Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-31-2006, 03:58 PM
messenger messenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Default no render to disk? :(

Anyone else find it frustrating that Pro Tools does not have a RENDER TO DISK feature? I understand there are quality issues when doing this, but even Sonic Foundry's ACID makes this option availible. It's a real drag having to listen to an entire 22 minute voice over as it bounces to disk when I have 2 processors that render it to the same result in under a minute. Clients arent too impressed, either. Does anyone know of an alternative to bouncing that might save some time?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2006, 04:30 PM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

>Anyone else find it frustrating that Pro Tools does not have a RENDER TO DISK feature?

Not me. A large portion of protools users use outboard gear during mixdown. Real time is the only option.

>It's a real drag having to listen to an entire 22 minute voice over as it bounces to disk

Don't listen! Go have a cup of tea!

>Clients arent too impressed, either.

Make them a cup of tea also.

I have never had a single complaint. 95% of studios I know of use protools.


How many tracks is the voiceover? Why not consolidate and export as file?


Chris.
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2006, 09:33 AM
messenger messenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

Thanks, but usually by that time my system/bladder is alreay overloaded with caffeine...
consolidating only works if I dont need any plug-ins. Not that I'm losing sleep over this, but there are a tonne of other potential uses for a render to disk feature, i.e film scoring, where it would be extremely handy. Technology is supposed to make peoples lives easier; Pro Tools users are people too!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2006, 01:39 PM
GamerGee GamerGee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Welcome to Florida!!! The Sunshine State
Posts: 66
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

i tell my teacher that crap all the time.. i say for pr tools im only gonna do songs.. no dj mixtapes on that.. because id hate to sit and listen to 82 minutes of songs and then when i say man that track isnt level here.. go back sit another 82 minutes..


so until digidesisng uses some current ideads to process tracks.. use ACID for your DJ mixes or anything thats longer than 15 minutes..lol i do..

i love when people have to sit for 30mins to listen to a 30 min group of wave files..

when i can drag these tracks in acid and (some effects added) render my 30 min summed track in about 10 seconds.. i love it!!!!!!

but yeah i do use snail pro tools cause that means when they wanna listen to it again and again and again im getting payed for studio time.. so it works just waell
__________________
The Official Gamer Gee! Any others are false
facebook.com/therealgamerg

System's

Mac Pro 2,1 8-Core 3.0 GHZ
9GB Ram
10TB Space
OSX 10.6.7. PT 10 HD 10.2

Late 2013 15' Retina MacBook Pro
Fully Loaded Specs (No Other Choice..lol)
OSX 10.9 Running Pro Tools 10 HD 10.2 (Stable!!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2006, 01:59 PM
quincygriffin quincygriffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

kinda weak. you can consolidate regions. but this won't apply plug-ins or volume.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:16 PM
JohnT JohnT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Champaign-Urbana Illinois
Posts: 163
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

You can save the plugins settings you've used on the inserts then apply them as AudioSuite. (getting them in the right order of the inserts) Then export regions to files after that.

If you're not using many plugins this works quite well. I do it frequently for VO work.

Jt
__________________
Mpowered PT w/ProjectMix with Black Lion mods, and Transit, Macbook Pro, Reason, Live, Axiom 25, Keystation 88, Coffee with cream, no sugar
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:51 AM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

Quote:
i tell my teacher that crap all the time..
and that's why you're still just a student, ever heard of offline processing? export audio? dee-de-deee. learn how to spell "paid", toad.

go on, use ass-id.
__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:00 PM
chris110000100101001 chris110000100101001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 485
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

Quote:
i tell my teacher that crap all the time.. i say for pr tools im only gonna do songs.. no dj mixtapes on that.. because id hate to sit and listen to 82 minutes of songs and then when i say man that track isnt level here.. go back sit another 82 minutes..
Why the heck would you want one 82 minute long file for a mixtape? It's not a film score.
__________________
SMPTE for the devil
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:01 PM
messenger messenger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

Quote:


and that's why you're still just a student. go on, use ass-id.
we're all students, we come here to learn, not to insult others.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:13 PM
Avi Bortnick Avi Bortnick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 72
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

Yes, I find it frustrating and so 1992.

I have no idea why Digi can't have this feature when just about every other audio app does.

Aci
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track RENDER Kon Alexiou 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-26-2018 02:49 PM
LE's Bounce to disk vs. Reaper Render to disk gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-16-2009 04:49 PM
Non Real Time BTD -- More like render to disk How? matai 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-06-2004 09:01 AM
Bounce To Disk quick render Haniel Trisna Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 10-15-2003 08:52 PM
Bounce to Disk vs. Render? Rammelt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 12-17-2002 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com