Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2019, 07:36 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 174
Default Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Hi everybody,

sorry for starting a new thread since this may have been discussed very often before but the more I read about it the more confused I get

Very simple concern...I have Pro Tools 9 at the moment and want to update to the latest Version possible:

- without loosing any features
- without having to pay monthly


It seems like it is not possible to get the permanent licenses directly from Avid anymore. Is it true that PT 11 is the last one with a permanent license? Is it safe to get this license via Ebay?

Also I read here, that there are still permanent licenses for the latest Pro Tools (which is confusing me a bit...). Is this true? Does it come with limitations then? Because this is not what I would want.


Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2019, 08:11 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,530
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

No. That’s incorrect.

You can still buy a perpetual license to Pro Tools with the current version being 2019.5.

https://www.avid.com/pro-tools/upgrades-and-renewals

Choose the second option and you’re all set. You get the latest updates for a year. After that, you have to renew your annual update plan to access new versions. Bear in mind, if you don’t renew your plan, you’ll effectively be buying the software at full price at a later date.

Please note, it’s not a rental plan. If you decide to let it lapse withiut renewing, you keep the last version you have access to perpetually.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2019, 08:55 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 174
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Really?? Nice, I also like the pricing for this :). Thanks for the answer, this is making me quite happy now^^

Is it also possible to use an earlier version (PT 10 or 11) with this purchase? Otherwise I may get problems with compatibilities (I have a Mac Early 2008 :eek)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2019, 09:42 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,479
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patill View Post
(I have a Mac Early 2008 :eek)



Hi,


Run the trial and see how it goes. Not sure your computer will run the latest OS needed though.


The link is on the same page as the upgrades above




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2019, 01:53 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,302
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

Run the trial and see how it goes. Not sure your computer will run the latest OS needed though.

The link is on the same page as the upgrades above

Chris
If that 2008 is a cheesegrater the max Apple says it'll run is El Crapitan.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-31-2019, 03:56 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 174
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

yes it is. That´s why I wanna run it with PT 10/11 :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-31-2019, 02:56 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 235
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patill View Post
Is it also possible to use an earlier version (PT 10 or 11) with this purchase? Otherwise I may get problems with compatibilities (I have a Mac Early 2008 :eek)
You can run 10 on the same system, but not 11
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-01-2019, 04:34 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,302
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
You can run 10 on the same system, but not 11
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-01-2019, 02:48 PM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 235
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Maybe I should have said it as IF you want to run PT12 on your system, you can only run 10 at the same time , not 11.
So , you can run 10 and 12 or 10 and 2018 or 2019 on the same computer, or you can run 10 and 11 on the same computer but not 11 and 12, or 11 and any of the later versions ie - 2018 or 2019.
Installing any version from 12 on will remove the installation of 11, but leave 10 on there.
You also should install 10 before you install any later versions.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2019, 10:49 AM
Patill Patill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 174
Default Re: Getting all confused...want to update PT9

Hey guys,

so I just bought the Avid Update, a new iLok 3 and would like to get started...when looking at compatibilities, it seems like Battery 3 by Native Instruments is no longer supportet with ProTools 11 (right?), so Pro Tools 10 seems to be the right choice. Can I run Pro Tools 10 with El Capitan?

Or do I have to install some other OS?


Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11.0.3 update compatibility - I'm confused musicman691 Pro Tools 11 12 12-10-2013 09:13 PM
Bit confused PT9 with CPTK update to PT10 Rob_A Windows 1 10-27-2011 08:38 AM
Confused over the 8.0.3cs2 update lowlevelowls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-01-2010 07:31 AM
im confused about 7.4 update scuffle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-16-2008 03:01 PM
:confused: Confused Re: Expansion Chasis BA Studios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-26-2008 08:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com