Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2008, 05:16 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default \"an access violation has occurred\"

anyone know what this message means, so i don't get it again?
swapping out plugs, whilst pro tools is running, pro tools continues to run, but no matter how many times i hit return on the violation window it immediately comes back. so i have to force quit.

i have not had it before.

ps. i'm only interested in replies from people who have had this message too, though, if not, feel free to boost your "posts" number if you want to ask me "... first check the troubleshooting thread at the top of the page ..."
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2008, 08:12 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,611
Default Re: \"an access violation has occurred\"

Quote:
i'm only interested in replies from people who have had this message too, though, if not, feel free to boost your "posts" number if you want to ask me "... first check the troubleshooting thread at the top of the page ..."
An access violation on a Mac is extremely rare. What changed on your system between when it was working and when you started getting the errors?

I know you don't want to be asked about the troubleshooting thread, but we really need to know which troubleshooting steps you've tried so far. Please be specific.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2008, 08:28 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: \"an access violation has occurred\"

Quote:
An access violation on a Mac is extremely rare. What changed on your system between when it was working and when you started getting the errors?

I know you don't want to be asked about the troubleshooting thread, but we really need to know which troubleshooting steps you've tried so far. Please be specific.
None, no steps. no need.
Firstly, I got the error once (repeatedly) and had to force quit. I wouldn't expect it to recur because of how it happened.
i can still work and i imagine it would be nigh on impossible to recreate. I was swapping plugs whilst still playing. a delay plug for a reverb plug, digidesign.

i immediately re-opened and its been fine for the last hour, and i can swap the same plugs whilst playing. i've never seen that error in 20 years, so i agree with the extremely rare. though if it is rare, would the solution be as rare or would it be common? (musing to myself)

if i ran all ALL (or even one at a time til i found a solution) the trouble-shooting steps everytime i had a little problem i would not be able to work. so i don't. my system, bar the 10.4.11 bit, is fine and dandy, official and up to date.

thanks for the super quick response.

anyone else had this error?
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2010, 02:09 PM
ifado ifado is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: "an access violation has occurred"

i am having the same porblem my self i just bought some maudio equipments that came with the protools mpowered essentials but it will not load for some reason i have been sitting with it for the past 5hrs this is so wrong it keeps coming up with the error msg access violation occured,unable to read location 0x0a,745,a4f at address:0x78,145,74d in module: MSVCR80. dll.
i need some help with this its driving me crazy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access violation occurred pmadoa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-17-2012 07:06 AM
PT HD 8.0.3 Access Violation has Occurred! shannonmills Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 84 03-12-2011 12:57 PM
Access Violation Occurred justus1900 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 04-16-2010 01:29 PM
Access violation occurred polkbrosmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 04-22-2002 12:14 AM
access violation occurred? jim jedlicka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-20-2001 07:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com