Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2020, 08:13 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 559
Default (4)S1’s with Dock setup

1st attempt to post a pic here... custom desk is under construction, but I’m loving the workflow of these now that I’m forgetting 6 years of D-Command muscle memory!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 43900B9B-7F61-4FEA-B5F0-2D57E7005798.jpg (40.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2019.12/2018 Mac Mini 3.2ghz 6-core i7/32GB RAM/Aja T-Tap/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe in Sonnet chassis/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2020, 08:53 AM
Lynn Gräber Lynn Gräber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 122
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

This. Is. Awesome. I've got the Dock with two S1's. Do you feel its hard to reach the outside units?

Also, you finding the Amazon tablets stable? I have basically turned off EVERY service and permission on mine and feel they are finally settling in.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2020, 09:12 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 559
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

Thanks!!!

This is about 14" shorter than my 40 channel D-Command, so it feels WAY more within reach!! Haha. I barely have to lean sideways to reach the end faders without any stretch.

After I did static IP on the tablets, they have been rock solid. Maybe 1 disconnect every few days, but it usually brings itself back online within seconds and no action required on my part. I use Google WIFI, and the puck is about 9 feet from the farthest tablet, so that proximity probably helps.
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2019.12/2018 Mac Mini 3.2ghz 6-core i7/32GB RAM/Aja T-Tap/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe in Sonnet chassis/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2020, 09:23 AM
Lynn Gräber Lynn Gräber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 122
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

Is your Dock magnetized on the side like the S1? Mine is not. Was a bit disappointed to find that.

You using an Amazon tablet in the dock too?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2020, 09:28 AM
mixboy bob mixboy bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 559
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

The dock never had magnets, so no. But my desk, when finished, will hold them right together. They sit perfectly next to each other, so unless I shove it, nothing moves.

Yes... Fire HD 10 in the dock as well! Love it....

Also, as you can see, I have the S1 tablets on mounts I built to raise them up above the S1. The viewing angle is better for my preference that way.
__________________
http://www.robburrell.com
PTHD Ultimate 2019.12/2018 Mac Mini 3.2ghz 6-core i7/32GB RAM/Aja T-Tap/Akitio Thunder 3 Quad Mini with 4TB SSD drives/Focusrite 16Line/UAD-2 Octo PCIe in Sonnet chassis/32 Channel S1/Dock with (5) 2019 Amazon Fire HD 10 Tablets/XMON//11.1.4 Dolby Atmos Setup
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2020, 09:33 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,826
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

Yep looks like a poor mans S4 or S6
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2020, 09:38 AM
Lynn Gräber Lynn Gräber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 122
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by mixboy bob View Post
The dock never had magnets, so no. But my desk, when finished, will hold them right together. They sit perfectly next to each other, so unless I shove it, nothing moves.

Yes... Fire HD 10 in the dock as well! Love it....

Also, as you can see, I have the S1 tablets on mounts I built to raise them up above the S1. The viewing angle is better for my preference that way.
What mounts are you using? I think being able to adjust the angle of the tablets wouldve been useful. Even an aftermarket piece like the removable piece on the Dock would be awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2020, 11:06 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,715
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynn Gräber View Post
Is your Dock magnetized on the side like the S1? Mine is not. Was a bit disappointed to find that.
Use the S1 link adapter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2020, 11:33 AM
Lynn Gräber Lynn Gräber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 122
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Use the S1 link adapter
Ah, didnt see that it could sink into the rear leg of the dock.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2020, 06:05 PM
bobo mark bobo mark is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hongkong
Posts: 229
Default Re: (4)S1’s with Dock setup

Can u stand all iPad except the one on the Dock is useful?? all others on S1 is just meter... . .
__________________
Regards
Bobo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion: Users of S3&Dock together: dock fader becomes 5th VCA master fader bassmagnetic Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 0 10-01-2016 08:20 AM
OWC's TB2 dock YYR123 General Discussion 3 11-19-2014 06:39 AM
MIDI SETUP takes long to SETUP and doesnt SETUP DartagnanSosa87 MIDI 3 01-28-2013 12:02 PM
T20 dock??? babilonburning 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-18-2000 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com