Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2018, 02:32 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,020
Default Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

I posted this at Synapse Audio, but wanted to here as well to see if anyone else has encountered this problem.


I'm hosting Dune 2 in Pro Tools. For some reason, every time I create a patch and go to save my work, Pro Tools crashes.
I have the most recent version of Dune 2 AAX, and use it frequently. Except for this issue, it works fine.
Running Pro Tools 2018.7 (most recent version)
Windows 10 64bit Pro

I can't figure out what is causing the issue. The only thing I have open in the session is Dune 2 on an instrument track in PT. No other plugins are being used. I start with an Init Patch, create something, and save, and PT crashes and auto-reboots. If I make ANY edit at all to a patch and try to save, same thing. The odd thing is, I don't lose what I saved. Once PT reboots, and I reopen Dune 2, whatever I just tried to save IS saved, so my work isn't being lost. But its damn annoying to make and save an edit and then have to go through reboot each time I do. Anyone else have this issue with Synapse Audio Dune 2?

Any ideas?
Thanks
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2018, 03:00 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

Are you using the Pro Tools plug-in librarian to save the presets, or the Dune 2 preset librarian?

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2018, 03:09 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,020
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
Are you using the Pro Tools plug-in librarian to save the presets, or the Dune 2 preset librarian?

Shane


Dune 2. You have to.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2018, 06:05 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

I can't reproduce the crash you're experiencing. In regard to using the PT librarian to save presets instead, it can certainly be used over the built in librarian:



The only caveat is you'll have to save these there manually yourself if you want a duplicate of the factory presets. Your own custom presets on the other hand are an easier matter.

Shane
Attached Images
File Type: png pt_librarian.png (32.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2018, 07:50 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,020
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
I can't reproduce the crash you're experiencing. In regard to using the PT librarian to save presets instead, it can certainly be used over the built in librarian:



The only caveat is you'll have to save these there manually yourself if you want a duplicate of the factory presets. Your own custom presets on the other hand are an easier matter.

Shane

Shan - I was not aware that could be done. I was always told that Dune 2 had to have its presets in the specified Dune 2 folder on the C drive.



I don't have the issue if I open Dune in Reason stand alone and edit and save. Its an odd problem, to be sure. And, as far as I know, this is the ONLY VI I have that does this. I"ll see what the good folks at Synapse might have to say about it.



Thanks for tip!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2018, 08:39 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Shan - I was not aware that could be done. I was always told that Dune 2 had to have its presets in the specified Dune 2 folder on the C drive.
If you save a preset using the PT librarian, does it also crash? Perhaps that should be done as a trouble shooting step, as this appears to be a possible bug. Give it a try and let me know. Thanks.

What version of Dune are you on? I believe mine is v2.6.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2018, 06:44 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,020
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
If you save a preset using the PT librarian, does it also crash? Perhaps that should be done as a trouble shooting step, as this appears to be a possible bug. Give it a try and let me know. Thanks.

What version of Dune are you on? I believe mine is v2.6.

Shane

I'm using whatever the most recent update version is. (I keep those up to date!)



Saving using the PT librarian doesn't seem to be a problem. I've reported this as a potential bug to the folks at SA.



Until solved, for now I'm using Reason stand alone when I want to create patches. Seems to work just fine.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2018, 02:55 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,544
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Saving using the PT librarian doesn't seem to be a problem. I've reported this as a potential bug to the folks at SA.
At least that can be ruled out on the bug hunt then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Until solved, for now I'm using Reason stand alone when I want to create patches. Seems to work just fine.
Great workaround for the time being. Hopefully this will get sorted out for you on your end. Keep me posted and if you need a reproducible bug procedure tested for this, let me know.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-01-2018, 03:42 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,020
Default Re: Saving Edits on Dune 2 Patches crashes PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
At least that can be ruled out on the bug hunt then.



Great workaround for the time being. Hopefully this will get sorted out for you on your end. Keep me posted and if you need a reproducible bug procedure tested for this, let me know.

Shane

Thanks so much, Shane. I appreciate it! Its an odd little bug to be sure.


The only way I know to reproduce it is to open a new session with nothing but Dune 2 instantiated on an instrument track (no other plugins installed)


1. Create a patch starting with the "Init" setting
2. Create something
3. Save it and see if PT crashes and reboots.



Reopen PT and the session, open Dune 2, and call up the saved voice.
Edit something, re-save...same patch name. Does PT crash and reboot?


If not...then its something in my system perhaps...but what, I have no idea! This is the ONLY VI or plugin I'm aware of that exhibits this behavior. I edit and create stuff all the time with all my VI's and other plugins...no issues like this.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving structure patches in bulk suicune Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-27-2009 11:52 AM
Saving Xpand! patches davegibbon Virtual Instruments 3 12-07-2007 06:32 AM
Saving POD Patches In LE 7.3 rkaynan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-29-2007 10:02 PM
Strike- saving style edits Bojax Virtual Instruments 0 04-17-2007 10:57 AM
Saving Patches in PT Hardnox MIDI 0 10-28-2001 06:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com