Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2006, 07:31 AM
Art B Incredible Art B Incredible is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default Recording Noise

I have an MBox 2 and an Intel Mac mini. I couple of days ago I my protools began to make a really high pitched noise, it almost sounds like computer noise (i.e. the noise a PC makes when your not playing anything and you just turn the volume way up). Sometimes is happens when I open ProTools, but most of the time it happens when I record enable a track. I thought that the noise may just be a fluke but it also gets onto whatever you record. Now here's the kicker, when I go to change the buffer size the noise stops, but as soon as I hit ok the noise starts right back up again so I'm thinking its a software issue. I've search a thread before with this same problem and I'll tell you what I tried to do to troubleshoot.

1. I use the exact USB cable the MBox 2 came with

2. I turned off the screen saver AND sleep function

3. I have the most recent version of protools (meaning I downloaded the new joints off digidesign)

You could chalk it up to being a problem with the new intels, but I had the exact same problem with a mac mini that I had before but somehow or another I got rid of it, I just can't remember what I did.

SOMEBODY HELP, this is really cramping my style

Art
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2006, 08:27 AM
MrProducer MrProducer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: Recording Noise

Hi there.

Strange but I´m happy to read you´re post. You´re not alone suffering from that B2 note.
However, I use Logic and MBox2 instead of Protools and MBox2.
I personally don´t think it has anything to do with settings and software. Tried the troubleshooting as well but without success.
I can´t hear the noise through headphones plugged into MBox2 which means it probably has something to do with the
power (electricity) and those cables/connections. Still trying to figure it out. Will let you know if I success.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:23 AM
Art B Incredible Art B Incredible is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Recording Noise

I think I got it out. Everything going in and coming out of the the M Box cable wise needs to be balance. All inputs and outputs. Lemme know if it worked for you guys because it worked for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Recording Noise Test on a new laptop.How do I reduce fan/system noise? PeterGreen Pro Tools 10 24 01-23-2013 06:38 AM
Sometimes noise while recording kolo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-20-2006 12:23 PM
Recording Noise n3xus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-13-2005 08:49 PM
Noise Recording Sam Yin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 12-26-2003 12:02 AM
Noise after recording! Ivann Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-19-2003 09:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com