Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 09-10-2008, 08:09 AM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

I kinda agree with Tim. I haven't really had my HD system logn enough to need to trash my preferences. However I have had many cases when I need to delete all of the database files. That I feel is definately a cool thing to have. If someone could explain why they need to trash preferences for a new HD owner?

D
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:19 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

over time they can corrupt
also when updating software there can be conflicts between the old pref file and what the new version wants from the pref file
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 09-13-2008, 06:45 AM
postman56 postman56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 397
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

I've seem to be having freeze issues with my outputs in edit window, what preferences etc would these fall under to replace and clean-up?
Thanks for the Appl, I'l give it a try
Postman56
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:36 PM
musictycoon musictycoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 20
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC925602 View Post
I have written a small application with 3 buttons to delete ProTools preferences and Digidesign Database.

Delete ProTools Pref and Database

The next version will include an Archive and Restore of the preferences.

JC
Is there one for WIn XP?
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:55 AM
Numi Numi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Tampa, FL United States
Posts: 376
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

I am new to both mac and PT's..I have a white macbook(latestest revised edition) and latest version of PT's with the MBox 2. I have two quick questions..would it be wise for me to use this application right away after doing a fresh install of PT's? and if these files cause so much problems..why doesn't digidesign already have a feature like this built into their software to clean up and delete these problematic files? Seems simple to implement..
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 10-20-2008, 07:13 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by musictycoon View Post
Is there one for WIn XP?
No, but digi have a Pro Tools Tech Support Folder that does the trash pref and databases.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numi View Post
I am new to both mac and PT's..I have a white macbook(latestest revised edition) and latest version of PT's with the MBox 2. I have two quick questions..would it be wise for me to use this application right away after doing a fresh install of PT's? and if these files cause so much problems..why doesn't digidesign already have a feature like this built into their software to clean up and delete these problematic files? Seems simple to implement..
It's wise to use it to back up your working preferences just in case you have to trash them later.

Preferences file corruption is not unique to Digidesign, it's close tu universal. Problem burning a CD, could be the Finder preferences, weird beavior with your solitaire game, try the preference file, etc. Deleting preference file; I can't remember how many problems where solved with that.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 10-21-2008, 07:34 AM
rdolmat rdolmat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 433
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC925602 View Post
Deleting preference file; I can't remember how many problems where solved with that.

JC
A nagging wife?
__________________

cheers,
rich
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 11-04-2008, 10:35 PM
bongbonged bongbonged is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by JC925602 View Post
I have written a small application with 3 buttons to delete ProTools preferences and Digidesign Database.

Delete ProTools Pref and Database

The next version will include an Archive and Restore of the preferences.

JC
Can you do one for Windows?

Thanks,
Bongbong
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 11-05-2008, 11:22 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,636
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by bongbonged View Post
Can you do one for Windows?

Thanks,
Bongbong
We already have one for Windows:

Tech Support Folder
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:27 PM
Lumin Lumin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: US
Posts: 140
Default Re: Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database now V2.2

Hey JC, is this app still good in PT8
Has anyone tried it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't find Pro Tools 8 prefs to delete in Mountain Lion Cartoonguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-18-2012 10:48 AM
trash database and prefs in P T 8 ??? not2tech Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-06-2009 01:32 PM
I delete prefs and the Database open session then system crashes 8.0.1 philip888 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 09-10-2009 07:42 AM
Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database JC925602 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-21-2007 04:04 AM
Free Pro Tools Application - Delete Prefs/Database JC925602 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-18-2007 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com