Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2018, 09:29 AM
BigJinge BigJinge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Default Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

Hi,

I'm referencing back and forth the Pro Tools Reference Manual and not sure if this is possible but I'll ask...

I've got two ASIO devices connected to the studio PC. One is a two channel USB interface and the other is a built in eight channel PCI-E surround card.

Within Windows 10 I can play audio independently on both devices at the same time. Both devices are set to 24/48.

I want to, in PT have both devices listed under I/O Settings / Output. This so I can choose to have the surround path or the LR path. Each device is connected to different sets of speakers.

Currently, when in Setup / Playback Engine, I can choose either but not both. If I change the Hardware, the session then changes from surround to stereo and vice versa.

Any ideas?

Thanks

BigJinge
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2018, 09:51 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

That is working correctly. Pro Tools uses one audio interface at a time.

You can aggregate devices outside Pro Tools, like with Aggregate IO on a Mac, often with imperfect results. DigiLink systems combine their devices for you at the DigiLink/TDM bus level. And some Thunderbolt systems aggregate interfaces within their driver... e.g. UAD Apollo. You should look at buying a single interface that meets your needs or something like a UAS Apollo or DigiLink system. Or in this case just switch Playback Engines when needed or maybe use an external monitor and fold down plugin??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2018, 09:58 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

You can aggregate devices on the PC with ASIO4ALL. Success depends on how well the Windows drivers for each device are written.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1903)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2018, 10:08 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

... and generally ASIO4ALL sucks at doing that, especially at smaller IO buffers, yes dependent on the vendor driver quality, and maybe need the interfaces hardware wordlocked etc....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2018, 10:19 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

Yeah it's generally a craps shoot. One thing it's good for though is putting together an output with the input of a USB mic on the PC for better latency than using Windows Audio.
__________________
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1903)
PT 2019.6 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2018, 11:37 AM
BigJinge BigJinge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

I was trying to avoid ASIO4All so I could get the latency down as low as possible.

On a PC there isn't Aggregate IO.

So I guess I'm looking for a Aggregate IO type solution for Windows 10 that will keep the latency down...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2018, 11:49 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJinge View Post
I was trying to avoid ASIO4All so I could get the latency down as low as possible.

On a PC there isn't Aggregate IO.

So I guess I'm looking for a Aggregate IO type solution for Windows 10 that will keep the latency down...
There is no "aggregate IO type solution" on Windows. You asked a question and we've given you the answers. We would not leave off an easy/good solution if there was one.

Aggregate IO happens within CoreAudio at a low level in the macOS operating system. And that often sucks as well (also depends on the driver quality, e.g. Motu stuff tends to works well). I deliberately did not mention ASIO4ALL initially because it's so bad.

I already explained your options.... which likely involve you buying appropriate interface hardware for what you are trying to do. So again choices are... obviously just get a bigger single interface, or if you ever want to combine interface hardware look at things like UAD Thunderbolt 3 boxes, or HD/DigiLink, (or Dante, or...) .., or just switch interfaces when needed.... Sorry trying to be very clear blunt what your options here to get you going in the right direction.

Your best bet is probably describing all you requirements, what connections are needed, etc. and asking folks here for a single interface recommendation.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2018, 03:54 PM
BigJinge BigJinge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: Multiple ASIO device issue with PT 2018 Ultimate

Thanks for the advice Darryl.

I misunderstood when you mentioned Aggregate IO for Mac, as you hadn't mentioned initially that a version of it wasn't available for Windows.

My thought was OK, before I sell my existing kit / investment and look for replacement kit, I'll see if an Aggregate IO solution or it's like (not ASIO4ALL) is available in Windows, which as I found out and you mentioned later, it isn't. Fair enough. Apologies if I wasn't clear.

One of the interfaces is EOL now and have considered replacing it, so it would make more sense to sell the current devices and look for one that will combine both of their uses.

I thank you and Chuck for your time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 2018.4 Ultimate bugs ? Glazik Pro Tools 2018 26 07-10-2018 11:56 PM
S6 M10 v3.5 works with PT ultimate 2018.4 ? vudoo Pro Tools | S6 3 05-30-2018 03:06 PM
ASIO device properties have been changed by the device control panel (Saffire PRO) rems FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 4 11-22-2015 06:00 AM
ASIO device properties have been changed by the device control panel. medinarawk Third Party Interfaces 5 07-06-2015 02:18 PM
Ableton "Failed to open the ASIO device ASIO Digidesign Dvr" my808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 08-28-2012 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com