Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2018, 09:44 PM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Hollis, NY
Posts: 25
Default Recording Audio thru 192 Analog IO Interface

Anyone who has or had an 192 HD3 TDM system, just use an Digi Snake DB25 to 8ch. breakout cable (XLR or 1/4 Stereo plug) to record in analog sources via the +4dBu or -10dBv Balanced connectors on the Analog Inputs cards? No mic/line pre-amps in between. Output of the source, into the 192 Analog Input. . . . . that's it.

I just added a second 192 Analog IO (16 Inputs) to my studio rig and would like to record multiple drum machines, multiple keyboards, and sound modules. If so, how was the quality? What did you do (in ProTools or using third party plug-ins) to enhance/boost the signal coming in? Thanks.
__________________
Al Rayder

Apple MacPro 8-Core 2.4Ghz, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, PT10HD, Control|24 Console, 2x 192 Analog I/O, HD3 Accel PCIe, Avalon 737sp, Apple MacG5 PPC Dual Core 2.0Ghz, Leopard 10.5.0, PT7.4.2LE, 002 Rack, Apple MacBook, Leopard 10.5.8, PT8.0.5LE, MBoxMicro, Waves Horizon, Studio Classics & Restoration Bundles, Sonnox Oxford Bundle, McDsp Bundle, SoundToys Bundle, Antares Auto-Tune, Melodyne Editor, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate

Last edited by Al Rayder; 08-03-2018 at 09:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2018, 12:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,227
Default Re: Recording Audio thru 192 Analog IO Interface

You can set the analog inputs to -10 or +4(+4 is the default). Most line-level stuff(keyboards and drum machines) should work fine at -10(you will need to set record level with the output on the keyboard/drum machine) and it should sound fine(I have done this with a Yamaha Motif es8). As long as you get decent levels into PT, its all good
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2018, 01:01 PM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Hollis, NY
Posts: 25
Default Re: Recording Audio thru 192 Analog IO Interface

Thank you for the feedback Albee1952. As far as mic's are concerned (phantom power and non-phantom powered mic's) what would you suggest I use with the 192 Analog IO? Is there a 8 ch. or 16 ch. XLR/Line input rack space unit that has phantom power and gain knobs that will connect to the 192 Analog IO. Something that won't break the bank, but still provide quality audio recording?
__________________
Al Rayder

Apple MacPro 8-Core 2.4Ghz, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, PT10HD, Control|24 Console, 2x 192 Analog I/O, HD3 Accel PCIe, Avalon 737sp, Apple MacG5 PPC Dual Core 2.0Ghz, Leopard 10.5.0, PT7.4.2LE, 002 Rack, Apple MacBook, Leopard 10.5.8, PT8.0.5LE, MBoxMicro, Waves Horizon, Studio Classics & Restoration Bundles, Sonnox Oxford Bundle, McDsp Bundle, SoundToys Bundle, Antares Auto-Tune, Melodyne Editor, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2018, 01:52 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,227
Default Re: Recording Audio thru 192 Analog IO Interface

Before I answer the second question, let me add a really important detail on the 192 analog connections. They are balanced, and if you use them unbalanced, you should NOT ground the ring(with TRS) or pin 3(with XLR). So, you may need to make up some special cables, or do something to make sure that doesn't happen, lest you damage the 192(the manual is specific on this, but you may not have the manual...)

As for 8-channel preamps, there are dozens but I have a few specific recommendations, depending on 3 things: budget and quality requirements.

Budget-Behringer ADA8200(the red one). performance/quality way better than the $200 price suggests. Inputs are on the front, which may or may not be a good thing for you.

Better-Presonus and Focusrite both have recent hardware releases that are around $500-600 and are solid performers(the older D8 and OctoPre are really no better than the Behringer IMHO. Just more expensive)

Better still-Midas XL-48(around $900) is absolutely stellar on drums(probably great on lots of stuff, but once I used it on drums, it has stayed there)

You can spend more, but I'm not convinced you gain anything worthy.

BTW, all of the above can connect via analog-balanced, or lightpipe
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-06-2018, 10:53 AM
Al Rayder Al Rayder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Hollis, NY
Posts: 25
Default Re: Recording Audio thru 192 Analog IO Interface

In regards to the connections, I am using Digi DB25 to XLR Male/Female Snake Cables from the 192 IO to my equipment. If I need to connect any equipment with 1/4" Outputs, I will use a XLR (Male/Female) to 1/4" TRS (Stereo) cable. Not using unbalanced cables at all.

Regarding the pre-amps, can I use the Adat connection on my 2nd 192 IO and still use the 16 Analog Inputs at the same time?
__________________
Al Rayder

Apple MacPro 8-Core 2.4Ghz, Mountain Lion 10.8.5, PT10HD, Control|24 Console, 2x 192 Analog I/O, HD3 Accel PCIe, Avalon 737sp, Apple MacG5 PPC Dual Core 2.0Ghz, Leopard 10.5.0, PT7.4.2LE, 002 Rack, Apple MacBook, Leopard 10.5.8, PT8.0.5LE, MBoxMicro, Waves Horizon, Studio Classics & Restoration Bundles, Sonnox Oxford Bundle, McDsp Bundle, SoundToys Bundle, Antares Auto-Tune, Melodyne Editor, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-06-2018, 04:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,227
Default Re: Recording Audio thru 192 Analog IO Interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Rayder View Post
In regards to the connections, I am using Digi DB25 to XLR Male/Female Snake Cables from the 192 IO to my equipment. If I need to connect any equipment with 1/4" Outputs, I will use a XLR (Male/Female) to 1/4" TRS (Stereo) cable. Not using unbalanced cables at all.

Regarding the pre-amps, can I use the Adat connection on my 2nd 192 IO and still use the 16 Analog Inputs at the same time?
Re TRS connections, just make sure the outputs those connect to are balanced(most synths and drum machines are unbalanced).


Re 16 analog inputs, each 192 is 16 total IO AT A TIME, so, you have to choose which 16 of all available.
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mackie Onyx 1640i Analog 16 channel & Firewire Mixing Desk Audio Interface (NEW) £945 hatepop Buy & Sell 0 08-31-2014 05:51 AM
Audio interface to analog mixer xterraguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2008 12:55 AM
Mbox/Powerbook problems w/ recording analog audio AlejandroVillarino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-04-2003 08:21 AM
Problem Recording from Analog Audio w/ My Mbox AlejandroVillarino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-04-2003 01:59 AM
SDII/Digital Interface/Analog Interface Question Karmitz Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-15-2000 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com