Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2018, 08:15 AM
theholdingcoat theholdingcoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Error Message

I've been trying to resolve this for a couple of weeks. Can't open ProTools (which was previously working fine). Keep getting this message:

Could not create a new document because Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/223020/ProTools/DFW/Views/UMenu.MacOS.mm", line 1813.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Bob

Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6, Processor 3.6 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, ProTools version 12.8.2.106 (2017), Mackie ProFX 12 mixer, dox 166 compresser, FocusRite sound card
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2018, 08:40 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,671
Default Re: Error Message

Hey Bob, Welcome to the Community

Weeks huh That sux bigtime,


Try launch PT while holding down the N key and see of that helps.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2018, 09:06 AM
theholdingcoat theholdingcoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Error Message

Yes, weeks; on and off while working on other things. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll try that and let you know what happens.
__________________
Bob

Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6, Processor 3.6 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, ProTools version 12.8.2.106 (2017), Mackie ProFX 12 mixer, dox 166 compresser, FocusRite sound card
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2018, 09:26 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,671
Default Re: Error Message

Quote:
Originally Posted by theholdingcoat View Post
Yes, weeks; on and off while working on other things. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll try that and let you know what happens.
When you get a popup window choose your interface and let PT finish launching.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2018, 11:34 AM
theholdingcoat theholdingcoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Error Message

Nope. Same error message. Anybody know what this message means?

Could not create a new document because Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/223020/ProTools/DFW/Views/UMenu.MacOS.mm", line 1813.
__________________
Bob

Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6, Processor 3.6 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, ProTools version 12.8.2.106 (2017), Mackie ProFX 12 mixer, dox 166 compresser, FocusRite sound card
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2018, 04:43 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,882
Default Re: Error Message

Trash prefs and reboot?
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2018, 06:09 AM
theholdingcoat theholdingcoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Error Message

Thanks. I'll try anything at this point.
__________________
Bob

Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6, Processor 3.6 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, ProTools version 12.8.2.106 (2017), Mackie ProFX 12 mixer, dox 166 compresser, FocusRite sound card
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-10-2018, 06:19 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,420
Default Re: Error Message

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...w-do-i-fix-it/
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2018, 07:07 AM
theholdingcoat theholdingcoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Boston
Posts: 5
Default Re: Error Message

Tried trashing preferences and re-booted. Still getting that same error message.
__________________
Bob

Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6, Processor 3.6 GHz Intel Core i7, Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4, ProTools version 12.8.2.106 (2017), Mackie ProFX 12 mixer, dox 166 compresser, FocusRite sound card
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2018, 04:05 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 14,903
Default Re: Error Message

Quote:
Originally Posted by theholdingcoat View Post
Tried trashing preferences and re-booted. Still getting that same error message.
If the info in your sig file is correct then it could be because the PT version (which I have trouble decoding) you have is not considered compatible with your OSX version.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 activation error-licensing service not running error message Seismic Sound Pro Tools Software (Win) 5 03-23-2015 05:35 AM
error message DAE error-6006 tad3219 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-03-2011 07:17 PM
error message during installation error 2147213312 pianovasano Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-31-2010 07:52 AM
Does anyone know what this error message means. ERROR DAE 9060 boabyd23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-18-2009 11:41 AM
A Message But Not An Error Message RichrdC Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 01-27-2008 06:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com