Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-12-2019, 06:06 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,528
Default Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

No probs Akiz.

Kinda frustrating, as whilst I can downgrade, I lose the plug in focus functionality that was added, which for me, makes my Artist Mix sooooo much more useable.

I really bought mine so I could control plugin parameters with the knobs, as AVIDs MIDI control support for plugins is virtually non existent. But, I find navigating through the control surface to get to the plugin parameters very long winded, so when they finally added the new attentioning modes, I was in heaven... until I ran into the same issue as you.

I don’t use an iPad, so I don’t have your dilemma with the PT Control app. Sucks that you can’t install specific version of apps in iOS. There may be a way, but I’m sure it will be tedious.

Hopefully AVID can sort this Eucon release issue ASAP. Clearly with a few of us experiencing it already, it’s definitely a repeatable bug.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-12-2019, 06:47 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Sorry for these OLED drawing issues. We had massive trouble getting this to work correctly due to changes Apple made in Mojave. We thought we had cracked it (and so did the betas). We'll get on it first thing Monday and see what's going on. It's sounding like we will do a quick dot release to fix a couple of these annoying bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:37 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,528
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Sorry for these OLED drawing issues. We had massive trouble getting this to work correctly due to changes Apple made in Mojave. We thought we had cracked it (and so did the betas). We'll get on it first thing Monday and see what's going on. It's sounding like we will do a quick dot release to fix a couple of these annoying bugs.


FYI - I’m on Sierra.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:45 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Sadly that could be the problem, all the changes made because of Mojave may have broken previous OS's.

Can I check the other Posters what OSX version you are on?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-12-2019, 09:16 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Sadly that could be the problem, all the changes made because of Mojave may have broken previous OS's.

Can I check the other Posters what OSX version you are on?
Hi Ed,

Thanks for chime in! Very assuring that you can fix that issue with a dot release.
I am under Mojave 10.14.4. I volunteer to test it on my system before release, if needed, since i am affected by this.


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-12-2019, 11:31 AM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

The issues with Eucon 19.5 keep adding to the pile....

Working on a mix and the new attention method, that doesn't works as expected because it works partially only with some plugins,
caused a -9173 error, followed by a weird CPU behaviour, which i screen captured for proof. The CPU
throttled...at 100%, got red.



Check the video capture to see exactly the CPU indicator behaviour.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dcgihz3xdt...51.03.mov?dl=0





Then while hitting play, the -9173 error kept coming again and again.



I decided to change the buffer setting, in case that will force ProTools audio engine to unblock the CPU throttle shown above.....then my cursor converted to the infamous beachball and i had to force quit PT.

Bellow i will post which plugins worked (the OLED screen displays the function/knobs) with the attention method in Eucon 19.5 and which didn't (OLED screen displayed nothing).

Worked*: Fabfilter (All), Sonnox (All), Plugin Alliance (All), Softube (All), Slate Digital (Verbsuite Classics), Valhalla DSP (All), Empirical Labs (Arousor), Boz Digital Labs (All), Eventide (All), Exponential Audio(R2), Lexicon (PCM Reverb & FX), Liquidsonics (Lustrous Plates), PSP Audioware (E27,Twin-L,Old Timer) Audio Thing (Outer Space), AudioEase (Altiverb7), JST (Transify,Soar), Nembrini Audio (LoFi), Noiseash (RuleTec), Output (Movement), U-he (Uhbik all), Plug & Mix (All).



Not Working*: Waves (not a single one) OverLoud (most), Kush Audio, Slate Digital (VMR), Cytomic(The Glue), Slate/D16 (Repeater), Eiosis (All), Sonible (Smart:Eq2), PSP Audioware (PSP2245), Klanghelm (MJUC), Native Instruments FX (None),Nembrini Audio (PSA1000).

*(I checked only the plugins used on that specific session and some random ones, not all my plugin list).


If someone else has any additional input on that issue, that confirms the faulty behaviour, would be nice to post. More info will help Ed and his team to fix it, fingers crossed!


Cheers!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenRecording20190512at1.jpg (41.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screenshot 2019-05-12 at 19.51.50.jpg (44.4 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-12-2019, 12:47 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,048
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Never seen this, can I confirm that everything is fine, then you click on a plugin and just the click causes the CPU load to go over ?

On the plugins that don't attention can you try clicking in their top window part where the auto and bypass is ?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-12-2019, 01:11 PM
pavoni pavoni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: London
Posts: 13
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

So I had the OLED issues on Sierra.

After a day in the studio today I was planning to update to Mojave - so I'll see if the issue goes away.

Thanks for getting involved Eddie - I think it's so reassuring to see the project manager personally involved in the forum!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-12-2019, 01:18 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,528
Default Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by pavoni View Post
So I had the OLED issues on Sierra.

After a day in the studio today I was planning to update to Mojave - so I'll see if the issue goes away.

Thanks for getting involved Eddie - I think it's so reassuring to see the project manager personally involved in the forum!


Akiz is on Mojave, so I wouldn’t suggest updating seeing as they are getting the error.

Also, they mention Arousor as one of the plugins that didn’t suffer from this OLED issue, where as you can see in my videos that the same plugin is causing lots of random issues for me.

IOW - these issues seem very random.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-12-2019, 01:58 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Europe
Posts: 85
Default Re: Artist Mix EuCon 19.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Never seen this, can I confirm that everything is fine, then you click on a plugin and just the click causes the CPU load to go over ?

On the plugins that don't attention can you try clicking in their top window part where the auto and bypass is ?
I'll try to elaborate a bit more...
Yes, everything starts fine, meaning that session loads and plays fine, Artist Mix and PT Control, reflect the faders as they are in mix window.
Then i click on a plugin insert (Empirical Labs Arousor, for example) and the GUI opens up on screen, Artist Mix shows the functions on the OLED display.

Then i click on a different insert, let's say on a Waves plugin, Artist Mix OLED displays nothing, just dots. If i continue clicking on inserts to recall plugin GUI's, after a while Artist Mix get confused, can't refresh fast enough the display and some parameters from the previous clicked plugin stay put, while some others are shown from the current clicked plugin GUI. (Hope it makes sense).
During that, the -9173 error occurred with the CPU indicator behaving like that:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dcgihz3xdt...51.03.mov?dl=0

I need to setup a camera to capture the surface and do a screen flow capture at the same time to demonstrate what it happens. It's easier to see it than imagine it from a description.
I have a busy Monday tomorrow, if i can do it before sleep, i'll set it up and post a reply with the footage.


Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.4 "Mojave", Apollo Twin Quad, Avid Artist Mix, ProTools 2019.6.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I change Eucon Layouts with an Artist Mix or Artist Transport? amathie Artist Series 10 09-21-2017 07:29 PM
Eucon sees my Artist Mix as an MC Mix TheDavidLim Artist Series 1 11-29-2016 09:42 PM
Artist Mix/Eucon Problem digitalpapaya Artist Series 0 04-19-2016 12:44 AM
Artist Mix with Eucon 3 very sluggish mrtomcat Artist Series 0 10-02-2013 11:43 PM
Artist Mix freezed , Eucon 2.62 peterle Artist Series 4 09-11-2012 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com