Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:09 PM
beyoutofull1 beyoutofull1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 15
Default Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

Digidesign doesn't think usb 2 is the way to go, but it's supposed to actually be faster than firewire.

Why are external usb 2 hardrives considered infereior to firewire for protools?

Is anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording? Does it work well for anyone? Does it work badly?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:13 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

I have never had luck with my USB 2 drive. I have tried it several times when I travel. And I get errors, and sometimes it just stops responding. It has worked on occasion but not reliable. USB and Firewire are a different beast. Firewire has more throughput than USB. USB 2 is 480Mbit/s, Firewire is 400 Mbit/s. USB uses CPU cycles so it actually slows down your performance in PT. Firewire does not.
Google "Compare USB and Firewire" and you will find loads of information why they are different.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:18 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

FireWire, uses a "Peer-to-Peer" architecture in which the peripherals are intelligent and can negotiate bus conflicts to determine which device can best control a data transfer


Hi-Speed USB 2.0 uses a "Master-Slave" architecture in which the computer handles all arbitration functions and dictates data flow to, from and between the attached peripherals (adding additional system overhead and resulting in slower data flow control)

Edit: and don't forget about FW 800. That's 800Mbit/s.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:33 PM
GNA GNA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

I've been using a USB 2.0 drive for all of my Pro Tools recording, and I've never had a problem.

I did encounter hardware issues with my first drive, which turned out to be a horrible product from Western Digital. But it never had problems with Pro Tools. It simply started having cabling, bad sector errors, and input/output problems after only a few months.

I've since learned that the MyBook line of drives is highly suspect. So I recently purchased a Seagate drive with a much longer warranty but more limited space, and it's worked just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:39 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GNA View Post
I've been using a USB 2.0 drive for all of my Pro Tools recording, and I've never had a problem.

I did encounter hardware issues with my first drive, which turned out to be a horrible product from Western Digital. But it never had problems with Pro Tools. It simply started having cabling, bad sector errors, and input/output problems after only a few months.

I've since learned that the MyBook line of drives is highly suspect. So I recently purchased a Seagate drive with a much longer warranty but more limited space, and it's worked just fine.
How many tracks do you record at once?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:52 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,905
Default Re: Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GNA View Post
I've been using a USB 2.0 drive for all of my Pro Tools recording, and I've never had a problem.

I did encounter hardware issues with my first drive, which turned out to be a horrible product from Western Digital. But it never had problems with Pro Tools. It simply started having cabling, bad sector errors, and input/output problems after only a few months.

I've since learned that the MyBook line of drives is highly suspect. So I recently purchased a Seagate drive with a much longer warranty but more limited space, and it's worked just fine.
In the testing I have done USB does work some of the time but is not nearly as consistent.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2010, 09:27 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyoutofull1 View Post
Digidesign doesn't think usb 2 is the way to go, but it's supposed to actually be faster than firewire.
Where they do that @
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2010, 11:33 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beyoutofull1 View Post
Digidesign doesn't think usb 2 is the way to go, but it's supposed to actually be faster than firewire.

Why are external usb 2 hardrives considered infereior to firewire for protools?

Is anyone using an external USB 2.0 Hard-drive for recording? Does it work well for anyone? Does it work badly?
Beyoutofull1,
You can do what you want, but if you looked at digi's support pages you would clearly see that it's not supported meaning you're on your own if you wanna use usb including if you lose your audio due to that fact. That being said, there's no reason not to have a usb drive for backup purposes so if you have one already or if you need to purchase an additional drive for backup, you don't need to spend extra $ for speed and a firewire interface just for storage space. EDIT: Your comment about speed with USB vs firewire while I won't explain the technical aspects, firewire has faster "throughput" than usb even the 400's.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I be looking at recording to an external hard drive? Judicious macOS 24 06-07-2011 07:00 AM
Recording and Playback in external hard drive brichrath 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 07-09-2010 12:47 PM
problems when recording to external hard drive popswatch Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 10-31-2006 04:00 PM
Noise when recording with new external hard drive? sethbrand Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 19 03-07-2006 11:24 AM
recording into an external hard drive direct? rygar22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-23-2005 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com