Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2006, 06:23 AM
Lasselakken Lasselakken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Digi 002 restarting

My Digi 002 R has lately restarted by itself a few times - it suddenly just goes off and starts doing the power-up sequence. Sometimes it seems like it is having problems with the start-up sequence too - it never gets to show the sample rate, but just makes a few click-noises and then nothing happens (except the mute-led is on). Then after a while it starts clicking again and eventually it succeeds and the sample-rate led lights up.

Is maybe something wrong with the firmware? If so, how do I check that out?

Thanks in advance
/Lasse
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2006, 09:36 AM
Lasselakken Lasselakken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Digi 002 restarting

This is really frustrating! I checked all over to find out how to update or reinstall firmware in the Digi 002 R, but I can't find anything.. Can anybody help me?

/Lasse
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2006, 01:18 PM
locosoundman locosoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Right on the hairy edge
Posts: 55
Default Re: Digi 002 restarting

Sounds like that power harness oxidation problem to me. Somewhere on this site there must be something about using Deoxit to clean the power harness inside the unit, although just exercising the connection should probably disturb the oxidation enough to fix it temporarily.

Otherwise check out one of the other threads - someone was having similar trouble and using a different Firewire port seemed to do the trick.

Best,
__________________
What does this little red button do?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:04 AM
Lasselakken Lasselakken is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: Digi 002 restarting

Thanks for the reply! It WAS the power harness problem. Since I bought mine second hand I had to just clean it myself.

For anyone else needing info on this: The power harness is the wires that go round in the machine from board to board - it starts by the power in the corner in the back and goes directly to the on/off-switch (on these first two points you can't get to clean anything). From here it goes to the side of the case and here you have one of those white plugs that you can pull out and clean on the inside. There are at least 3 others on the different boards - pull them all out and clean them (I used WD40, but I guess there are a lot of different stuff you can use - and probably something a lot bettter than WD40).

This solved my problem. I did it yesterday, so I haven't got a glue as to how long it will last - I guess at some poit it will start to oxide again. But at least now I know how to fix it and it shouldn't take more than half an hour (including some time for the WD40 to dry out).

Hope this will leave people a little less confused than I was!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! 002 restarting Carl Fuehrer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-08-2008 06:46 PM
WHY DO I KEEP RESTARTING lil'slow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-18-2006 05:33 PM
Computer Keeps Restarting... Auralex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-07-2005 09:09 PM
URGENT HELP!!! RESTARTING!!! JBone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-15-2004 02:17 PM
restarting computer mrluked Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-31-2003 05:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com