Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2008, 03:03 PM
Leigh Marble Leigh Marble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 236
Default \"Set Selection Start\" causes short audio pause...how to fix?

I've used Pro Tools LE for years on a 001. Recently made the switch to PTMP 7.4 on a Profire 2626.

Things are working great in general, but there is a slight difference in behavior from what I'm used to that's driving me nuts. When I "set selection start" during playback (either by pressing the down arrow, or clicking in the timeline), there's a short pause in the audio, before playback resumes.

This may not sound like a bit deal, but I press the down arrow a lot during playback as part of my workflow, and this little pause is no bueno for me.

Can anyone confirm if it's always been like this for PTMP? Or if this is a Leopard issue? Or, even better, does anyone have a fix for this behavior?

Tech details: this happens with all buffer sizes, and both with clocking internally and to an external converter. My system:

Mac Pro 2 x 2.8GHz
Leopard 10.5.2
Pro Tools M-Powered 7.4
Profire 2626 (firmware v 1.0.7)


Thanks for the help!
Leigh
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-2008, 12:04 PM
Leigh Marble Leigh Marble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 236
Default Re: \"Set Selection Start\" causes short audio pause...how to fix?

This annoying gap/pause is still happening after my recent upgrade to PT 7.4.2 (running now under Leopard 10.5.4)

Anyone else??

Thanks,
Leigh


Quote:
When I "set selection start" during playback (either by pressing the down arrow, or clicking in the timeline), there's a short pause in the audio, before playback resumes.

This may not sound like a bit deal, but I press the down arrow a lot during playback as part of my workflow, and this little pause is no bueno for me.

Can anyone confirm if it's always been like this for PTMP? Or if this is a Leopard issue? Or, even better, does anyone have a fix for this behavior?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2009, 11:42 AM
Leigh Marble Leigh Marble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 236
Default Re: "Set Selection Start" (down arrow) causes short audio pause...how to fix?

Damn, I lived with this one for long enough without figuring it out...

It seems the culprit was Dynamic Transport, which either was turned on by default after I upgraded to 7.4, or I accidentally turned it on.

Turning off DT seems to have fixed this issue. This was discovered late last night, by accident, so I'll verify it today.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2009, 01:58 PM
Leigh Marble Leigh Marble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 236
Default Re: "Set Selection Start" (down arrow) causes short audio pause...how to fix?

Oh, and to clarify: this short pause only happens when "Link Timeline and Edit Selection" is also On. (For me, that's most of the time.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2009, 02:01 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: "Set Selection Start" (down arrow) causes short audio pause...how to fix?

I HATE Dynamic Transport

__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edit selection and playhead start Alexander K Pro Tools 10 12 05-30-2013 09:03 AM
How to punch a selection but start playback before the selection... shotgunndunn macOS 1 01-19-2012 04:45 PM
How to move view to start or end of selection Boe Larsen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-09-2011 12:48 AM
HD wont start, Studio on pause, HELP!!! ianlounge Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-05-2010 05:46 PM
Shortcut for moving Edit Selection Start to End? kid pro Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-04-2003 11:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com