Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-08-2006, 03:42 PM
bassmutant bassmutant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington State, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

Just so others who may not know, will, logic supports fast bounce to disk. The caveat is, if you have any dsp on your audio interface, lets say mixing ala motu, or even built in effects, ala metric halo, then it's a no go.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-21-2006, 10:43 PM
dglasgo1 dglasgo1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

I have to agree-- there's no reason NOT to implement this as an option for those that want it.

I can understand not being able to use real-time plugins with it -- but for those who are creating many 20-40 minute tracks, bouncing in real-time is just painful. (We produce 2-4 hour radio shows)

We're actually still using some old 4.3.1 workstations with Powermix solely for the ability to bounce faster.

Since the hardware and software are no longer supported- we're sort of stuck. About to move to Logic, but all our producers LOVE ProTools, so we're trying to maintain the old hardware as long as possible. Plus Logic seems more complicated, geared for midi users and more difficult to use than Protools. Moving forward, we can't see buying any of the current ProTools setups. Probably going to have to go to Logic or Nuendo, unfortunately.

Hopefully they can figure out a way to add an option to 'render to disk' without compromising any other features.

-D
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-07-2006, 07:49 AM
niknak niknak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

Quote:
i tell my teacher that crap all the time.. i say for pr tools im only gonna do songs.. no dj mixtapes on that.. because id hate to sit and listen to 82 minutes of songs and then when i say man that track isnt level here.. go back sit another 82 minutes..
l


haha
cd's dont hold 82 mins.
had to laugh, sorry.


(you have a little bit more to learn)

-niknak
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-07-2006, 10:05 AM
nyarla nyarla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: darwin .au
Posts: 4
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

personally i quite enjoy when it comes time to bounce.. set it going, go off for a cup of tea or whatever...relax and listen to the song from outside the room. it's never been a hassle.

the longest thing i've had to bounce, a ~45 minute recording of a stage play, i just consolidated, audiosuited, and exported the file :P
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:28 AM
Kryst Kryst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: no render to disk? :(

I actually sit and listen to the Bouncing, just to be sure it's coming as good as it sounds, and I also happen to love my music, or any music I produce for other people. I guess it helps to really be a fan of what you're creating or producing! And even then, I sit and listen from beginning to end. Really, while bouncing, I have time to make a decision or two. If I feel suddenly that a delay should be added, or some flanger should be thrown in, I cancel, change it up, and Bounce again, then listen. Of course, the longest song I've bounced is 10 minutes, give or take. If I had to Render, I might miss an idea.

Having said that, I do agree that Render would be a nice added option, to be next to Bouncing. I mean, I know there's sometimes a song that sounds perfect enough for me that I just want it to be done. But because I love my music, if I Rendered, I'd probably still play back the song a few times in Pro Tools (I dislike the sound quality of wmp and itunes, maybe it's my settings, I don't know or care).

bassntreble, I do agree that insulting the person was a little harsh. There's users from around the world on here, English isn't everyone's first language. I gather you're standing up for Pro Tools (And good for you ), but though some people wouldn't use Acid, there's many who do use other software programs along-side their Pro Tools gear. You do what you need to get the job done based on preference.

niknak, glad I'm not the only one who noticed the miraculous 82 minute CD that was mentioned! LOL
__________________
Kryst
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track RENDER Kon Alexiou 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-26-2018 02:49 PM
LE's Bounce to disk vs. Reaper Render to disk gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-16-2009 04:49 PM
Non Real Time BTD -- More like render to disk How? matai 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-06-2004 09:01 AM
Bounce To Disk quick render Haniel Trisna Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 10-15-2003 08:52 PM
Bounce to Disk vs. Render? Rammelt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 12-17-2002 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com