Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2010, 12:54 PM
BelaDMedia BelaDMedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
Thumbs up Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

Just rock solid on my new Dell with 16GB of Ram and zero issues with Kontakt 3.5 and/or 4 running within.

Thank you, Avid!!
__________________
Bela D Media.com
Sampling Firm and Digidesign Development Partner
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2010, 12:56 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

You just got a new Dell with Vista on it - not W7 ??
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2010, 01:01 PM
BelaDMedia BelaDMedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

Yeah I was a bit surprised with that myself but Vista is doing well. Any real reason to go to 7 in your opinion?

Bench Test: Final Thoughts

When it comes to having a look at pure CPU performance, it seems that Windows 7 isn't quite as efficient as Windows Vista. As for memory, though, there isn't a whole lot of difference. On the down side you're not going to be breaking any wPrime records under Windows 7 for the moment.

On the other hand, while the CPU scores are lower, when it comes to graphics card performance we can tell from our previous articles that Windows 7 does a good job of keeping up with the older and more mature operating system; it coming out in front at times and sometimes falling slightly back.
__________________
Bela D Media.com
Sampling Firm and Digidesign Development Partner
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2010, 01:21 PM
YoRugMan YoRugMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: never too far from a PC
Posts: 807
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BelaDMedia View Post
Yeah I was a bit surprised with that myself but Vista is doing well. Any real reason to go to 7 in your opinion?
Only that Vista is widely regarded as a flop!

Windows 7 is shaping up to be a killer of all previous Windows - even XP.
__________________
__________________
"Well, of course, their requests for subsidies was not Paraguayan in and of it is as it were the United States government would never have if the president, our president, had not and as far as I know thats the way it will always be. Is that clear?"- Chevy Chase, Spies Like Us.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2010, 05:57 AM
lbattick lbattick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

Please clarify for me, Windows Vista 64 bit is compatible with pro tools 8.0?

So I could run my mbox mini with pro tools 8.0 on Vista home premium 64 bit?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:49 AM
WorshipMaestro WorshipMaestro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Savannah, GA USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

Now how did you set that up, because I can't get my MBox2 Pro to pass audio to save it's life. It all seems to set up fine, and there are no error messages, but there is just no sound coming out of it.

Running a new Vista 64 bit installation with SP1. PT v8.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:30 AM
lbattick lbattick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

Are you asking me? I'm not, I was asking if I could. We need to get belaDMedia to clue us in.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2010, 10:38 AM
lbattick lbattick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

Hi, BelaDMedia, could you give me more information about this? What hardware are you using with pro tools? Which version of Vista are you using? Did you have to do driver updates, etc.
Any info. would be greatly appreciated. I'm sure others would like to know as well.

Anyone else using Mbox mini, PT 8.0 and windows Vista 64 bit?
Give us a Holla' please.

Thanks!

Last edited by lbattick; 02-26-2010 at 10:41 AM. Reason: forgot to address person
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-27-2010, 09:32 AM
BelaDMedia BelaDMedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

I replied via response to your email.
__________________
Bela D Media.com
Sampling Firm and Digidesign Development Partner
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-27-2010, 02:25 PM
BelaDMedia BelaDMedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 40
Default Re: Pro Tools 8.0.3 on Vista 64 bit Perfection!

EDIT: I see that someone besides you was asking. I wish I could share some top secret tweak with you guys but nothing was done other than an install on a brand new PC.

This systems is ...

MAudio Project Mix
M Powered PT 8.0.3
Siig DP FireWire 2-Port PCIe
Dell 546
Windows Vista 64 bit
16 GB Ram
AMD Phenom X4
__________________
Bela D Media.com
Sampling Firm and Digidesign Development Partner
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools SE & Vista Lauron Lewis Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 12-14-2011 09:38 AM
Vista 64 and Pro tools? digifriend 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 07-27-2008 05:56 PM
Plug-ins that are "Total Perfection" Herkimer Tips & Tricks 13 11-19-2007 09:37 AM
PRO TOOLS ON VISTA anemicrock Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-23-2006 06:48 PM
OT - Epson 1650 Perfection Scanner... The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-06-2006 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com