Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:23 AM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 531
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

This topic originally posted a year ago and then got a bump in October 2017, here is the New Year 2018 bump.

It's 2018 and "industry standard" PT still doesn't have a plugin manager.

I just went Universal Audio and having a bunch of UAD-2 plugins on my drop-downs that I haven't authorized is frustrating. Google searching "Pro Tools Plugin Manager" found this thread.

I will go through the files and move them in the meantime, but from what I've read, every update you have to go through this process again. Also, I think Universal Audio is the only plugin manufacturer that have ever installed plugins on my system that won't work unless activated by free trial or purchase.
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-03-2018, 11:36 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 777
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Lie View Post
Another thing would be a check for potential conflicts. I'm sure I'm over simplifying this but the idea that we need to search for "trouble causing" plugins is ridiculous.
C
+1. Absolutely ridiculous. Remove everything, then load them one by one and check by trial and error.

I like what Studio One does, it prevents incompatible plugins from loading.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:20 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,304
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
I will go through the files and move them in the meantime, but from what I've read, every update you have to go through this process again. Also, I think Universal Audio is the only plugin manufacturer that have ever installed plugins on my system that won't work unless activated by free trial or purchase.

UA and IK Multimedia both do this. I tend to avoid updating unless there's a need to since I too comb out the unauthorized plugins. I don't want them in my plugins menu.

Personally I believe the onus is on the plugin developer. I have complained to both UA and IK Multimedia that their installation process should only install what I have license for but neither was receptive to the suggestion. Waves and others provide a managed installation process so it's definitely feasible.



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:00 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 469
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

One thing I like is the menu where you can sort by type or brand.

What would be nice would be a favorites tree that could be sorted by brand, manufacturer or type.

Doesn't seem like a huge deal but those of us with Diamond or Mercury have a lot of EQs or Comps and looking at Waves is daunting as well.

First world problem!
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:17 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,166
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Don't know about IK but it wouldn't be in UA's interest, or I guess some of it's users, to only install the plugins you've bought. After all, part of UA's system allows you to attempt to load a olugin you haven't bought, and then get a 14 day demo before buying.

And, of course, you probably know that everytime you buy a plugin, all your demo plugins get reset, so you can have 14 day demos for a plugin you multiple times, if you are not ready to buy it yet.

But I'm with you, I prefer not to see the plugins I don't own, to save clutter.

For me, I do the following ...
1) Use the UA Console plugin manager to hide (in Console only) the plugins I don't own, and
2) While that window is open, use it to help remind me which plugins I don't own, and so need to move to the unused plugins folder.

To be honest, I mostly KNOW which ones I own ;-)

I have also created an unused plugins folder that I move AU and VST plugins to. It only takes me a couple of minutes to select them and move them.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.14.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite OctopreLE and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad Silver with Thunderbolt card, Apollo x4 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2020.3, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Logic Pro X 10.4.8, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:33 PM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 107
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
This topic originally posted a year ago and then got a bump in October 2017, here is the New Year 2018 bump.

It's 2018 and the "industry standard" PT still doesn't have a plugin manager.
Yes, it's 2018 and the "industry standard" Pro Tools still doesn' have Track Folders or even folders in the Clip List. That is just insane.
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools | First 12 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:46 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I assume you are referring to something Studio One does... Examining each plug-in and only allowing those that pass the stability test. If so, I agree. This would be a big time saver.


Yes please
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:33 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,070
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

Interesting thread
I have no opinion, as for me it has never been all that much of an issue. The mfg and type option is nice and the favorite Dynamic and EQ...... then Session Templates and the track preset "hack" actually handel most of my organizational needs .

But then I have only the HD bundled , Waves Diamond, a few extra AIR , the Elysia Alpha comp pair , and a couple Massey.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2020.9 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 01-03-2018, 10:05 PM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 531
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

I found this Pro Tools Plugin Manager that was able to easily move out my unused UA plugins using a GUI and I kept the UA Console side by side for reference (I don't hide Unauth in console).

I do sort by Category and Manufacturer in Pro Tools, but I have every (Waves, Soundtoys, FabFilter, Eventide, iZotope, IKMultimedia, Slate) plugin and most Plugin Alliance, McDSP and UAD-2 plugins (Complete List).

I did find a "hidden shortcut" to add more than 2 to your favorites list here by holding down the Command key. I didn't try it yet though.
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 01-04-2018, 03:50 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: It's 2017 and there's STILL no Plugin Manager in PT

I would plus one a built in plugin manager, and one that also allows us to rename plugins and put them in custom groups. Would be wonderful. Not a deal breaker, but a workflow improver for sure!

Little tip.. this is how i manage my waves bundle plugins.. i go to my waves application folder, manually created a plugins unused folder there, and move the waves plugins from apps/waves/plug-ins V9 to the unused folder.. this way I have been able to de clutter the massive sprawling waves menu in PT.. and remove things like Q10 entirely that I would never use, for example, which takes up like 6 menu slots on it's own.

@WombatStudio I will check out the offline third party plug in manager, thanks for the tip, hope it works with PT12 and sierra.

offline is a decent idea as a workaround indeed. But, in OSX, i just create a two tabbed window anyway, and move the stuff i don't' want from plugins to unused. This doesn't work for waves of course as there is only one aax wave shell component (or 2 or 3 depending on how many waves plugins installed), which is why i came up with the little workaround to move them in waves app folder itself.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can somebody help me understand the entire scenario if I dont upgrade to 12 b4 2017? DBK Pro Tools 11 12 12-20-2016 09:22 AM
Namm 2017 New pro Tools Hard & Soft ? Say Your About... zavid General Discussion 4 11-08-2016 07:50 AM
Waves GOLD, WUP until July 2017 (license transfer) Eric Seaberg Buy & Sell 0 07-14-2016 12:53 PM
PT Plugin Manager matmi Post - Surround - Video 2 02-13-2008 06:44 PM
Plugin Manager inkoma 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-10-2008 05:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com