Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:17 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default PT 10 installation on dedicated SSD w/OS X 10.8

Hi, I want to install PT 10 on its own startup SSD. It's HD X, I think - the most deluxe host-based version.

Does anyone know or know where to find a list of what files go where? Like an idiot I don't have the original installer.

TIA
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:21 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: PT 10 installation on dedicated SSD w/OS X 10.8

By the way, the only issue with PT 10 until the current Mojave is the menu-requires-mousing-over one - it worked fine on my machine otherwise.

But now it's giving me assertion errors requiring a computer restart, and that's not good.

Mac Pro 5,1 12 x 3.46 GHz, 64GB, Radeon RX 560, Mojave 10.14.3.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:34 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: PT 10 installation on dedicated SSD w/OS X 10.8

HANG ON - the installer is online here!

And I remember that there are issues installing it on later OSes. But I'll create a 10.7 drive and install it there.

Thanks everyone for your help. :) :) :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2019, 03:55 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,479
Default Re: PT 10 installation on dedicated SSD w/OS X 10.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Batzdorf View Post
HANG ON - the installer is online here!

And I remember that there are issues installing it on later OSes. But I'll create a 10.7 drive and install it there.

Thanks everyone for your help. :) :) :)

Hi,


PT10 install fine on OS 10.8


Its a bit unclear what you are trying to do here as your post is titled OS 10.8 and your thread talks about Mojave.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2019, 05:29 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,266
Default Re: PT 10 installation on dedicated SSD w/OS X 10.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

PT10 install fine on OS 10.8

Its a bit unclear what you are trying to do here as your post is titled OS 10.8 and your thread talks about Mojave.

Chris
Actually it's clear what the op's problem is - he's having issues running PT10 on Mojave (no surprise there) and wants to have a separate ssd for installing OSX 10.8.5 and running PT10.

I'd suggest a simpler solution if his current system drive is big enough - partition it, format it to regular OSX specs - not APFS - and put OSX 10.8.5 on that.

I'm wondering how he got PT10 to even install on Mojave unless he did an in-situ install deal which is never cool.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2019, 02:01 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: PT 10 installation on dedicated SSD w/OS X 10.8

Right, Ima create another SSD dedicated to running PT 10, and I'll put OS 10.8 on it.

Again, I posted the question before realizing that the PT 10 installer is available online here, which is why I wanted to know what files go where.

But partitioning my startup drive so it's partly not AFPFS?!

No thanks. :)

I have a pretty complicated system with multiple back-ups, including bootable clones and rotating Time Machine backups. And years of updates. And...

... just NO! EEEK!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dedicated EQ section? Norad155 Pro Tools | S6 6 02-16-2014 06:36 PM
Update only works on Installation...cannot perform installation on Win7 xRollinx Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 02-12-2010 07:35 PM
SC Dedicated Machine? or no way? Mr.Gute Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 05-25-2006 10:57 AM
Non-dedicated System: Is it Possible? Ovey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-19-2001 03:38 PM
Dedicated Mac for CD Burning? lwilliam General Discussion 5 01-27-2000 09:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com