Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2008, 01:03 PM
digartisan digartisan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 66
Default Pro Tools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

Ok so i first tried to upgrade from 7.4.2 LE, I launched protools 8 and it freezes at Initializing machine control.

Trashed Prefs using Protools Pref and Database Helper app
Launch again, same problem.
Removed all third party Plug-ins
rebooted
Launch again same problem.
Uninstalled Protools 8 completely, removed all third Party PLugins, Ran App Zapper over the Digidesign Folder to be sure.
Rebooted
RE-installed protools 8, Launched Protools 8 LE... hangs on Initializing machine control. Watching it spin for 30 min.

MaCBook Pro 2.53
4 GIG RAM
300 GIG 7200 RPM
MAC OS 10.5.5
MBOX2 MICRO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2008, 01:27 PM
digartisan digartisan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 66
Default Re: PRotools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

Model: MacBookPro5,1, BootROM MBP51.0073.B02, 2 processors, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.53 GHz, 4 GB
Graphics: kHW_NVidiaGeForce9600MGTItem, NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT, spdisplays_pcie_device, 512 MB
Graphics: kHW_NVidiaGeForce9400MItem, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M, sppci_pci_device, 256 MB
Memory Module: BANK 0/DIMM0, 2 GB, DDR3, 1067 MHz
Memory Module: BANK 0/DIMM1, 2 GB, DDR3, 1067 MHz
AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0x8D), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.38.9)
Bluetooth: Version 2.1.2f8, 2 service, 0 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
Network Service: AirPort, AirPort, en1
Serial ATA Device: ST9320421AS, 298.09 GB
Serial ATA Device: HL-DT-ST DVDRW GS21N
USB Device: hub_device, (null) mA
USB Device: Mbox 2, (null) mA
USB Device: Built-in iSight, (null) mA
USB Device: Keyboard Hub, (null) mA
USB Device: USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse, (null) mA
USB Device: Apple Keyboard, (null) mA
USB Device: BCM2045B2, (null) mA
USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller, (null) mA
USB Device: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad, (null) mA
USB Device: IR Receiver, (null) mA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2008, 02:43 PM
digartisan digartisan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 66
Default Re: PRotools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

finally got it to work after i unplugged my Logitech USB hub, Protools then worked fine. Weird.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:18 AM
ghartman ghartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: PRotools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

I'm getting the same thing as well.

I recently purchased a MacBook Pro 15" laptop and it has Snow Leopard.

I also purchased an MBox2 Bundle a few months ago that had PTLE 7.4. I installed PTLE7.4 and then immediately did the upgrade to PTLE 8.0. When launching PTLE 8.0, I get a bunch of error code 5000's indicating that it can not load the default plug in's and I just "OK" past them. Finally, I get to the PT splashscreen indicating that it is trying to Initialize Machine Control. It's just locked up sitting there.

Any thoughts??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2009, 01:30 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,568
Default Re: PRotools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

Check your Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools folder for the Machine Control file, and delete it if it is there.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2009, 03:36 PM
ghartman ghartman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: PRotools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

I checked my Applications/Digidesigns/ProTools folder for the existence of a machine control file and I do not see one..

I also ran SpotLight to see if it found anything that started with machine and there was not anything associated with DigiDesign or ProTools..

I have a new MacBook Pro that came with Snow Leopard.. I first used my installation DVD for PTLE 7.4 and then immediately executed the upgrade file for PTLE 8.0, if this has anything to do with what I am experiencing..

Since I have Snow Leopard as my OS, do I need to start from scratch with a clean installation of LE 8.0.3pr?? Is that possible (I believe the updates are if you already have LE installed)??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2009, 11:22 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,568
Default Re: PRotools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

Quote:
I first used my installation DVD for PTLE 7.4
That could definitely cause problems. Uninstall Pro Tools completely, then install LE 8.0, then the 8.0.3pr update.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2009, 03:34 PM
lachyst lachyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

I'm having the same problem. Brand new Macbook Pro running Snow Leopard went through the PT 8.0 install without a problem, but is now not letting me go beyond "Setting Up Peripherals Initializing Machine Control". I'm in the process of downloading 8.0.3pr after uninstalling and reinstalling 8.0 with no success. Should I at least be able to start it prior to 8.0.3pr being downloaded??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2009, 04:33 PM
lachyst lachyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE not opening stuck on initializing machine control!!

Actually, cancel that. 8.0.3pr was what I needed to get the whole thing up and running, but now it's as smooth as anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 not opening stuck on initializing machine control!! wullie macOS 4 11-20-2011 08:39 PM
I can't open Protools 8; stuck on Initializing Machine Control ashtyn.eb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-25-2009 03:07 PM
Pro ToolsLE 8 stops loading at '' initializing machine control'' Stamak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-09-2009 05:40 PM
PTLE8 can't startup on "initializing machine control King Kong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-26-2009 04:06 PM
PT LE 8 new simptom - hangs on initializing machine control music project 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-23-2008 11:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com