Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2020, 12:22 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default S1 randomly writing PAN automation

Just installed an s1 on my work's PT Ultimate system (2018.10) and when I hit play, a track will randomly start writing pan automation. Any idea why? I started with Eucon 20.1 and then downgraded to Eucontrol 19.12. Happens on both versions.

Upgrading the PT software to the lastest version is a bit of a challenge since it's a corporate system, but I guess these days, it should be easier to get approval.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2020, 04:39 PM
brianpaturalski brianpaturalski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 21
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

I had this happen when one of my knobs died - you could see the oled display fluttering around a little on the numbers even when untouched. It ended up needing to be sent in.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2020, 05:01 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

Yes, I've seen the display slightly flutter. This is a brand new S1. Not even 5 days old. Ugh, I hope that's not the case.

I just upgraded to 2019.10 and Eucon 19.12.1 and it's still happening.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2020, 02:40 AM
cablenaute cablenaute is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

Hi Eric, you should have a look at this thread
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2020, 01:50 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

Yes, thank you! This is the same problem, however I WAS able to get a replacement unit from my dealer today and the EXACT problem is happening on the second unit as well. Any other ideas??
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2020, 02:07 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

I trashed PT prefs and that did nothing. I've upgraded to latest Eucon 20.1.0.50 and problem is still there.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2020, 12:56 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,972
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

Quote:
Originally Posted by emf1138 View Post
Yes, thank you! This is the same problem, however I WAS able to get a replacement unit from my dealer today and the EXACT problem is happening on the second unit as well. Any other ideas??
You need to contact Avid Support to get a replacement not your dealer.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2020, 08:39 AM
francisrl francisrl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Montréal, QC. Canada.
Posts: 3
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

I've been having the same issue on my Avid s1 since march

Windows 10
Pro Tools HD v.12.5
EuControl v. 20.5.0.149
Avid s1 Firmware v. 20.5.5.0
  • Knob on channel #4 is flickering and writing pan automation without being touched.
  • Pans are being randomly resetted to 0 as I'm nudging from track to track. Selecting a track from Pro Tools will get the same effect. I'm not 100% sure it's related to channel #4 on the s1 but it's probably safe to assume so.
  • I'll send it back as it's still under warranty from the store but it looks like a common problem from the early models.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2020, 09:30 AM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 523
Default Re: S1 randomly writing PAN automation

Contact AVID ASAP. They sent my replacement very quick.


Quote:
Originally Posted by francisrl View Post
I've been having the same issue on my Avid s1 since march

Windows 10
Pro Tools HD v.12.5
EuControl v. 20.5.0.149
Avid s1 Firmware v. 20.5.5.0
  • Knob on channel #4 is flickering and writing pan automation without being touched.
  • Pans are being randomly resetted to 0 as I'm nudging from track to track. Selecting a track from Pro Tools will get the same effect. I'm not 100% sure it's related to channel #4 on the s1 but it's probably safe to assume so.
  • I'll send it back as it's still under warranty from the store but it looks like a common problem from the early models.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation not writing Jenre Windows 7 07-02-2014 10:04 AM
Automation writing on it's own cananball Post - Surround - Video 4 06-28-2014 11:36 AM
Writing Wah automation from GR5 tha]-[acksaw General Discussion 1 02-14-2014 11:44 AM
Writing automation? danander11 Tips & Tricks 2 11-22-2009 08:24 PM
automation issues (re-writing automation when it shouldn't) revere 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-13-2008 02:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com