Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2010, 03:00 PM
blackshrek blackshrek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Posts: 6
Cool hooking all this up

hello everyone i would like to ask any and everyone for help as i am new to musis production and tring to set a little thing up in my home so here goes .
I bought some equipment and need help and or advice in setting it up the equipment are as follows:
002 rack
a Yamaha MG16 channel mixer
pro tools 8 LE
windows xp
Roland Fantom rack
2 patchbays
Roland 201 space echo
compressor
parametric eq
aphex big bottom.
i counl do with some advice on how to connect all this up using the pc to record and playback, is that the same as using it as a front and back end?
once again i know i am asking alot but i really do need your advice , many thanks if if no one is abe to help thank you any way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2010, 05:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,504
Default Re: hooking all this up

Here's one person's opinion.

002 rack-follow the install instructions in the Getting Started Guide

a Yamaha MG16 channel mixer-sell it and set the money aside for the moment

pro tools 8 LE_same as 002 rack

windows xp-I assume the computer is compatible? Post a Sandra report if you're not sure. info here: Help us help you - what you need to know before posting!
Roland Fantom rack-plug into the 002 inputs 5&6 with the switch at -10

2 patchbays-set aside until you really need them

Roland 201 space echo-store or sell unless you just GOTTA have that sound. If you Gotta, then just run an output of the 002R(like #8 to the 201 and out of the 201 to 002 input #8(you need to create a path in the IO setup page for the output and attach that to an AUX send)

compressor-sell it(unless its something really special) and buy a nice 3rd party plugin(SMACK! & softube's Tube Tech CL1B are great.

parametric eq-sell it(unless its a real Pultec), plugins will do a better job with less hassle

aphex big bottom-sell it. plugins are better and, often, the Aphex is a crutch for bad monitoring or recording. Learn good techniques, listen accurately and you won't need the Aphex.

Take the cash from selling the un-needed stuff and get an 8 channel lightpipe preamp(Presonus D8, Behringer ADA8000, etc) to expand your inputs. Get some good speakers, some acoustic treatments for your room(yes, you NEED this) and a good reverb plugin(Dverb is not very good). Look at the IK Classik Verbs, 112db Redline or TL Space.

Ease into this and don't overwhelm yourself by trying to make everything work right now.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2010, 09:57 PM
77pro 77pro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 818
Default Re: hooking all this up

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Here's one person's opinion.

002 rack-follow the install instructions in the Getting Started Guide

a Yamaha MG16 channel mixer-sell it and set the money aside for the moment

pro tools 8 LE_same as 002 rack

windows xp-I assume the computer is compatible? Post a Sandra report if you're not sure. info here: Help us help you - what you need to know before posting!
Roland Fantom rack-plug into the 002 inputs 5&6 with the switch at -10

2 patchbays-set aside until you really need them

Roland 201 space echo-store or sell unless you just GOTTA have that sound. If you Gotta, then just run an output of the 002R(like #8 to the 201 and out of the 201 to 002 input #8(you need to create a path in the IO setup page for the output and attach that to an AUX send)

compressor-sell it(unless its something really special) and buy a nice 3rd party plugin(SMACK! & softube's Tube Tech CL1B are great.

parametric eq-sell it(unless its a real Pultec), plugins will do a better job with less hassle

aphex big bottom-sell it. plugins are better and, often, the Aphex is a crutch for bad monitoring or recording. Learn good techniques, listen accurately and you won't need the Aphex.

Take the cash from selling the un-needed stuff and get an 8 channel lightpipe preamp(Presonus D8, Behringer ADA8000, etc) to expand your inputs. Get some good speakers, some acoustic treatments for your room(yes, you NEED this) and a good reverb plugin(Dverb is not very good). Look at the IK Classik Verbs, 112db Redline or TL Space.

Ease into this and don't overwhelm yourself by trying to make everything work right now.
Now there's some solid advice!!!

Great job albee
__________________
003r/i7-930/LE 8.0.1 cs2 on xp
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2010, 02:04 AM
blackshrek blackshrek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Posts: 6
Default Re: hooking all this up

Thanks for getting back to me and for your advice but i wanted to incorporate what i have already as i do like the analog stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2010, 02:11 AM
blackshrek blackshrek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Posts: 6
Default Re: hooking all this up

ok so if i was to go the option you advised me to take how would i connect the 8 channel lightpipe preamp to extend my inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2010, 01:19 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,360
Default Re: hooking all this up

ADAT

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2010, 07:34 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,504
Default Re: hooking all this up

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
ADAT

Cheers,
Yes, it really is that simple. Connect lightpipe from the preamp out to the 002 optical in. Open Pro Tools and go into hardware setup. Make sure that Optical is set to ADAT(not SPDIF) and set Clock Source to Optical and you're ready. You might need to go into the IO setup>input tab and add paths(or just click on the default button and you should get 16 inputs showing on the grid). One reason I left out some analog stuff is due to the complexity of using outboard gear with Pro Tools(especially due to the lack of ADC). I have no problem with recording thru analog and I have outboard compressors inserted on 2 of my outboard mic preamps. I also think you will save more of your hair by easing into the DAW world(you have enough to learn already).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2010, 02:02 AM
blackshrek blackshrek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: london
Posts: 6
Default Re: hooking all this up

Thanks for all your help just one thing, im thinking of getting the focusrite octopre any thoughts on that.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-23-2010, 08:27 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,504
Default Re: hooking all this up

Lots of folks use that(just remember that the digital output card is an extra-cost option AFAIK). I use the Presonus D8 and it works very nicely. I actually have seen many people using the Behringer ADA8000 with very good results(its barely over $200 new). The M-Audio Profire 2626 gets excellent reviews for sound quality as well. Someone in the Buy&Sell section has a Mackie Onyx 800R for sale and they also get rave reviews. My only comment on the Octopre is that its a chinese-built product that is NOT in the same league as the Focusrite Red orISA series.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up Pre to 192 moonmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 12-17-2013 06:49 PM
hooking up my RME ADI-2 WB1984 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-02-2010 03:55 PM
Hooking up RNC to RNP Elvisaintme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 09-30-2003 10:57 PM
help hooking up a sub aeugene 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-20-2003 02:58 AM
Hooking up MC-307 to PT anyone? peneslapepe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-18-2002 11:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com