Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 03-16-2003, 05:07 PM

Default NTK or AKG C414B

I'm new to all of this, but I'll be primarily recording a guitar and vocals for the time being. Which mic would you guys recommend? Would the NTK work good if I were to use it to record a guitar as well?
Old 03-16-2003, 05:22 PM

Default Re: NTK or AKG C414B

Love my ntk on vocals... probably my favorite right now. However if you need only one I like the 414 much better on guitar. So one mic to cover both would be the 414. Got good results with it on vocals but it all depends on the singer.

002R, AMD2500+

Gear List:
http://www.davidkarns.com/studio.html
Old 03-17-2003, 02:09 AM

I got both and they're completely different animals...I often have to add some shelving EQ( @5k mostly) and cut Low-mids on tracks that were recorded with the C414 while the NTK has a nice presence 'sheen' to begin with. Naturally it also depends on your pres, converters etc. The C414 never worked on acoustic guitars for me (I prefer the Neumann KM-184 or sometimes even a Shure SM 57)

Andi
Old 03-17-2003, 06:01 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by doorknocker:
I got both and they're completely different animals...I often have to add some shelving EQ( @5k mostly) and cut Low-mids on tracks that were recorded with the C414 while the NTK has a nice presence 'sheen' to begin with. Naturally it also depends on your pres, converters etc. The C414 never worked on acoustic guitars for me (I prefer the Neumann KM-184 or sometimes even a Shure SM 57)

Andi