Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:22 PM
gruntmaster gruntmaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default Workable seperate transport control

Hi, folks. this is my first post here. I will try not to bug you too much and will pitch in when I can! I am looking for a reliable easy to use a portable transport control for my 03. mostly for when I am laying drum tracks from behind my Roland V-drums. I tried an axiom keyboard....didn`t work well for me. I just bought a Frontier wireless Tranzport to check out. Any one here have any experience with the Frontier? I like the size of the Frontier and the fact that it`s wireless is nice, but haven`t hooked it up yet.
Are there any similar controllers out there that work well for you guys and are easy to integrate into the 03?
Thanks in advance for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2008, 10:07 AM
paulreed paulreed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kill devil hills, north carolina
Posts: 460
Default Re: Workable seperate transport control

Quote:
Originally Posted by gruntmaster View Post
Hi, folks. this is my first post here. I will try not to bug you too much and will pitch in when I can! I am looking for a reliable easy to use a portable transport control for my 03. mostly for when I am laying drum tracks from behind my Roland V-drums. I tried an axiom keyboard....didn`t work well for me. I just bought a Frontier wireless Tranzport to check out. Any one here have any experience with the Frontier? I like the size of the Frontier and the fact that it`s wireless is nice, but haven`t hooked it up yet.
Are there any similar controllers out there that work well for you guys and are easy to integrate into the 03?
Thanks in advance for your input.
I've got a Tranzport and it works great, a very helpful tool for those who record themselves. If you spend some time learning all it can do, you will love it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2008, 11:23 AM
gruntmaster gruntmaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Workable seperate transport control

thanks for that response PAUL REED. Actually I picked up a Tranzport yesterday at the local GC. Loaded it on my Mac, but it never showed up on my desktop or in Pro Tools LE. I read the docs and figured I need to download an updated or "native" driver, but when I went to the Frontier web page, they have a notice that the web page is down.
I assume they will be back, but in the meantime, I thought I`d post here and see if any one had any other suggestions or, like you, have had a positive experience with the Tranzport.
What system/hardware/software are you using with the Tranzport?
Again, thanks for the response. GM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2008, 11:28 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Workable seperate transport control

Search the DUC for 'Tranzport'... there are numerous past threads.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2008, 11:44 AM
gruntmaster gruntmaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Workable seperate transport control

Thank you, JMS40.....wiil do! Posted the original thread after a long and frustrating session last night. Just now getting around to checking back in here. Thanks for the info. GM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,399
Default Re: Workable seperate transport control

Depending on how far away your computer is....I ran a USB extender to my kit and used a mini-USB keyboard and mouse(the keyboard has extra USB ports on it) in addition to my desktop keyboard and mouse. I also used a VGA splitter on my edit screen and ran a 25' VGA cable to another flatscreen by the drums(20" and 22" screens both run at 1680x1050).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MC control or Transport? fork-media Artist Series 7 08-27-2012 02:50 AM
002 as control surface with seperate interface in PT9 alxt Pro Tools 9 9 11-30-2010 11:39 PM
out with Control 24, in with MC control, mix, transport desk mod snake doc Artist Series 11 07-14-2010 09:05 PM
transport control joeymusicguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-11-2010 10:38 PM
O3D transport control Fritz MIDI 0 08-26-2003 05:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com