Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #3411  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:40 PM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

According to http://tyan.com/support_download_cpu2.aspx?socketid=16 the Opteron 2350 I'm looking at is supported.
Looks like I'm taking the plunge.

Looks like it'll be early Jan before I get it all together, but I'll post D-verb specs when it's running.
Reply With Quote
  #3412  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:46 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie169 View Post
According to http://tyan.com/support_download_cpu2.aspx?socketid=16 the Opteron 2350 I'm looking at is supported.
Looks like I'm taking the plunge.

Looks like it'll be early Jan before I get it all together, but I'll post D-verb specs when it's running.
Cool. Keep me posted on this system.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3413  
Old 12-18-2008, 08:12 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

The ideal 8 core system to lurk over at this time would be the AMD Phenom FX that will use unregistered ram. But, another waiting game from AMD. Personally, these would be overkill now. But hey, a liquid nitrogen cooled 8 core running at 6Ghz...what the hell. If the mountain is there, someone will clime it.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3414  
Old 12-18-2008, 10:15 PM
CrAkD CrAkD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Still living at moms! Only 33 years old!
Posts: 293
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
The ideal 8 core system to lurk over at this time would be the AMD Phenom FX that will use unregistered ram. But, another waiting game from AMD. Personally, these would be overkill now. But hey, a liquid nitrogen cooled 8 core running at 6Ghz...what the hell. If the mountain is there, someone will clime it.

Shane
I dont really have time to go thru 342 pages. is there a STABLE 8 core pc working pt yet? cause I dont have to have the latest and greatest and be the guinnea pig but if im going to build a new pc id rather go right for 8 rather then build a quad and kick myself later.
__________________
i7 920, Gigabye ud4p, 12gb OCZ Platinum ddr3 1600, 2x 640gb WD Caviar Black 1x Samsung 120gb SSD
HACKINTOSH Mac OSX 10.8 Pro Tools 10.2
OLD Dverb 1024 - 520 Dverbs 64 - 433 Dverbs
NEW Dverb 1024 - 283 64 - 235
Reply With Quote
  #3415  
Old 12-19-2008, 08:07 AM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

Hey guys, I've been out of the loop for a little while.

I'm trying to get a new box put together and I have a question.

Is the s2927 still a viable option?

If not, what other AMD dual socket boards are people using with PT?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #3416  
Old 12-19-2008, 10:22 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAkD View Post
I dont really have time to go thru 342 pages. is there a STABLE 8 core pc working pt yet? cause I dont have to have the latest and greatest and be the guinnea pig but if im going to build a new pc id rather go right for 8 rather then build a quad and kick myself later.
None that I'm aware of. Honestly, the best route to go at this point in time is Intel i7 or Q6600. I slapped together a $500 Q6600 rig that is 2X more powerful than my Tyan Opteron Quadzilla. ...and the i7 is just scary.

Personally, there isnt an 8 core, including Mac, that shows substantial gains to warrant the investment at this point in time.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3417  
Old 12-21-2008, 02:29 PM
Herkimer Herkimer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA (Salem)
Posts: 407
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

What's the difference between the i7 and Q6600?
Reply With Quote
  #3418  
Old 12-21-2008, 09:42 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Herkimer View Post
What's the difference between the i7 and Q6600?
Quite a few things. In plain English, about a 50-60% increase in performance. So far we're seeing pretty big gains when it comes to Pro Tools but we need more systems built to compare. Myself and Sunburst we'll probably slap one of these together in the New Year. We're gonna exchange a few things on an ideal spec first and then be the lab rats once again.

...and of course I wait for AMD to play catch up and get that FX Quad CPU out the door so we can see if it's worth taking the 8 core route.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3419  
Old 12-27-2008, 10:27 AM
CrAkD CrAkD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Still living at moms! Only 33 years old!
Posts: 293
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
None that I'm aware of. Honestly, the best route to go at this point in time is Intel i7 or Q6600. I slapped together a $500 Q6600 rig that is 2X more powerful than my Tyan Opteron Quadzilla. ...and the i7 is just scary.

Personally, there isnt an 8 core, including Mac, that shows substantial gains to warrant the investment at this point in time.

Shane
haha thats awesome. when you guys refer to the i7 do you just mean the extreme? or if i get one of the lesser priced i7s would it still be faster then the Q6600? cause $1000 for just the processor is a little crazy when i know itll be $500 in 3 monthes haha.
__________________
i7 920, Gigabye ud4p, 12gb OCZ Platinum ddr3 1600, 2x 640gb WD Caviar Black 1x Samsung 120gb SSD
HACKINTOSH Mac OSX 10.8 Pro Tools 10.2
OLD Dverb 1024 - 520 Dverbs 64 - 433 Dverbs
NEW Dverb 1024 - 283 64 - 235
Reply With Quote
  #3420  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:26 AM
pianosound pianosound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turlock, Central CA
Posts: 911
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC(8-core) and Quadzilla(4-core) *OS Update

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAkD View Post
haha thats awesome. when you guys refer to the i7 do you just mean the extreme? or if i get one of the lesser priced i7s would it still be faster then the Q6600? cause $1000 for just the processor is a little crazy when i know itll be $500 in 3 monthes haha.
Tigerdirect.com has an i7 MOBO and processor combo for $570.00,,,, looks like a great deal! I'm prety sure this is the direction I want to go!?? Wish there were more users out there to be sure of its compatability with PT 8.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 07:33 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 03:28 PM
APPLE MAC PRO or The Allenstein "Quadzilla" Machin hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 03-05-2007 11:06 PM
MAC PRO or The Allenstein "Quadzilla" Machine ???? hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-26-2006 11:53 AM
Opteron 165 Dual-Core, upgrading my Allenstein! RSSstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-01-2006 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com