Sync cables connecting the 2 IO boxes, get that hardware all working before incorporating the 3rd 192. BTW, if the 192 boxes are all of the same "standard" configuration(8 analog IO + 8 Digital IO), you have some options, depending on how many IO you need, and what you have for preamps. What I'm getting at is; if you only have 16 or 24 preamps, you could get by with only 1 or 2 192's in the setup(you could take the analog cards out of the 3rd unit and expand the other 2)
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2018, 08:48 PM
lvly5t lvly5t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: austin
Posts: 111
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

Hey guys thank you so much for the replies.

Yes the SYNC works. The old setup used all this same hardware excluding the HD Native TB. It was an old hackantosh with the 192's and the sync but going into hdx cards. We upgraded to a new trashcan mac and the cards were no longer an option which is why we got the HD N TB unit to connect the 192's to. And the old setup doesnt have any issues. So I dont think its the bnc cables or the digi connector that the SYNC uses (cant remember the name) are compromised.

I dont know that I NEED the clock but I have encountered multiple performance issues that I am unsure the cause of. Signal flow wise everything works now (excluding the SYNC) but I get CPU overload errors that I am unsure the root cause of.

In theory this new Mac out-performs the older one in every way. 8x the amount of RAM, new and better processor, nvme ssd, and using PT12HD being a 64bit option being able to utilize the RAM. The unstability reminds me of when I was using PT on my old laptop and it could barely even handle PT.

If I work currently at any playback higher than 1024 I get CPU overloads and PT is very laggy visually with moderate to large sessions at any playback speed. Some of this may be the initial optimization is off but I am also experiencing these stability issues using the same hardware with FL12 so I think its a combo of hardware and software that needs to be optimized.

I can link full specs if needed but its a brand new trashcan Mac Pro with 32GB Ram with a 500GB Nvme SSD. I wouldnt think I should be getting these issues even without an external clock.
__________________
All system info is in my profile
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-27-2018, 02:39 PM
TbagWhitey TbagWhitey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Need Help with PT 12 and HD Native Thunderbolt

I'm just wondering what ever came of this. I have recently been wrestling with getting an HDX system online. We are changing it up and deciding to go HD Native instead of the HDX.

Are you sure that you were using an HD Sync? and not the Sync I/O? You mentioned it was PT8 with all the old blue and silver 192 hardware. So that would have been a Sync I/O right? Not an HD Sync.

I'm just hoping to get clarification because I'm about to buy an HD Native system and I know that the old blue Sync I/O won't work with PT12.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT My HD Native Thunderbolt Box for your HD Native PCIe card whittybeats Buy & Sell 3 01-06-2018 01:52 PM
Thunderbolt via HD Native box vs. Strictly Thunderbolt TheGrobinson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 01-29-2017 12:40 PM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 11:26 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Anybody switched to a Macbook Pro Thunderbolt Native from Mac Pro Native? petesteen Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 11-17-2012 04:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com