Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2004, 12:24 PM
guest4254 guest4254 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

I just got off the phone with a Tech at Digidesign. I was getting the "increase H/W Buffer -6086" error and was informed that my brand new Dell Dimension 8400 that I paid over $1000 for and my 2 week old Pro Tools LE MBox are not compatible because the Dell uses a 925 chipset! So I just spent over $1500 to find out I CAN'T USE MY NEW RECORDING STUDIO!!!!! Not to mention the countless hours I've wasted trying to learn this system! I was told the only thing that could be done is to replace the motherboard...You've got to be kidding! Could there possibly be any other solution????

I really wish the first Tech I spoke with would've told me that, so that I wouldn't have wasted even more of my time thinking it was something I was doing wrong...I'm really disappointed, to say the least! Any other suggestions would certainly be welcome!

Harry
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2004, 12:30 PM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

Maybe you can return any of them?

Anyway, I'm really sorry to hear that man... I hope you find a solution. I don't think I can help you unfortunately
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2004, 12:43 PM
veritas veritas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 84
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

Quote:
I just got off the phone with a Tech at Digidesign. I was getting the "increase H/W Buffer -6086" error and was informed that my brand new Dell Dimension 8400 that I paid over $1000 for and my 2 week old Pro Tools LE MBox are not compatible because the Dell uses a 925 chipset!
Ouch! Sorry to hear that, dude, and unfortunately I'm no help.

I am wondering, though, if anyone can explain that as I am thinking of buying a notebook, perhaps a Dell, and it sounds like a serious consideration I was not aware of.
__________________
Digidesign Mbox / ProTools LE 7.1.1 / Mac OS X 10.4.11 / iMac 250GB, 2GHz Intel CoreDuo, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2004, 01:54 PM
swayne swayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 110
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

Sorry to hear that man. I almost made the same mistake a few weeks back but after looking on the forum someone brought up the chip set issue. So I switched from about to order a Dell and actually found a less expensive Gateway, which is what I used before. I guessed you missed my post about my purchase.

If you can return the DELL (and I would try hard) order this Gateway E-6100 C it is very configurable and you can get it up to 3.4 g maybe more now that is has been over month. It has the 875p chipset. Dell are dumb they should have a line especially compatible with Pro Tools, and audio recording. Instead Alienware is capitalizing off of this market, although their PC's are outrageous. Fortunately Gateway has the necessary chipsets. Btw, this is a business desktop and it is in the range of $1300 and up depending on what you need.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2004, 12:16 PM
mjb79 mjb79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

ahhh man, that's a bummer... i'm having major problems with my Dell 8200 Laptop (recording/playback popping & crackling)... maybe i have the same problem you have. what phone number did you call to speak to one of the techs?
fyi, i was told when i bought my M-Box (from guitar center) that i could not return it after opening the box. sucks.

~mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:52 PM
swayne swayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 110
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

I wouldn't return my MBOX unless upgrading to a DIGI 002 or TDM but if I did I would make Guitar Center take it back. It is hardware and the software is useless without it. you just have to take it up with a manager. I returned one before due to it acting up and I never had a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2004, 11:59 PM
billprovost billprovost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 30
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

Is this official? Is any fix planned? Please respond Digi because this is most likely the root of my problem, as a matter of fact it's IDENTICAL to my problem. I'm pretty sure I could still return the computer but what a hassle.. also I think I only have about a week left until the computer is no longer returnable... so someone from Digi please rush and let those of us with this issue know if there is any futue fix!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2004, 01:20 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

Quote:
Is this official? Is any fix planned? Please respond Digi because this is most likely the root of my problem, as a matter of fact it's IDENTICAL to my problem. I'm pretty sure I could still return the computer but what a hassle.. also I think I only have about a week left until the computer is no longer returnable... so someone from Digi please rush and let those of us with this issue know if there is any futue fix!
Digi's previous warning

Also it's right in the MBox Compatibility Doc linked below.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2004, 01:28 AM
billprovost billprovost is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 30
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

Ok cool thanks for the links, I'm going to contact Dell first thing tomorrow about possibly returning my system :-(
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:21 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!!

Quote:
Ok cool thanks for the links, I'm going to contact Dell first thing tomorrow about possibly returning my system :-(
See if you can exchange it for the Dell 8600 laptop. This laptop has worked well with PTLE and is the only Dell I'd recommend at this time. If you need a bigger screen just hook it up the the new Dell 42" plasma screen. That is what I'm doing now and it works great. Well actually it is 50" plasma. LOL

Allen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8400 GS graphics card and mbox dont like each other:-/ getting distorted playback buyghostbeats 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-21-2011 09:01 AM
Dell Dimension 8400 and 002 Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-18-2009 03:51 PM
New Mbox and Dell 8400 and Intel boombatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2006 01:22 PM
Dell 8400 Memor Errors in PTLE 6.new chris digi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-25-2005 02:13 PM
DELL 8400 ... INTEL 925 CHIPSET PROBLEM CHEEZGRITS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-30-2004 09:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com