Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2015, 10:24 PM
adamen adamen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 3
Default Activation Error - Pro Tools 12

I recently purchased a student license of Pro Tools 12 about a week or so ago. Everything was going well until a couple days ago when I attempted to open Pro Tools without an iLok plugged into my USB drive.

Since then, I've been prompted to activate Pro Tools. When I do so, I get the "Successful Activation: Congratulations, Pro Tools 12 has been activated!" prompt, but as soon as I select continue, I get the "This software cannot be run because the activation experience thinks the authorization was found, but the wrapper could not verify it".

I tried downloading different versions of iLok manager (also uninstalling/reinstalling), tried to Sync the iLok, decactivate/activate my license several times, all while attempting reboots and unplugging the iLok (based on Google searches and threads on this forum) to no avail. I'm running out of options at this point.

Can someone help me understand how to resolve this? Based on previous threads it seems like someone from Avid had to assist on their end.

What is the "wrapper" the error is referring to? I searched my OS X 10.10.5 file system system using this cmd: "locate -i *avid*wrapper*" and found hits, but everything seems like a dead end.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2015, 10:51 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,050
Default Re: Activation Error - Pro Tools 12

Have you tried a clean uninstall and reinstall of Pro Tools 12?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2019.10, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:02 PM
adamen adamen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 3
Default Re: Activation Error - Pro Tools 12

Thanks for the quick reply.

I have not, was hoping to maybe find a root cause to prevent this in the future or find a quicker solution in case this occurs again. I feel like since this happened about a week of not even daily use it's likely to occur again. Maybe I'm just being pessimistic :P

I'm more than willing to try a complete uninstall of Pro Tools [especially] if that's a common solution in these situations. I wasn't 100% certain it was Pro Tools to be honest, I thought maybe it was iLok related. I'm not sure what this "wrapper" being referenced to in the error is... any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2015, 11:16 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,050
Default Re: Activation Error - Pro Tools 12

It is a common solution when having problems and you won't know for sure whether it is or isn't Pro Tools that has a problem until you try it.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2019.10, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2015, 12:00 PM
adamen adamen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 3
Default Re: Activation Error - Pro Tools 12

Thanks for the assistance.

I was able to avoid a Pro Tools uninstall by setting my system clock to appropriate time. Doh.

Apparently the wrapper does an NTP check before it finishes executing Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2017, 04:14 PM
arasaltan arasaltan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: istanbul
Posts: 1
Default Re: Activation Error - Pro Tools 12

I recently purchased a monthly Subscription license of Pro Tools 12 about a 2 day ago.I use ILok 3.

I've been prompted to activate Pro Tools. When I do so, I get the "Successful Activation: Congratulations, Pro Tools 12 has been activated!" prompt, but as soon as I select continue, I get the "This software cannot be run because the activation experience thinks the authorization was found, but the wrapper could not verify it".

I tried downloading different versions of iLok manager (also uninstalling/reinstalling), tried to Sync the iLok, decactivate/activate my license several times, all while attempting reboots and unplugging the iLok (based on Google searches and threads on this forum) to no avail. I'm running out of options at this point. I uninstalled protools again and again.

Can someone help me understand how to resolve this? Based on previous threads it seems like someone from Avid had to assist on their end.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2017, 11:40 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,409
Default Re: Activation Error - Pro Tools 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by arasaltan View Post
I recently purchased a monthly Subscription license of Pro Tools 12 about a 2 day ago.I use ILok 3.

I've been prompted to activate Pro Tools. When I do so, I get the "Successful Activation: Congratulations, Pro Tools 12 has been activated!" prompt, but as soon as I select continue, I get the "This software cannot be run because the activation experience thinks the authorization was found, but the wrapper could not verify it".

I tried downloading different versions of iLok manager (also uninstalling/reinstalling), tried to Sync the iLok, decactivate/activate my license several times, all while attempting reboots and unplugging the iLok (based on Google searches and threads on this forum) to no avail. I'm running out of options at this point. I uninstalled protools again and again.

Can someone help me understand how to resolve this? Based on previous threads it seems like someone from Avid had to assist on their end.
Welcome to the community.

Please check for an email response (look in Spam/Junk if not in Inbox) to your support case, and reply back to that if the Tech's suggested troubleshooting didn't help. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activation Code Error stpete111 Pro Tools 12 7 08-17-2015 08:04 PM
Pro Tools 11 activation error-licensing service not running error message Seismic Sound Windows 5 03-23-2015 06:35 AM
iLok activation error? Chingy Pro Tools 11 41 10-06-2014 08:04 PM
Pro Tools 8: Activation code not working/Error: Data Error (cyclic redundancy check) Mattmattmatty Windows 2 05-01-2013 05:26 AM
Activation Error! Pateb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-28-2008 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com